We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ask - CLOSED

Ask
253-255 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1NY, England
01704 533 872
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ask away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I (33) visited with my husband and mother in law and our 17 month old daughter on a hot Thursday afternoon. The place only had about 5 other full tables so it was lovely and quiet with attentive staff. The staff made a fuss of our little girl which she loved. They also brought her out strawberries and grapes for free.
The menu is typical but quite extensive. I had a salmon salad but at £11.25 this was quite expensive given that it was just a salad... MIL had spaghetti carbonara which was lovely and creamy and my husband had lasagne with a side of chips - he practically lucked the plate clean because it was so tasty.
I'd go again because they're so child friendly and that makes a huge difference. The food is good but I don't think £11 for a salad is particularly great value - but maybe I should have ordered a cheaper pasta dish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a lovely meal here on holiday with friends. We had the 3 course special at 13.95 per person and every meal ( there were 4 of us) was delicious. Really good value, friendly service and nice atmosphere. Would recommend!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The venue was very pleasant, the staff were extremely helpful and the food was excellent also well priced

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!! All is forgiven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I wrote a review about ASK before, when it was not as good.. we thought we would give it another try, and I am so PLEASED that we did. Lovely atmosphere, but, more importantly, LOVELY FOOD! The service was better this time, quicker, friendlier. Such a nice atmosphere, spacious, warm, lovely high ceilings, everything spic and span, excellent music. I had a chicken dish, a sort of chargrilled chicken breast (I forget the actual name of the dish), but, ummm, it was so delicious. Best ever!! Garlic bread was super, light and yummy. Dessert was HUGE! Tiramisu, gorgeous. My son had profiteroles.. a goodly portion again! 10/10 for Ask, Southport. We shall return.. cannot wait!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not the best Italian!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and friendly without being overpowering. The food was overpriced and very small portions. I had the margherita prima pizza which was cold and tasteless. The still lemonade was so bitter I had to buy a chocolate bar at a local shop to get rid of the foul taste afterwards. It's a shame because beside the food it was nice. The food is very important when choosing a restaurant though ...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ask, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.