We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRADITIONAL ENGLISH HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Imperial Tenby Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 A NIGHT OFFERS!
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
berkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“TRADITIONAL ENGLISH HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Old traditional English seaside hotel with a touch of grandier. It may be old but it's in good order and is in a super position overlooking the beach and sea and is attached to the old town wall.. Part of the Coast and Country group and prices are reasonable, especially this time of the year. The heating was adequate the food was good and the light and airy restaurant overlooks the sea. All the staff were friendly and helpful. It's a good place to stay to explore the Pembrokeshire area and to appreciate Tenby's own delights. For a little extra money you can live for a few days like a Lord and Lady, in a large Premier Room complete with a four poster bed, a large balcony, a settee and 32 inch TV. Free Cloud wi fi is also available. The only slight downside is that the hotel's car park is small but free parking is possible in local streets or a nearby car park at £1.00 per day.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. If it's for a special occasion then go for a Premier room with a large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Roger C, Many thanks for your review in your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I will pass on the comments to the staff as they always trying their very best to help our customers. Im glad you enjoy the surrounding area of Tenby. I agree that our upgrade rooms are good value for money and make a different to your stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    112
    66
    32
    26
See reviews for
56
189
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Poor weekend stay at room at 23. Sloping floors, mold in shower and on window frames, and noise from refurb work. Toilet got blocked. Great views from restaurant and attentive staff but room really let it down. Old building clearly suffering.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear beans 5803 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We always strive to provide the best service,but if a guest is unhappy then we will endeavour to rectify the problem.I and the team have been addressing the problems you have noted in your review and we are working very hard to upkeep the standards of our hotel and when these things are brought to our attention we try to deal with them as quickly and effeciently as posible.I am pleased you enjoyed the fantastic views and you found the staff, food and service to your liking.I do hope that you choose to come back again and I am positive you will see a remarkable improvement.Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

There was a problem on our arrival which was quickly an cheerfully sorted by the most helpful manager and receptionist. Most impressive. The hotel facilities and restaurant were excellent and we would not hesitate to use this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Glyn B, Thank you very much for your lovely comments of your recent stay at The Imperial Hotel in Tenby. I will pass your comments to the receptionist. I am glad you enjoy your stay and the restaurant facilities. I hope to see you soon in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We chose the Imperial Hotel for my 50th birthday winter break. We could not fault the service, staff, accomodation or food. The Manager just wants his guests to have a lovely time & this relaxed, friendly atmosphere creates a warm welcome, guests chatted easily to each other & the staff. The views out to sea from the restaurant are superb, the presentation of the food is excellent & the choice on the menu first class. Sofas are set in comfortable lounges & Tenby is a delightful walled town well worth a visit. Upgrade to a superior room for a touch of luxury. Value for money with 3,4 or 7 night stays is unbelievable. We absolutely loved our stay & highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views. Ask about upgrades for that extra luxury, we changed after seeing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to writing such a great review. Its great to know you enjoyed your 50th birthday winter break with us at the Imperial. I am pleased you enjoy the wonderfull views, arguably the best in Tenby. Our Hotel does strive to offer good value for money and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team as they always appreciate that customers notice their hard work. Hope to see you again in the near future.Regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Manager and staff here did everything possible to make our stay pleasurable. The Imperial has a lovely restaurant and lounge/bar area with splendid cliff-top views. The food was beautifully cooked and prepared, and a special dietary need was catered for well.

The standard room that we were allocated to was adequate, but certainly not luxurious in any way. Some minor niggles with the room were very quickly sorted out by the Manager, who was very courteous and helpful. We would recommend paying the extra and going for one of their Superior rooms or their Premier Room. They are a lot more spacious, and are fitted out to a much better standard than (our experience of) a standard room.

Considering the relatively inexpensive charges made for this hotel our week-end break was good value for money. Next time we stay here though we shall aim to go for a Superior room. The decor of these matches that in the restaurant and lounge, whereas some of their standard rooms do not.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior room - the ones we were shown seemed excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review in your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I will pass on your nice comments to the team as they always happy to be helpful to our customers. I am glad you enjoy your stay as we always strive to provide the best service and we will do our best to accommodate in the best posible way. I agree that our upgrade rooms are good value for money and make a different to your stay. I hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed in room 1, would recommend it, lovely views and a balcony.
Food very good value.
Fantastic spot right on the cliff overlooking the sea.
Booked direct with Shearings,excellent value.
Staff very helpful, would defiantly go again for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments at your stay at the Imperial. I shall pass on all your lovely comments to all members of the team. We are very privelleged to be located in such a beautiful área with a magical views. Our Hotel does strive to offer good value for money and it is pleasing that you felt we delivered this to you. I´m looking forward to see you again soon. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have just returned home after having a superb 4-night Shearings break at the Imperial. From the moment the manager came onto our coach to greet us and gave us such a friendly welcome we knew our stay was going to be special.

The hotel has an absolutely stunning position overlooking the sea. In fact when we looked out of our bedroom window we felt as if we were on the bridge of an ocean liner staring out over the waves. The restaurant also enjoys equally fine sea views.

But what made the hotel so special for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the young hotel staff - from the manager to the receptionists and from the bar staff to the waiters and waitresses, everyone was so helpful - they all seemed so keen to please, nothing was too much trouble. They were all part of a team dedicated to serving their guests.

The breakfasts were excellent and the evening meals even better - all served in a relaxed, quietly efficient and unfailingly courteous manner.

And a special word for our coach driver. Tim was not the regular driver but he had done a lot of research and even though it was his first time on the Tenby run he was able to provide lots of background information which made our trips out more interesting.

You will guess from this that we were delighted with our stay. We have stayed in quite a number of Shearings hotels (all of them good) but this one ranks first for us. We will be back!

Room Tip: You must book a seaview room - from our bedroom window we had a fantastic view out over the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
I am so glad that you had a superb holiday with us, and many thanks for taking the time to post a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I shall pass on all your lovely comments to all members of the team. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have to admit that we are very lucky and privileged to be located in such a beautiful location. Tim is indeed a great driver and tries his best to pass as much information. I am so glad you had such a superb time. I hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Tenby Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;