We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in the staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Imperial Tenby Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All in the staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Recently stayed at the Imperial for an activity weekend with friends. I realize that we were quite a demanding group, but the staff, especially the girl on reception bent over backwards to accommodate all of our needs. The food was tasty and filling served by enthusiastic waiting staff - although we were a tiny bit late and unorganized coming for dinner.
Stunning views and welcoming atmosphere.
See you next time we're in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of your stay with us and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel and Services that we provide, I shall certainly make sure that all the team and specially reception staff are aware of your kind comments, We are glad that you took advantage of our location and magical views the hotel had to offer. I look forward to see in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    132
    72
    35
    27
See reviews for
64
245
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Re-visited the Imperial this week for a lunchtime snack. We love eating in such spectacular surroundings with the amazing views over to Caldey Island. The outside terrace has been smartened up with flower boxes, but would really be enhanced with perhaps some of that artificial grass, or an alternative... my wife found the smell of the current rubberised flooring quite overpowering. The staff were helpful and this hotel deserves proper recognition.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time and coming back for lunch in this amazing views that we can offer. I am glad you notice the improvement we have made and the staff were helpful to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went for a week but was too ill to leave the hotel. The staff were wonderful and attentive to my needs. They tried every day to secure a wheel chair so that I could at least see a bit of Tenby but without success. The views over the sea from the balcony were fantastic and the sun was a bonus. I read several books and felt comfortable to spend the time in the hotel. The dining room is spacious and afforded spectacular views wherever we sat. It is wise to request bath or shower as I had great difficulty bathing. Now that I am recovered will be going back to catch up on what I missed.

Room Tip: Recommend paying a bit extra for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the Imperial Hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with.I am really sorry we could´t find a wheelchair in a short space of time but I am glad you still enjoy in our public areas with the fantastic view the Imperial had to offer. I would recommend in the future that you give us a call so we can make sure a wheelchair or any request are made on your arrival. I am really looking forward to welcome you back in your next visit.so you can enjoy Tenby and all the surrounding see you soon. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My grand daughter and I stayed two nights this weekend and had a really good time. Had a lovely room with an amazing sea view and large balcony.The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Could not find fault with any thing. Can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: Room with sea view and balcony was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a positive review following your stay at the Imperial hotel.
I am delighted that you had such a great experience and that you enjoyed our property.
I look forward to welcoming you again very soon. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show the gracious hospitality and service we offer.Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Inside and outside the hotel impresses. We sat in The Triton Bar with a stunning view out towards Caldey Island. So far so good. There was five in our party, four of whom wanted afternoon tea, the other a chicken caesar wrap. My wife also requested a lemon and ginger mocktail from the menu, which she could not have as there hadn't been any deliveries that day, the advertised carrot cake was not available either.
Tea arrived fairly promptly, the cups and tea pot were a bit grubby. We had to ask for the latte we'd ordered. The wrap then arrived but not the 4 afternoon teas which we waited for and waited. Eventually they arrived but no ham sandwiches! We brought this to the attention of the waiter who "had a word with the chef" and eventually they materialised.
The waiter was kept busy with taking orders, serving, clearing up and serving drinks. He deserves credit the management do not as when this rather sorry state of affairs was brought to his attention he was full of platitudes but very little else. What should have been a very pleasant afternoon ended up quite frankly as a bit of a joke.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the service provide. I would like to thank you for speaking with me whilst at the Hotel as I was able to look into the problems that you encountered. This is certainly not our normal standard of service & once again I apologize for the standards during your stay with us. I am glad you enjoy the view the Imperial had to offer and I hope to see you in the future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

stayed for one nite .only paid 79 pounds had a sea facing room with large balcony ..massive room .large sofa ,four poster bed ,bathroom had bath and a walk in shower ..good breakfast ..fantastic value for money .also let us park in managers spot in car park over night .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby.
I am delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our hotel.I shall pass on all your kind comments to the staff as they always trying their very best to help our customers.
I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future Regards, SImon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWANSEA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Only stayed for one night,room comfy,staff helpful and friendly would stay again, only downside parking for 6 or 7 cars at most at hotel.Managed to find parking space on one of the side streets but had wing mirror broken so really would use car park for 24hour parking on next visit. Felt Tenby which as always been one of my favourite places to visit,looks a bit tired and shabby council needs to invest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and services that we provide, I shall certainly make sure that all the team are aware of your kind comments. We have a small car park but as you mention is other car parks near by and we always more than happy to help our customers to point them in the right direction. I am sorry to hear about your wing mirror was broken as this is no a usual thing for Tenby and it can happen anywhere in the uk. Tenby is a fantastic place with magical views and I am glad you enjoy your stay. I hope to see you soon in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Tenby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.