We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Imperial Tenby Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 A NIGHT OFFERS!
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just got back today from the Imperial hotel.
Went for 2 nights, stayed in room 3.Fantastic view of the beach and st Catherine's island.
Very friendly staff. Only had breakfast but it was served quickly and always hot.
Lovely hotel most of the people were of retirement age,so think we were the youngest there.
Had an alarm call in the morning thanks to a very friendly seagull.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you had a nice break with us. I completely agree with you, we are so lucky to have such a fantastic location & great views. I hope to see again in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    123
    69
    34
    27
See reviews for
59
223
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from a lovely 2 night break at the The Imperial Hotel, Tenby. Our twin room was really cosy and spotlessly clean. there was plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate 2 hand. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Enjoyed all the meals in the restaurant which had lovely views of the beach below. Will definitely go to back. Really good value for money.

Room Tip: Have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review at your recent stay at the Imperial. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and its location.I will pass on the comments to the staff as they always trying their very best to help our customers. I hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed at the imperial Mon to Fri at beginning of Nov,we opted for a superior sea view room and was not disappointed although an old building being renovated it had a certain charm.the staff were all very welcoming and pleasant,especially Akos in the bar and Eva our waitress'what lovely people ,a credit to the manager simon,always on hand to help and chat.downsides are no variety of fruit at breakfast only prunes and grapefruit which bearing in mind the senior pill popping clientele grapefruit reacts badly with most medications.The hotel was very warm throughout.lovely.the only other downside was the car parking situation.we had booked car parking at the hotel only to find when we arrived the car park full of builders materials we were given a compliment slip to place on our dashboard at a public pay and display nearby.overall a very pleasant stay and would return.

Room Tip: Do choose a sea view you won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Akos, Eva & I were very pleased to hear that you mentioned us by name on your review, it made our day. I have passed your comments onto the Kitchen & Restaurant regarding the choice of fruit but I am glad you enjoy the location and the views the Imperial have to offer. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have just returned from from a three night stay at The Imperial Hotel Tenby where we had rooms 7 and 11 from booking in to booking out the staff ,food and service was first class Our special thanks to two young ladies who looked after us in the restaurant Ruth and Eve they are to be commended for their excellent service and such lovely natures We will certainly be back Thankyou to all Mr and Mrs Cox and Mr and Mrs Smith

Room Tip: Room 11 very spacious and lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Cox & Mr and Mrs Smith. Many thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review at your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. Ruth & Eva are over the moon with their special mention. I shall pass all your lovely comments to all members of the team, as they really appreciate when guest do acknowledge them. Our Hotel does strive to offer good value for money and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you.We hope it wont be long till you return. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent location overloking the beach , built into the town walls ans only a few minutes walk from the harbour and town centre . Public rooms are modern and well laid out , the dining room overlooks the beach and merges into the main lounge . There are two bars and an outside terrace ,with free wifi in the reception and upstairs bar . The bedrooms could do with a little TLC but beds are confortable the bathrooms large with extremly hot water , our room number 4 had a bay window with french windows that opened up onto the roof terrace and even in October we could sit out . The food was first rate from breakfast to evening meal with something for everyone but you could choose of the a la carte menu and get a credit towards it for each course you chose. The staff could not do enough for you and where always cheerful and friendly. We even got a £25 pp credit to spend in the bar , for snacks , drinks or a la carte upgrade. This is an older hotel made up of 3 seperate buildings so you do find steps taking you to different levels even though the lift may serve your floor . But excellent value for money

Room Tip: room number 4 bay window with access to the roof terrace and well worth the sea view upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so lucky to have this location & views to south beach. I have passed your comments onto all of the staff. I am glad to read your comments about our menu. Our hotel does strive to offer good value for money and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you. We hope it wont be long till you return. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a lovely 4 day break at the Imperial Hotel( 28th - 31st Oct 2013). My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here, and would hopefully book again in the future! Our Standard room was No. 49 on the 4th floor, with a wonderful sea view. We had £50.00 credit for purchasing drinks, and snacks, and had booked half board. Breakfasts were excellent, and the evening meals were good, with an allowance to upgrade to the main hotel menu if you wanted to! Staff in all departments were 1st class, and the room cleaning service was 'spot on'. Overall the bedroom decor, and Reception Area could of done with a little TLC, but the rest was great! Customer service in all departments, made our stay a good experience!

Room Tip: Try and get a lower floor room, because the water pressure for baths or showers is weaker the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It's always great to know that you had an enjoyable stay.I am also pleased to note you found the hotel very comfortable and clean throughout and you enjoyed your evening meals. I will review the room decor as they are in constant use and some times suffer from slight wear. I will pass on the comments to the staff as they always trying their very best to help our customers. We hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

After checking in and going to our room we found no key on our keyring,so off back to front desk .We were told last guests forgot to hand key back in.So off we go with hotel spare key.Got to room,could we get in room? NO key bent!! So off to front desk again.Handyman saved the day and straightend key.I can laugh about it now but after 7 hour journey could have done without it.We had upgraded to premium room and the room was huge and very comfortable,also had a balcony with amazing sea view.Only one drawback had great difficulty using hairdrier as lead not long enough to reach mirror. Food good always plenty and dining room staff very pleasant.Always plenty of hot water and room was very clean and welcoming.Good location in Tenby and would come back to visit again.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I can only apologize about the start of your holiday with us with your room key. I have passed your comments onto all the relevant departments. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at the Imperial and that you enjoyed your large and comfortable room. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.Regards, Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Tenby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.