We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Southport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Southport to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Southport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The best hotel in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

At the hotel now and enjoying stay. The hotel is excellent with modern decor and fantastic rooms.
Had an excellent 3 course dinner and may I add my complements to the chef, it was absolutely beautiful. All the staff are very attentive and a credit to Ramada and the manager of the hotel; nothing is too much trouble and all make you feel so special. Will be returning for another stay.
Well done Ramada!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
This review says it all, many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    359
    92
    30
    14
See reviews for
191
709
39
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Visited Southport for the first time on a very icy Feb weekend but had a warm welcome at the Ramada - would definately recommend - Perfectly located for the shops just a short walk away - Comfortable bedroom with good quality bedlinen and all mod cons including an immaculate modern bathroom - Reception staff very helpful and what a change to get free parking. My only tiny, tiny grumble was the size of the lifts both very small - but don't let this put you off a really fab hotel !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Fab review, thanks

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

What can I say? Brilliant hotel! The room was one of the best we have stayed in - third floor with wrap around balcony and a beautiful view of the lake and beyond to the coast and sea.

Than goodness the room was so large - more of a suite than a room, with separate sitting area - as we visited Southport during the worst possible weather! (60mph winds and horizontal rain....)

Excellent, powerful shower, fridge, 2 huge flat screen TVs (one in the bedroom area and one in the sitting area). Comfy sofa. Controllable heating and A/C.

Loads of free parking in the underground car park and nice wide parking spaces.

Great, plentiful buffet style breakfast in pleasant restaurant.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony suite room. Worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Brilliant review, we really do appreciate it.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Second time i have stayed and booked from a promotional email. Booked with friends and again had rooms next to each other.
Receptionists very helpful and polite and rooms immaculately clean. free underground hotel also a bonus.
Only grumble was the package i booked was unlimited films but went off 3/4 way through Captain America and wouldnt load back up in either room.
There was a wedding going on in the hotel but music went off not long after 12 which wasnt too much after we got back from a night out. Late entry is by your room key at the main door so no worrys about not getting back in.
Breakfast was fantastic. Self service buffet and plenty of it and every taste catered for. Cereal, fruit, toast, cooked breakfasts, pastries...... the list goes on.
Would definitely come back to stay if out in Southport and very good value for B&B with the deal we got.

Room Tip: Have stayed in both a double and family room and both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review and reccommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel since it opened and I would recommend it to anybody. We booked in January after receiving details of an offer and paid £120 for a suite this time. The suite was fantastic, wiht a lot of extra space and floor length windows that offered amazing views over the lake, beach and sea. The room was lovely and toasty warm, despite the weather being absolutely abysmal and cold - from sunny to hailstones and back to sunny in about 10 minutes. Also, the wind was howling outside but as soon as the balcony door was closed, the noise virtually disappeared. Next time, I would probably go back to booking a regular room as I feel like I've "done" a suite now and the regular rooms themselves are spacious and comfortable.

We were next to (what appeared to be) a group of young girls and in the hallway we could hear them being a bit giddy. I was a bit concerned that we would be able to hear them through the wall but I didn't hear a peep out of them - in fact I don't ever remember hearing noise from any of the other rooms and I am quite a light sleeper.

When we got to the room, one of the TVs didn't work but it was fixed in no time at all (32 minutes to be precise!) so absolutely no complaints there.

It was the first time we had eaten breakfast at the hotel. The food was very good and the service was very friendly and professional (as was the service throughout our stay).

I think the only minor criticism I would have is that the offer code we used was to have included free films but when we got to the room this wasn't an option. We did, however, pay in advance rather than on checkout so I suspect this would be the reason why.

The hotel was full the weekend we stayed and there was a bit of a wait for the lifts. In an ideal world I think they would either have more lifts or have larger capacity lifts - it was the first time we noticed this though and I suspect it might have been to do with the hotel being fully booked and a bit busier than usual

Room Tip: The suites offer amazing views over the sea. Higher floors offer better views but lower floors mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
What a fantastic review, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. As expected this new hotel is spotless. the rooms are well furnished and look and feel brand new. Staff welcoming and friendly, food acceptable but not wonderful. facilities good, especially free underground parking. Well located. Would without questions stay here again.

Room Tip: The best place to stay in Southport. Shop around for best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Great Review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Enda Rylands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a typical Ramada hotel, friendly reception and check-in, good size room and bathroom. All in good working order and very clean.

Look for deals on comparison sites as the rack rate is high. I actually gave the hotel the opportunity of matching what I could find and they refused saying I couldn't get it any cheaper. They wanted £110 room only, yet I booked it for £75.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmramadaplaza, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for the review, for the very best prices visit the ramada plaza southport web pages, we offer the best deals direct from the hotel.

Enda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Address: The Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Family Hotel in Southport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Southport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.