We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite in a storm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Southport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Southport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Southport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St.Augustine
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Respite in a storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were booked to stay here on our holiday to England os see family. My husband became ill and was in hospital so we only ended up there two nights. They were very accommodating. The hotel is gorgeous including spacious lounge area and restaurant. Our room had a partial water view and was appointed well. Loved the cadbury's hot chocolate in the room with a kettle. Proper British service.

We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was perfect!! My husband needed to have zero fat due to his illness. They were very accommodating to prepare special dishes for him.

Our family from the South who traveled up to see my husband unexpectedly used the swimming facilities and were very pleased.

Only suggestion is to offer down or feather pillows!

Well done, Ramada!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you found comfort in you Ramada experience and that your were pleased with the experience here at the hotel.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    360
    92
    30
    14
See reviews for
191
710
39
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked this hotel on the strength of trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Yes it is / has a corporate feel but all staff we dealt with were very polite. We had a requested a room with a water view and a high floor which we were very pleased to receive. Our room was spotlessly cleaned as was the bathroom. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was buffet style with some items available to order. Again no complaints, everything was hot and well cooked, just don't expect the more personal service you get in some places. Check again was efficient and. Bonus to have on sight car parking at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed three nights between Christmas and new year and had a very pleasant stay. We had a room on an upper level floor away from lifts which was very quiet with nice views. The staff were very efficient and friendly. Just watch out for queues at breakfast at peak time.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on Tripadvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went to the Ramada for New Year.The hotel was excellent,the rooms were very warm & comfortable,the food was really good,the staff were brilliant nothing was too much trouble. The new year meal and entertainment was exceptionally well organised.we went last year & we thought it was good,but this year was better.We will be going again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed our New Year celebrations and I am grateful that you have shared your experience here on Tripadvisor, I look forward to welcoming you again next year.

Regards

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family and I had a truly dreadful time trying to get food at the Ramada, a tale of woe I shall now relate. A bit of scene setting is necessary, my 86 year old Grandmother lives in a care home in Birkdale and due to her alzheimers meal times can be slightly difficult. We have chosen the Ramada once before as somewhere to get a spot of lunch that is relatively close by and has a uncomplicated food menu suitable for her.

We ate there last year and whilst the service was insanely slow (I think due in part to a wedding party happening on another floor) when the food did arrive it was great, big portions and nicely presented. Which is why what happened this year has prompted an outpouring of internet criticism. Brace yourselves.

We arrived, Grandma in tow, and decided to sit in the bar area as opposed to the cavernous, perpetually empty restaurant in the hopes that this would somehow make the service speedier than last year. How wrong we were. Things got off to a bad start when we ordered a sweet sherry and were presented with a dry one, these two drinks are totally different colours so I have no idea how this happened. Under trained bar staff maybe?

We ordered the soup of the day for Grandma as a starter, fish and chips, a sandwich and a couple of salads for the rest of the party and then settled down to wait. And wait. And wait. Then we spotted a couple who had arrived after us getting served their food. Still we waited. Eventually my Dad got up to remonstrate with the bar manager. Then another table who had arrived after us got their food. By this point I just wanted to leave, but storming out of a restaurant is pretty difficult when accompanied by an elderly relative.

The bar manager informed my dad that that the reason it was taking so long is because they were frying our fish, 30 minutes to fry two pieces of fish? And when asked about the starter he was told that their computer system doesn't allow for starters to be inputted, everything has to come at once. This is one of the most ridiculous things I've ever heard of. Who programmed these tills?! Some sort of anti-starter fascist?

We asked for the soup to be bought out first, it eventually did (in a chipped bowl) and went down very well. Then our food was brought out. So, after all this waiting I was desperately hoping for some of the quality we saw last year. No such luck. The fish and chips were stone cold, as were the onion rings we had ordered. I use the term chips in the loosest possible sense of the word, par-boiled potatoes cut into a rectangle does not a chip make. Seriously, this is Southport! How can a chef in a British, sea-side town not know how to make fish and chips? The mind boggles.

We sent most of order back, paid for the food that had been eaten and let the bar manager know how disappointing the whole affair had been. She suggested that we don't come back if we had had such a terrible time. Nice. We won't.

God only knows how they would cope if they were ever full, there was hardly anyone else there and I doubt there ever will be if this is the standard of service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I am very sorry for your experience within the lounge on this occasion, it is very unusual for us to get it so wrong as we did on this occasion, there are no excuses I can offer so I shall not try to defend the team, suffice to say that we are better than your experience and must deliver on a consistent basis to ensure that each and every guest has an enjoyable experience.

We shall revisit training and presentation standards with immediate effect and refresh our staff approach.

I know that we are better than this, our many many positive reviews will stand for this but we will not rest on our laurels and will improve.

Sincerely
Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed there Sunday 29th.December for a mid Christmas break, and had a great time.
We were on a wine/dine offer, which was great value for money. There was a fixed menu for the evening meal, or the offer of £20 off the main menu.
The food was excellent in the evening and also at breakfast. We found all the staff we encountered to be both polite and friendly.
If I were to quibble, it would be trying to get the bedroom temperature to our liking.
Other than that, thanks to all at Ramada for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Many thanks for this great review, I am delighted that you enjoyed you experience at the hotel and that the food and staff were particularly pleasing.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed on the fifth floor with fantastic views over the bay to Blackpool. Fantastic location with comfortable modern room. Room service was efficient but the food was only average for the price. The leisure facilities are off site, just over the road, but a little off putting on a wet and cold December night. Overall a very enjoyable day but not worth more than £70 a night when compared to other 4 * hotels. However Choice is limited in Southport. If date is not an issue visit this hotel and experience Southport when the hotel has an offer on. The car parking at £3 a day cannot be faulted, lift straight up to reception. Accessing the car parking before checking in was not a problem.

Room Tip: A middle room on the top floor we found to be very quite with an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit to the hotel and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Southport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.