We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Southport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Southport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Southport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disabled stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from the Ramada Southport where we stayed for the long weekend of the Rotary 1220 conference. We were only able to go to Conference this year as the Ramada had disabled rooms ensuring my husband, who is mostly wheelchair bound, had facilities at hand to make the stay possible. The staff were wonderful, especially Court in the bar. The food was excellent - both in the lounge and formal restaurant - and the room service breakfast far surpassed many we have had in alleged "posher" hotel - including the rare thing - hot and fresh pots of tea and coffee !. The food was so good we invited 2 different sets of friends to lunch with us over the weekend.

If I had a constructive comment, it was the long journey from the car park to the room - for me it took 3 trips for luggage and all the other equipment we need to travel with now, I hate having to ask, and a willing pair of hotel staff hands offering to help would have been gratefully received. The lifts are also very strange, too small, and unpredictable - with us and a wheelchair there was no room for anyone else in comfort - strange for such a new hotel. We left our small mobility scooter in the car as I was convinced it wouldnt have fitted in the lift - not with me as well. But this was a small part to play with the excellent parking in the basement, safe, light and great disabled spaces that had Blue Badges checked by the security staff. well done.
Our lasting impression was a great one, we had so few problems , we will be back for another weekend - no conference this time to get in the way of exploring the town and shopping. Thanks Ramada

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to have good views over one side of the bay or the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an depth review about your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to be chosen as the HQ for the Rotary conference and even more so that you enjoyed our rooms, service and in particular our teams freindly and attentive attitude.

Our aim is meet each induviduals needs and requirements thus exceeding your expectations. I'm glad we managed to acheive this although please accept my apologies you were not offered assistance with your luggage as is usually the case.

We hope to welcome you back soon for a more relaxing visit!

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    335
    86
    28
    14
See reviews for
176
651
38
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the Ramada Plaza Southport in June 2012 with my partner and 8 month old son. We booked the executive suite as we would be staying in after the meal so wanted more than just a usual hotel room.
The suites are amazing and the floor to ceiling windows were out of this world.
There are double doors that open onto a small balcony, not big enough to sit on, only stand on but with the doors open on a sunny day sat at the table with a drink the view was amazing, as was watching the sunset from the bed! The suite had a sette, table & chair, arm chair, tv in the living area and a tv in the bed area. Bathroom was clean and everything seemed brand new.
The room was a little pricey but well worth the money! Especially as we were not going out at night as we had our Son with us, it was worth themoney to us.
I would definitely reccomend one of these rooms for a special occasion.
Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. No complaints whatsoever
We ate in the hotel's restaurant and the food was really nice, not out of this world but still good food and the waiters & waitresses were friendly and very accomodating with our son.
Warming up his baby food was not a problem which i was worried about.
Parking was free and we were allowed to stay ont he car park after check out which was great as we were then able to have a walk round Southport and make the most of our stopover without worrying about finding somewhere else to park.
Would definitely recommend a stay in the executive suite but probably wouldnt stay again for a while due to the cost. Maybe next year! : )

Room Tip: Executive Suites, Floor to Ceiling Windows = Amazing View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Many thanks for writing such an in depth review on our hotel and your experience here.

I'ts great that we managed to exceed your expectations throughout every aspect of your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind comments about our rooms, facilities and in particular our team.

We offer great value packages and exclusive rates on our website so maybe you'll be back sooner than you think!

Thanks again,

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just had a two night stay here; with a 'Superior Room' and two course dinner included.
It was splendid. Requested a 'Pier' view and we were very well satisfied on 4th floor.
The staff were excellent and cleanliness throughout could not be faulted.
Well stocked breakfast buffet, and Dinner from the set menu was perfectly satisfactory though an upgrade to 'Table D'hote' menu was available at a modest supplement.
Would be very pleased to return here at any time. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Many thanks for writing such a great 5* review!!

I have passed your comments onto our team who are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our aim of exceeding your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Paid £99 for room, breakfast and two course evening meal excellent value. Fantastic staff, good food and realistic bar prices. Will definitely return but would not pay full price. Offers are often available

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza as your preferred choice of accomodation for your recent visit to Southport.

It's great we managed to exceed your expectations and for your next stay with us please call our reservations team direct and they will be more than happy to speak to you regarding our exclusive special offers.

Thanks again,

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Short stay weekend arranged by our children for my wife and i as part of our golden wedding celebration. The hotel was excellent in every respect the accomodation was 1st class, resteraunt and food selection very good situated adjacent to the marina. In addition approx 100 yds to southport theatre and providing whats on appeals then of course this is another plus, the downside is weather dependent

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Congratulations to you both on your Golden Wedding Anniversary. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your celebrations with us and I hope to welcome you both back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the Rotary Conference District 1220. This is the second time we have stayed here and this time it was the conference HQ, I have to say we were a little worried that we wouldn't get the same level of service, but we soon found that we shouldn't have worried at all. The whole team at the Ramada were great, nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted with smiles at all times and even when there was something on the set menu I didn't like, an alternative was found. One morning by mistake I put the wrong notice on the door,but a quick chat with the staff member on our floor, had our room in order very quickly. My husband and I look forward to returning here. A big thank you to all The Team.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us.

We were delighted to have been chosen as the HQ for the recent Rotary conference and even more so that we managed to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your kind comments about our team, I have passed your review onto them all and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a long weekend here last year and the hotel is clean, modern and comfortable. Rooms well equipped with minifridge and coffee making facilities.
Bed was one of the most comfortable I have found anywhere.
Great views across southport waterfront and easy walking distance from shops, bars and beach.
Had the use of the gym and pool over the road included in the price.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
It is one of the more expensive hotels in Southport but worth paying for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write sucbh a great review about our hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay last year. Maybe we will see you again this November?

Thanks again,

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Southport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.