We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
St Julian Street, Tenby SA70 7AS, Wales
01834842273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 90 Restaurants in Tenby
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Braunston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went in twice on Sunday. First time just for a drink, but after looking at the menu and prices and comparing with the other pubs in the area, we decided to go back later to eat. Excellent food (according to my wife and daughter the seafood chowder is amazing!!), excellent value, excellent beer (Doom Bar, nuff said!!) and excellent atmosphere. Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    209
    64
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate here twice, once in the beer garden during the day and the second time inside, the food can take a little while to come when it is really busy but you are advised of the wait when you order.
Good food, hot and tasty.
Reasonably priced.
Friendly staff.
Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best fish pie ever! Great family lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Never write reviews but felt that our lunch on friday at the buccaneer was outstanding. Excellent standard of fresh, home cooked pub grub. I had the fish pie...awesome and really recommended. My wife had the chicken jalfrezi which was equally delicious. Kids meals were fresh, tasty and fairly priced. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Fair price too

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I have visited this pub a few times in the last 2 years whilst on holiday and have found the food to be of a high standard. For our last meal I had the fresh battered haddock and my wife had the fish pie. Both were of very generous portions both were under £10 and the food was hot, although the pub was very busy our meals arrived within ten minutes. The staff are always very helpful and polite, The pub also serves a range of changing real ales which is a bonus for the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best sea foodchowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great pinto go to in the various pubs in tenby. But my God the best sea overcrowded I have had for a while and I know my chowder. You must try this and visit the great pub

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.