We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant

Blue Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant
Save Saved
You added Blue Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
St. Marys Street, Tenby SA70 7HW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 hotels in Tenby
Pontypridd, Wales, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

We booked a trip to Tenby at very short notice and the Blue Dolphin was the only hotel to offer a room within our budget. We were a little sceptical at first - especially as we had noted one or two poor reviews. However, overall, our experiences were very positive and, I daresay, some of the people who have been a bit 'picky' about the place are - to put it kindly - those who will never be pleased. Granted it is 'old fashioned' - but considering the highly competitive tariff - what do you expect? We had a double room with an en-suite - OK the en-suite was small - but it was functional and the shower worked. The room itself was clean and not 'chintzy' - it had a very comfortable bed, a sofa, TV and the usual coffee/tea making facilities. On the downside, the room from our window wasn't especially brilliant, especialy considering the proximity of the B&B to the sea - and there was noise from a nearby pub/club (we stayed on a Saturday night) that kept us awake for a short while. The breakfast was very good (full English) - the staff were extremely attentive to our needs and very friendly - e.g. re-filled our coffee mugs at breakfast, prepared fresh toast whenever we ran out, were courteous when we checked in, and checking out was swift and hassle-free. The best thing about the Blue Dolphin is the fact that it is at the heart of the town. Overall, in Tenby, we were very disappointed by the restaurants - they seemed tired and unwelcoming (mainly pub restaurants) - this may have been an illusion created by our out-of-season venture into Tenby and the horrendous wind and rain - so we didn't have the opportunity to try the Blue Dolphin's restaurant which, we were told by a rival B&B, had a very good reputation. We would stay at the Blue Dolphin again and we learnt, when reading the reviews, there are some fussy people who can never be pleased!

  • Liked — Excellent value for money, attentive staff
  • Disliked — Noise from nearby pub/club
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

Did not come up to expectations as viewed on website.
En suite was an old broom cupboard. No extractor fan.
Room a little tired.
Breakfast never cooked the same two days running.
Good Location for Town and Beach.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — En suite
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

Stayed for three nights in September 2006 on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. Rooms are clean and tidy only let down by tired ensuite bathroom but these are about to be updated... The restaurant is fantastic and should not be missed - a real gem - ate for three nights and loved every single dish. Good location in the old town with the sea at the end of the road - cannot park outside during the daytime but the local car park was £2 a day and just around the corner. Very friendly staff and a good bar - no hesitation in recommending as it is and it will be a real gem once they upgrade the ensuites.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Ensuites a little tired
  • Tips/Secrets — See whether they are doind any special deals on their website including dinner
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

I booked this place based on TA reviews. I think previous commentators were overly generous. While the staff are friendly and breakfast is adequate, the rooms are quite basic and a little tired. I don't think I paid too much but equally I wouldn't be falling over myself to stay here again. The hotel is somewhat inconveniently located in the walled town off the Esplanade. Cars can only park outside the hotel before 11am and after 5pm.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

just come back from a weekend break at the blue dolphin hotel, what a lovely time we had. hotel in tenby town and right near beach witch is lovely, hotel very clean and comfortable staff very friendly and helpfull, food great and plenty off it. i would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in tenby

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

blue dolphin hotel, tenby,wales, uk

we have just stayed at the blue dolphin, tenby ,for a weekend break we had bed and breakfast, they are realy friendly and welcoming and the full english breakfast, was great , we would stay there again when in tenby next, great location for the shops, and nice friendly pubs, and also a stones throw from the lovely sandy beach, overall great ,for all your holiday needs.

mr &mrs carter

Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant

Address: St. Marys Street, Tenby SA70 7HW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel And Restaurant
Blue Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.