We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forge Brasserie

Forge Brasserie
Queen Anne Street, Southport PR8 1EH, England
01704 500522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 225 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tucked away on Southport's Queen Anne Street, the Forge Brasserie has built a reputation as one of the best steak and seafood restaurants in the northwest. The stylish interior extends over two floors with an open-plan kitchen where you can watch the chefs in action. Smart, efficient service and some good-value special deals. Open for lunch and dinner Monday through Saturday with room for private parties of up to 16 people
1 review
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Have been visiting this restaurant for the past 2 years, so i thought it time i shared this amazing place with other people, the food here is fresh, delicious and excellent value, the staff are always very welcoming and the service is great, i can recommend pretty much everything on the menu as either i or my friends have tried it, the lunch time menu is more reasonable than your average pub and of top restaurant quality, give it a try, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    53
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a lovely meal here on Saturday 1st June.
The food was superb and the portions generous! The only drawback was the steak i ordered was probably more blue/rare than medium rare! however it wasn't a huge issue and not enough for me to complain. The staff where very attentive and nothing was to much trouble!.
The food is a bit pricey but for a dinner date we didn't mind, and we would definitely return, even if we come back mid week to check out the dining deals!. The only downside is the fact the toilets are upstairs so for those with mobility issues, this place is not for you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrific food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The food was excellent,although a bit pricey.The downside was the restaurant toilets are up a steep flight of stairs,that of course is fine for the young and healthy ,but the elderly and disabled this place is not for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner Offers are excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent restaurant with excellent dining deals.

Monday was surf and turf. I had queenies as a starter and tricolour of fish as a main. Both were just dandy, well cooked and tasty. There were 3 of us that ate, three starters, three main courses with a choice of potatoes and either a salad or veg and two bottles of the house red (which was to our liking) for less than £25 each.

Tuesday is Steak night there are six of us going and I'm having the T-bone.

Well worthy of a visit. It will be our 5th year attending.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is one of our favourite restaurants. We have entertained a private party of 27, another of 7, and have been frequently just as a couple. Every time we have been treated efficiently, courteously and with good humour. We have enjoyed a great variety of tasty foods, well cooked and well presented all at a very fair price. Even when catering for our party of 27 (some of whom turned up very late) there wasn't the slightest difficulty in providing a special menu for the one vegetarian. Try it!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forge Brasserie also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Forge Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forge Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.