We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of the best restaurants we have every tried. Perfect from the first moment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ball Restaurant

Blue Ball Restaurant
Upper Frog Street, Tenby SA70 7JD, Wales
+44 (0)1834 843038
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $57 - $57
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“This is one of the best restaurants we have every tried. Perfect from the first moment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visited Wales from Hungary and stayed in Chepstow. On our 3rd day we made a day excursion to St David's and Tenby, We arrived in Tenby pretty late, had a very nice walk at the shore and in the wown as it was around 6 PM, we decided to have our dinner in Tenby. This was the best decision. By chance we checked the menu of Blue Ball and noticed that they have an early bird promotion, we looked inside and liek the interior, so we decided to enter. We got a nice table at the window right at the entrance. The waitresses were polite, easygoing and helpful with suggestions. When we received our souops and starters we knew that this is a unique place, their orange, carrot and fennel soup is simply great. All our entrees were beyond expectations. I had the swordfish with asparagus and it is so diccicult to explain how amaizing it was. Probably the best fish dish I have ever had. Usually we do not take dessert so late, but after the delicious entrees we could not resist the temptation and we shared the desserts, we took the honeycomb icecream from duck egg. OMG!!!!!! no words ....simply the best!!!! The visit to Blue Ball was the crown jewel of our Wales visit, would love to return one day. Thank You!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    102
    28
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Really enjoyed Sunday lunch at this achingly on-trend place in Tenby. Excellent menu choice, all beautifully cooked and portions so filing we could only just manage one dessert between 3. Tenby was bitterly cold and wet when we visited, but the Blue Ball lifted our whole day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A great find for seafood lovers in Tenby...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a fantastic meal, atmosphere and service we had last night at the Blue Ball. The menu was really impressive, especially the sea food specials - we had the pea shoot, fennel and mascarpone risotto and swordfish carpaccio to start followed by swordfish with asparagus sauce and hake with king prawn and herb butter for mains. Everything about the meal was exceptional, even the exquisitely seasoned vegetables which accompanied. As big seafood fans we have eaten in a lot of fine restaurants in the uK and abroad, and we can't recommend.the Blue Ball highly enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“fish specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The specials included crab, hake and bream. We felt spoilt for choice of interesting sounding dishes, with options on the standard menu including free range chicken or pork dishes sounding inventively conceived. We ended up with a crab and parmesan pannacotta and salmon gravlax for starter, based on the waitresses recommendations, both were excellent, and dressed crab and a mixed fish kebab for main. The food was well cooked and beautifully presented. The warm bread and herb butter was a nice addition, and we were tempted to a chocolate torte for pudding, also excellent. We like eating out and enjoy interesting food, and this was right up our street. The price was just right for an excellent restaurant. Worth noting that at the moment orders made before 7, receive 20% discount. The interior of brickwork and candlelight gave a lovely atmosphere. We did find it was hard to find when trying to use Google maps....

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There is a God and he's head chef at The Blue Ball! That”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

was possibly the best meal I ever had. I loved the champagne jelly with blackcurrant mousse. The service was excellent; the waiters really know their business.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ball Restaurant also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Blue Ball Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ball Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.