We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Southport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Southport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Southport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I would'nt normally write reviews but following a stay in an appauling hotel in Derby I felt that I owed it to the "Excellent Hotels" out there to also comment on the "good" things. I stay at the Ramada Southport on a regular basis due to my company Head Office being located there. I have always found the hotel to be immaculate, the staff well presented and they can never do enough to help you.

I must have stayed at this hotel at least 15-20 times over the past couple of years and can honestly say that in that time I have not found a single thing that I could possibly complain about.

Keep up the good work Ramada Southport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Caroyln,

Many thanks for the excellent review, I am delighted that you continue to enjoy visiting our hotel here in Southport and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    359
    92
    30
    14
See reviews for
191
709
39
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just had a couple of days at this superb hotel. From checking in to checking out we received first class service. We had a room on the top floor with views of marina. Our room was just perfect with everything you need for a short break including fridge. All the staff were lovely. They made a point of chatting to you when passing. The food was very good quality. We had breakfast both days and as our evening meal was so good on our first night we chose to eat on second night and certainly we're not disappointed. I ordered rib eye steak and this was the best I had tasted for a long time - just perfection. I will have no hesitation on returning. Thank you for a fantastic couple of days relaxation.

Room Tip: When booking request a high floor overlooking marina and if you can afford it book a suite with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that the staff and food were to your liking. We are grateful for your kind comments and will share these with the team.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just spent 2 nights in the Ramada Southport
on a AMAZON DEAL, what an enjoyable weekend, staff were extremely helpful, room was spotless, food was gorgeous, how people can complain I do not know, we will be returning, thanks for a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 414, which was lovely with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am delighted that you found all aspects of your deal to be excellent value from the room to the staff and the food, it truly was an excellent deal.

I hope to welcome you back directly as a loyal Ramada Plaza guest.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here the night after our wedding and nothing was too much trouble. We upgraded to a suite which was gorgeous. Lovely balcony with great views. Well worth the extra money. Food in the restaurant was beautiful too.

Room Tip: The suites are definitely worth the upgrade. Normal upgrade price is £60 but we got the upgrade for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for this great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your suite and the food and service offered and that you had and enjoyable wedding night. Congratulations to you both and we wish you many years of happiness together.

Hope to see you again soon.

Enda and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Food In restaurant was ok, but service awful. Forgetting to bring correct cutlery, no bread. Then when the was a fire alarm , made to stand outside for ages with no information whatsoever, then on return inside , manager had gone home and assistant manager 'in a meeting' .awful. Ruined my stay . No compensation. Offered

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel here on Tripadvisor, I am sorry that your meal was disrupted by the fire alarms in the building sounding, once the alarms sounded there was also suspicion of smoke coming from the rear of the building, we cannot take any chances in these instances and must evacuate the building for the safety of all our guests. Only once the Fire officer gives the ok can we re-enter the building. I personally was at the main entrance speaking to guest as they re-entered the building and was in the reception area for about 45 minutes after this speaking to guests and offering my apologies for the inconvenience and apologise that we did not get to speak.

I am grateful for the time you have taken to review the hotel.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have just come back from the loveliest of overnight breaks to this Southport hotel, nothing could have been bettered and we both commented how much we had enjoyed it. Just our kind of hotel. Chosen as a last minute break by checking out with the hotel before commiting to the Amazon voucher with the wine and chocolates. Given a top floor room overlooking the lake and coastline, windows big enough to enjoy the view sitting down at the table or even when walking into the room. Everywhere spotless and fresh. Lots of staff around and noticeable that they greet and speak to each other as they move around, a good sign of a happy workforce. Everyone happy friendly and accommodating, seeming interested and not just going through the motions, but then what a lovely environment to work in. The rooms and bathroom were extremely comfortable, a lovely king size bed and one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have slept in. Modern décor and plenty of lighting. Very very quiet at night although it was a weekday evening. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast everything fresh and well cooked as also the evening meal, although we did not have a lot of choice unless we chose from the a la carte menu, with which though you could mix and match. Really liked the ambience and the outlook from the restaurant, very simple but very effective décor, as we said just our kind of hotel. We have been mystery shoppers in the past for three and four star hotels and though we understand everyone has different preferences as to style and type, to us this one cannot be bettered and we will certainly return again and recommend to others. Southport is certainly making an effort to upgrade itself and provide some lovely outlooks and walking facilities where previously it ended with Lord Street.

Room Tip: we asked for a nice room with a view and were offered top floor lakeside no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Many thanks for the excellent and thorough review here on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and particularly enjoyed reading your comments regarding the staff, they truly are a credit to the hotel and always have a cheery and welcoming disposition.

I am delighted that you had the relaxing break which you were looking forward too and hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Regards

Enda and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have stayed at the Ramada in Southport a few times and on every occasion it has been faultless. The main reception, bar and restaurant area is a open space that feels like a social area. The bedrooms are spotless and modern. Parking under the hotel is safe and secure with lift access to all floors of the hotel. You will be within easy reach of all the main attractions. Register on their website to get offers throughout the year, well worth taking advantage off.

Room Tip: Register on their mailing list for great offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed yet another stay here at the Ramada with us. I am also delighted that you recognise that the best offers are always available directly via the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Southport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.