We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we stayed march 11th - march 15 2013” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Imperial Tenby Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“we stayed march 11th - march 15 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

i have written a complaint to the coast and country/shearing group regarding this hotel and i have yet to have a reply. the room we had was room 47 - 4 th floor. dont arrive before 3pm (that is when your room seems to be available) no offer from reception to use the lounge/bar/dinning room until your room is available... there were rooms at the hotel which had been up-dated but ours wasnt. good luck if you have booked for this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. First of all I am sorry that we didn´t meet your expectations and you didn´t enjoy your stay with us. I will investigate all your comments about your stay and as you can see by our tripadvisors responses this is not a common complaint. Our aim is to ensure all our guests not only enjoy their stay but also feel they have value for money. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    124
    69
    34
    27
See reviews for
59
224
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at the Imperial 4th to 8th of March with shearings coach trip. The trip was the usual good value midweek break,Tenby and surrounding area are lovely well worth a visit. The hotel itself is a good standard the main rooms are excellent, the room we had on the 4th floor was small but perfectly adiquate with everything we needed. The bathroom was small with just a shower wc and sink, it was fine but maybe because we were on the 4th floor although the water was hot the pressure was very poor like showering under a dripping tap. Having said that we would have rated it much higher if not for the service we received in the dining room. I have to say that staff there are excellent, and the food was well cooked and presented, but service was so slow 2 nights out of 4 it was over an hour before we received our first course, as a result some of the dishes were cold by the time they arrived. On our last morning we had to leave our cases outside the room at 7 and breakfast was at 7.30 as the coach was leaving at 8.45. We were 2nd in the queue at 7.25 and were not served out breakfast untill 8.20 and even then had to make a third request for toast, as a result we were late to the coach. None of this reflects on the staff they were just too few and were strugling to cope with a full dining room. I understood from our driver that the manager was on holiday, maybe that was the problem?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear annhinch, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that you enjoy the surrounding area that the Imperial hotel can offer at this lovely location. I can only apologise about the service in the restaurant. I and the team are working very hard and addressing all the comments you made about your stay. I shall investigate your comments about the service received during your stay specially on breakfast. Please be assured that all comments and reviews shall be actioned by myself and the team. I and the team have been addressing the problems you have noted in your review and we are working very hard to upkeep the standards of our hotel and when these things are brought to our attention we try to deal with them as quickly and efficiently as possible.I do hope that you choose to come back again and I am positive you will see a remarkable improvement.Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Old traditional English seaside hotel with a touch of grandier. It may be old but it's in good order and is in a super position overlooking the beach and sea and is attached to the old town wall.. Part of the Coast and Country group and prices are reasonable, especially this time of the year. The heating was adequate the food was good and the light and airy restaurant overlooks the sea. All the staff were friendly and helpful. It's a good place to stay to explore the Pembrokeshire area and to appreciate Tenby's own delights. For a little extra money you can live for a few days like a Lord and Lady, in a large Premier Room complete with a four poster bed, a large balcony, a settee and 32 inch TV. Free Cloud wi fi is also available. The only slight downside is that the hotel's car park is small but free parking is possible in local streets or a nearby car park at £1.00 per day.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. If it's for a special occasion then go for a Premier room with a large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Roger C, Many thanks for your review in your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I will pass on the comments to the staff as they always trying their very best to help our customers. Im glad you enjoy the surrounding area of Tenby. I agree that our upgrade rooms are good value for money and make a different to your stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Poor weekend stay at room at 23. Sloping floors, mold in shower and on window frames, and noise from refurb work. Toilet got blocked. Great views from restaurant and attentive staff but room really let it down. Old building clearly suffering.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear beans 5803 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We always strive to provide the best service,but if a guest is unhappy then we will endeavour to rectify the problem.I and the team have been addressing the problems you have noted in your review and we are working very hard to upkeep the standards of our hotel and when these things are brought to our attention we try to deal with them as quickly and effeciently as posible.I am pleased you enjoyed the fantastic views and you found the staff, food and service to your liking.I do hope that you choose to come back again and I am positive you will see a remarkable improvement.Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

There was a problem on our arrival which was quickly an cheerfully sorted by the most helpful manager and receptionist. Most impressive. The hotel facilities and restaurant were excellent and we would not hesitate to use this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Glyn B, Thank you very much for your lovely comments of your recent stay at The Imperial Hotel in Tenby. I will pass your comments to the receptionist. I am glad you enjoy your stay and the restaurant facilities. I hope to see you soon in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We chose the Imperial Hotel for my 50th birthday winter break. We could not fault the service, staff, accomodation or food. The Manager just wants his guests to have a lovely time & this relaxed, friendly atmosphere creates a warm welcome, guests chatted easily to each other & the staff. The views out to sea from the restaurant are superb, the presentation of the food is excellent & the choice on the menu first class. Sofas are set in comfortable lounges & Tenby is a delightful walled town well worth a visit. Upgrade to a superior room for a touch of luxury. Value for money with 3,4 or 7 night stays is unbelievable. We absolutely loved our stay & highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views. Ask about upgrades for that extra luxury, we changed after seeing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to writing such a great review. Its great to know you enjoyed your 50th birthday winter break with us at the Imperial. I am pleased you enjoy the wonderfull views, arguably the best in Tenby. Our Hotel does strive to offer good value for money and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team as they always appreciate that customers notice their hard work. Hope to see you again in the near future.Regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Manager and staff here did everything possible to make our stay pleasurable. The Imperial has a lovely restaurant and lounge/bar area with splendid cliff-top views. The food was beautifully cooked and prepared, and a special dietary need was catered for well.

The standard room that we were allocated to was adequate, but certainly not luxurious in any way. Some minor niggles with the room were very quickly sorted out by the Manager, who was very courteous and helpful. We would recommend paying the extra and going for one of their Superior rooms or their Premier Room. They are a lot more spacious, and are fitted out to a much better standard than (our experience of) a standard room.

Considering the relatively inexpensive charges made for this hotel our week-end break was good value for money. Next time we stay here though we shall aim to go for a Superior room. The decor of these matches that in the restaurant and lounge, whereas some of their standard rooms do not.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior room - the ones we were shown seemed excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review in your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I will pass on your nice comments to the team as they always happy to be helpful to our customers. I am glad you enjoy your stay as we always strive to provide the best service and we will do our best to accommodate in the best posible way. I agree that our upgrade rooms are good value for money and make a different to your stay. I hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Tenby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.