We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I visited the Atlantic hotel with my husband and four year old son for a birthday treat. Arriving at the hotel we were pleased to see they had their own carpark so no carpark feed and long walks with heavy bags! The reception area is beautifully decorated with a luxury feel and the staff were extremely warm and welcoming even showing us to our room. Our room was very tastefully designed with luxury in mind, lots of space and an impressive bay window with a perfect view of the beach and sea.

We chose the hotel for the swimming pool to entertain our son and although on the small side was adequate for us until other guests entered. It wasn't too much of a problem though as there are also hit beds, a spa bath and steam room in the spa.....all well kept and spotlessly clean. The only criticism I have is that the changing rooms are a very cold walk out of the spa and down the corridor.

Any interaction with the staff was friendly and helpful I can't find fault there.

The cooked breakfast in the morning was restaurant quality, cooked well and nicely presented.

The location is one of the best in Tenby for views and access to restaurants, bars and shops.

Overall a very pleasing experience with a special mention for the cleanliness. It didn't just look clean, it smelt clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    68
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
149
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Myself, buzzy mate and our daughters stayed for 2 nights and had a ball. We had the balcony room overlooking Caldy and it was immaculate. We laughed so much! The pool is fab. Mum and dad are going there for their golden wedding this August and have booked the balcony too. Staff are fantastic. We actually took our daughter there for her first holiday when she was a few months old and we keep going back. It's a must when you're in Tenby. Fab hotel for a fab place.

Room Tip: Balcony room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Another fantastic 2nt stay, we absolutely loved it. We stayed for the last 2 nts of the season, 16th and 17th November. We expected the 1st class service as allways but did think we may not get the full service and facilities as they were closing up for the winter.................How wrong were we? We were afforded the full attention and dedication of all the staff:-
Reception: Nicky, Tracey, Shan, Babs and Diana.
Restaurant: (The wonderful) Tobias, what a star!, Becky, Shane and Mark.
Housekeeping: June, Abby, Lorna, Carol and Alena.
We were never made aware that we were one of only 4 couples in the hotel on these days, (I had to ask for this information). The bar, lounge, restaurant and pool were all made accessable whenever we wanted with 24hr reception cover, which is allways a comfort and a bonus. We can't wait to return in the spring after they re-open on 1st Feb. Well done guys, your a great team, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: The small double is very small, but perfectly adequate, ( we are a "large" couple though)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have many happy memories of weekends spent at the Atlantic over the years and decided to return for our silver wedding anniversary. We booked the room in person on a wet blustery day a few months in advance. As it was an important event we asked for a sea view and the receptionist suggested a particular room above the entrance in a manner that suggested it was something special. In retrospect we should have viewed the room before booking. The anniversary weekend arrived and we duly rolled up at the hotel and collected the key to the room. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. It was the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. The bed just about fitted into the room, The bathroom was a box carved out of the room and the ceiling of the bathroom stopped about 6 feet short of the ceiling of the room which gave it a very odd appearance. The bath was so small that I couldn't even straighten my legs.

Another disappointment was the complete lack of atmosphere in the bar. I remember it as having a friendly, relaxed feeling but now it has stark lighting and pale wooden flooring with a blaring TV and was just not conducive to enjoying a few convivial drinks.

The pool area, jacuzzi and steam room were very nice and the breakfast was ok though my boiled eggs were raw. Other reviews on here mention anniversary cards from the staff on the breakfast table. We didn't have one even though my husband had mentioned it to the hotel staff. Not that we expected it but it would have been a nice gesture.

On checking out and being asked if I'd enjoyed the stay I said how disappointed we'd been and was met with a shrug and agreement that the room was small.

Oh well live and learn I suppose. This isn't a cheap hotel by today's standards and next time I'll find a better home for my money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillingstone Lovell, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our second trip to Tenby this year and first time at this hotel, All I can say is that this place is fantastic much better and more pricier than the previous The Park hotel. Warm welcoming reception, a lovely pool, very clean, Our room was really nice with a good size bathroom and again plenty of hot water. Best breakfast ever! Total buffet, loads of hot delicious food, they bring you tea or coffee and then you can eat to your hearts content! After that its nice to stroll into the town a couple of minutes away, enjoy taking in the sights, lots of great places to eat and plenty of sweet shops, so no excuse not to buy granny some cola cubes!

There is a car park to the side of the hotel, it's a bit tight but your car is safe, once you arrive park up and don't use your car again as your likely to lose your place and there is no where else to park without paying.

We would recommend this hotel and can't wait to return..Don't forget to take a ride on Mr.ED a lovely horse and carriage and make sure you take a boat trip you see gorgeous seals really close, wrap up warm it gets chilly, look out for puffins as we saw a pair in the cliffs, take your camera!

Go back to the hotel and use the pool and steam room to warm up, have a glass of wine in the bath, then go to the Bar Ten restaurant for a really good steak, a good pub is The Tenby Arms. Go back to the hotel after an action packed day for some well deserved ZZZzzzzzzz.



Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at the Atlantic hotel for the Tenby blues festival weekend.
Hotel is immaculate, Service 1st class. Diane and Paul deserve a special mention as they couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
Will definitely be staying there again, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

spent two nights at the atlantic hotel for the tenby blues weekend ,very nice rooms , staff very helpful , breakfast very nice only thing wish they served breakfast until 10.30 am on a sat & sun 9.30am is a bit early when people come to relax at the weekend , but i would stay there again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#3 Family Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.