We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laugh a minute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albany Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Albany Hotel to your Saves list
The Albany Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
hull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“laugh a minute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

stayed here with National Holidays for 4 nights from 16th September and we never stopped laughing.Richard is a born comedian.The place does need decorating but why worry when the food is excellent the staff friendly,the location great and the owner as mad as a hatter.We will be back oh and they don't rip you off at the bar.Thanks Richard until we meet againd.Des and Kath room 21

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi, Many thanks for your review and really pleased that you enjoyed the hospitality and the food. With regards to the decoration we will be carrying out a redecoration of all rooms over the coming months. It doesn't cost anything to smile and have a joke with people and pleased you enjoyed the way in which we run the hotel. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards Richard :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    87
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
20
133
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A family run hotel ideal for the town and beaches. Breakfast are lush. The whole family is involved in the business and nothing is too much trouble. The bar is well stocked and cheaper than some of the pubs the beer is well kept as well. Can't wait to go back. Check availability though because this hotel is well patronized from all over UK and Europe which is a testament to its quality. Listed building with character as well. Richard the Landlord has time for everyone and is one of the nicest hoteliers I have ever met. If I could give 200 out of 10 I would. Well worth checking out if you intend visiting Tenby which is always worth a visit at any time of year.

Room Tip: Try and book early as you can or check availability especially in week as it is always well booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi, Thank you very much for leaving this review following your recent stay and I am delighted that you enjoyed. I shall pass your comments on to everyone here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Albany with national holidays Richard and his staff were most obliging .i had stayed there previously.the warm friendly staff more than made up for the tired looking .bedroom.the location is great and for two women travelling alone we felt safe

Room Tip: not suitable for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing your review following your recent stay and pleased that you enjoyed and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

While the staff were very friendly, I think that £85 a night was a bit much for what we received.
Our room was damp smelling with old decor, the grouting in the bathroom wasn't great and the shower fixture on the tap was missing, so we couldn't shower.
Very close distance to the beach and shops, but the car park was a few minute walk from the hotel.
Overall, we found it overpriced with the only saving grace being so close to the centre of Tenby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi, Thank you for leaving your review following your recent stay. I am sorry with some of the problems that you had and it is unfortunate that these were not brought to our attention so that they could have been rectified for you during your stay. I am pleased that you found us well located and for your information we will be carrying out further redecoration works at the end of the 'main' season. Once again apologies for any shortcomings. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break at The Albany and enjoyed it very much. Yes, the decor is a little tired but we personally found our accommodation clean, which we consider more important. That, the meals and the pleasant and helpful attitude of Richard and his staff more than made up for it. The location was perfect and it was surprisingly quiet, particularly as we had our window open all the time and we overlooked the road---maybe we were just lucky. We would be quite happy to stay there again if we return to Tenby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review following your recent stay and pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at The Albany with National Holidays from the 19th to 23rd August 13 and found it to be great. The room was clean and the service was 1st class, would like to thank Richard, his family and staff for a very pleasant stay.

Peter, Room 5

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review following your recent stay and pleased that you enjoyed We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just would like to say that we love Tenby my husband and I and have stayed there many times in a variety of B& B and caravan parks. We have never had any issues or bother. However, you have the Albany.
On arriving no car park so we parked on double yellows. Receptionist was straight to the point of the do's and don'ts. No friendly welcome or if you need anything etc. Some customer service training would be advised. We took our bags to number 3 dropped them in quickly straight back to the car to park it in the car park. It wad a warm day so we just about got a space. Car par charges 2 pound all day. However if you are staying for a few days make sure you go down and put a tlcket on the car ever morning before 9 am. My poor husband had that job. Anyway on arriving back to the room not a smile from the receptionist. Our room had two little rooms. One with a tired old sofa and grubby carpet, broken ceiling bulb, a wardrobe, drawers and tv. Decor very old and needs a lot of Tlc. The beds were twin with another set of drawers and small tv on wall. Again wallpaper had been painted over and was peeling nets and curtains old and not the best. Skirting boards were stinking as if somone had thrown tea all up the wall. The bedding was mot like the images on here they were plain white and did not even have poppers on the end so the quilt kept coming out. The bedding was clean. The windows were stiff and did not open well. The bathroom was again in need of some decor it looked tired and there were parches of peeling ceiling and black damp. Half a roll
of toilet paper was left and one set of towels. They did leave shampoo and shower gel sachets. The beds were fairly comfy but the noise in the morning. Try having a lie in my husband had to trot down to the car park first thing. Then there was music blasting from downstairs i was assumimg and then guests back and for. It sounded as if there were meral floorboards rather than wood. I went to gave a drink of water and opened the plastic glass they had covered with clear packaging and there was all gunge of someone's toothpaste waste at the bottom
. Obviously they are reusing the plastic cups but please make sure they are washed properly. The room in my opinion was dirty the decor was old and needs repair or just bin it. Twice the young lad came in without even knocking. Thank goodness I was dressed. Customer service skills need attention. Never tried breakfast as did not like the reviews and way too steep. The hotel is overpriced for what they offer hence the negative reviews. 70 pounds a night for that is shocking. If it was cheaper you could not argue as you pay for what you get. Overpriced and overrated! To end on a positive note it is in a good location not far from the town and can accommodate lots more guests than a standard B&b in tenby. However they are renovating a hotel opposite and I think thats going to be stunning when they finish. Tenby is a lovely place and well worth a visit. Would not stay at Albany again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
HI, Thank you for leaving your review following your recent stay. Sorry that we did not meet with your expectations and it appears that you may have been better finding a hotel that offered car parking (it clearly states that we do not have any car parking and the nearest car park is the North Beach at £2 a day and a 5 minute walk). As you appeared to have such a poor stay I am surprised that you did not mention anything during your stay so that we may have looked into your concerns and rectified appropriately.
Everybody has different expectations when they are going away and an earlier review "Bank Holiday Break" stayed in the same room and were paying more and were extremely satisfied. We appreciate that we have some refurbishment to carry out which takes place at the end of the 'main' season but I believe that we offer a competitive rate. However please again accept my apologies for any shortcomings and sorry that we did not hear of these problems until reading this TripAdvisor review. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albany Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.