We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully kept house.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wychwood House

Save Saved
You added Wychwood House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wychwood House
Penally, Tenby SA70 7PE , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Tenby B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully kept house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The property is a credit to the owner, who is an extremely pleasant character and very welcoming.
Me and a friend stayed here during a short tour of south Wales and England. It is outside the centre so any parking issues were solved as we'd experienced difficulty in the centre. There is an extremely well stocked shop just minutes walk away and just a little further is a very nice pub/restaurant.
I would absolutely recommend The Wychwood without a doubt!

Room Tip: One of our rooms had a see view and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A fantastic place to stay in Penally. Lee is an excellent Host and is assisted by his lovely Wife.
Our room was at the top of the house and put a 5 star hotel to shame. Lots of space and light. A word of caution if you have severe Mobility problems The top floor is not for you as the Stairs are steep and their in no lift or chair lift. We really enjoyed our stay. An excellent place to stay if you are exploring Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had the four poster bedroom with sea views and a balcony, but it really was more of a suite. Bed was really comfortable, as were the arm chairs. The great reception on the the TV came a poor second to the wonderful views from the window and balcony across the garden, the golf course, and the bay to Caldey island in one direction and Tenby in the other. The room had tea and coffee making facilities, as most rooms do, but you got fresh milk every time you walked in the door, rather than those horrible plastic pots, and also wine glasses and cork screw, and sweets. The plumbing is a bit idiosyncratic, but once we got the hang of it, we soaked in a huge long bath, or showered under a good shower. Loads of wardrobe and drawer space, and more coat hangers than we needed. Breakfast was cooked fresh to order and delicious. And if you elected to eat in in the evening the 4 course dinner was cooked fresh with interesting flavours and great presentation. But best of all was the welcome - warm, interested, fun from both Lee and Merhly - and available and willing to chat, without being pushy or intrusive. The village has a shop, a pub, a church - all active and friendly. We stayed 4 days and walked into Tenby along the beach and to Manorbier on the coast path. Will we come again? You bet.

Room Tip: The four poster with balcony is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Desperate, at 5pm, for somewhere to stay for three nights we rang Leigh, on the advice of the local information centre. What a fantastic time we had. Two nights in a room with en-suite on the first floor then up another floor to a room with a hand basin and toilet and a shared bathroom back on the floor where we had started - shared with Leigh and his wife. Sounds a bit chaotic and perhaps on one level it was but Leigh and Merrily made it more of an adventure - I think Leigh could have also sold me a second hand car. Leigh's breakfasts were special with freshly prepared grapefruit, pineapple and strawberries, a vast array of spreads for toast and great cooked feasts. The meal he cooked one evening, for any guests interested, was delicious and great value for money. Overall great value and great fun in a very relaxed atmosphere with excellent advice on things to see and do in the local area.

Room Tip: Some rooms had no true en-suite facilities. May be an issue for some but Leigh made it an non-issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Warm and friendly welcome from owner Lee who is also a superb chef, who cooked us an excellent evening meal, and delicious breakfast to order. Our room and in fact the whole house was homely and tastefully dressed with a traditional country feel, set in a quiet location with beautiful sea and country views from the balcony leading from the bedroom. Very comfy bed. Would definitely recommend as an ideal B&B for exploring Tenby and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Four poster room has excellent sea views towards Caldey Island with its own little stone balcony com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked ourselves and my wife's parents in for a two night stay and used it as a base to explore Tenby and the surrounding areas. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and airy with great views. The breakfast is excellent. The local pub (turn left out of the gate) near the church is also worth a visit both for the food and the welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a real gem of a bed & breakfast, made all the more so by the tireless effort of Lee to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast time has never been so funny, so much idle banter. Rooms are clean, comfortable and the views towards the sea are stunning. Well done Lee & Mherly, you are on to a winner there, we will be back.

Room Tip: Sea views to be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wychwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychwood House

Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7PE , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Country House enjoying see views situated in a beautiful village a short walk from Tenby South Beach, with footpath to Tenby (20 minutes walk) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wychwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychwood House Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wychwood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.