We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we returned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle View Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle View Hotel
The Norton | North Beach, Tenby SA70 8AA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 26 hotels in Tenby
south wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Glad we returned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August last year and were pleasantly surprised, partcularly as many of the comment on the site were quite negative. However, we thought is was great and have just stayed there again, this time for 3 nights.

Once again we had a very pleasant stay. The room we had this visit was bigger that previously, so we were happy. It's not a 4* hotel, but it's good value for money with friendly staff and owner, very clean and tidy and very conveniently located just by the harbour to enjoy the views over the sea but without being smack bang in the hustle and bustle of the square.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wanted clean and tidy accomodation in a good location with very good value for money, but who didn't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Had a great time in Tenby, the hotel is clean and very friendly, the service was great, the owner and her staff were excellent. It's perfectly situated near the center of town, and makes a great base for walking / cycling.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel is lovely. Very reasonably priced. We have stayed there 4 times over the last 2 years and always have a nice time. The owner is very helpful and accomedating, provding good old fashioned service with a personal touch. It's basic but spotlessly clean. Ask for room 1 or 2 which have lovely sea views. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have just spent two excellent weeks at Castle View. We too were somewhat sceptical after reading previous negative comments. We had a wonderful time. Staff were friendly but not 'in your face'. Ready to help whenever possible. Anyone who knows Tenby realises the great difficulties with parking. There is on site parking (limited). The token scheme worked extremely well for us. We were able to keep the tokens for the duration of our holiday which meant coming and going was easy. Short term holiday makers may feel it a nuisance, but compare it to having to drive around the town - when you can! No comparison. If you can afford a sea-view room then it is well worth the extra.
As for breakfast, did previous reviewers ask for a fried egg? I did, and had one every day. Breakfast could be any combination of what was on the menu. We would not hesitate in returning to the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We booked this hotel before reading the comments made on the website and were a little dubious about staying there. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The accomodation was perfectly adequate size wise, and was clean and tidy. All the staff we dealt with when checking in and at breakfast etc. were all very helpful, polite and attentive.

The upstairs guest lounge was a lovely spot to sit for a drink, overlooking the bay.

I have stayed at more impressive places than this, but would happily return for another visit, particularly as a couple.

My only criticism would be the limited choice of cooked breakfast. If you stayed for a longer period of time, the limited menu may become a bit 'samey' and breakfast is only served for an hour so there is not a great deal of flexibility there. However, I wouldn't let that put you off, especially if you have no desire to be up and out before 9.00am!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We took the four grandchildren in two large family rooms one with sea view. Had read previous bad review clearly this was a one off/blip. Full English was great with staff fussing around the children and baby. Bedrooms were good and very comfortable. First floor lounge was very comfortable and child friendly with best sea views in Tenby. The owner was constantly asking if she could help in any way. She also pointed out local events and activities, like the firework display, dancing competition, and male choir. We were provided with a space at the back of the hotel to park the car. We also got a discount for booking two family rooms and because we had four children.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANGLESEY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Nothing more to say here, I have said it all above, IT IS ALL EXCELLENT, I am going again soon on my own, the Daughter & her husband are back in work, & the grandchildren are going back to school.

I don't mind the key system to park my car at the rear, at least there is a place to park within a locked car park, I fail to see how other Hotels manage to park cars,Tenby is a very very very congested place, so cogested you are not allowed to drive in the town in the summer months. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK "JUDY"

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Hotel

Also Known As:
Castle View Hotel Tenby, Wales
Address: The Norton | North Beach, Tenby SA70 8AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 hotels in Tenby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castle View Hotel to your Saves list