We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value, fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro21

Bistro21
21 Stanley Street, Southport PR9 0BS, England
+44 1704 501414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 239 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a small, family owned restaurant based in the heart of Southport, just off Lord Street. We offer a contemporary cuisine, using only the finest ingredients, freshly prepared each day by our award-winning chefs.
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant value, fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had the taster menu and this was excellent value for some truly lovely food. The concept is that for about £16 (Saturdays about £22) you have a choice of three mini starters out of about seven and then two mini mains out of seven dishes. As an idea of the kinds of food served, visit their website as it is well worth a look. The food was beautifully prepared, presented and I polished off the lot! It was very good. The atmosphere is very calm and as the restaurant is only small it is the perfect place for a nice meal with friends or a romantic meal for two. The wine list was reasonable and the desserts were also very good. A perfect recipe for a lovely evening out. This is finer dining at gastropub prices. Bargain!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    24
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quaysiders
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Taster menu is the tops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Enjoyed a superb evening meal with friends at Langs last Wednesday. We have visited four times previously and have always eaten from the Taster Menu which is excellent value at £15.00 for two courses. The food has always been exceptional and very well presented. We chose three starters each, followed by two main courses. For mains, I had the lamb served with jus and salmon with a sauce, accompanied by a bundle of mixed vegetables. The flavours were amazing and the service was warm and efficient but discreet. We chose the assiette of desserts for afters and were not disappointed by the four desserts which we shared between two at a cost of around £9.00 for the platter. We have never been disappointed by the taster menu and find it to be a special meal which has been of a reliable quality on each visit and we would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small and intimate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were a party of 6 looking for a nice lunch and we found the restaurant whilst rambling the backstreets of Southport. . What a find!!! Small and intimate, very chic and with beautifully presented and wonderfully tasting food. We all ate from the lunch special and had a superb lunch. Can't wait to go back for an evening meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“All family totally impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hidden gem never fails to charm my husband and myself on our trips to Southport but on this occasion we took our very fussy grown up children who were amazed with the quality of the food and the fantastic service.
Recommend trying the tapas style menu 3 starters and two mains each absolutely fantastic then share a pud if you have room! In terms of value for money it can't be beaten we will definitely be back great time as always.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“omg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Incredible value, well worth going to, wish you were where we lived, tasting menu a must and wine goes well with everything

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro21 also viewed

 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Bistro21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.