We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Normandie Inn

Normandie Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Normandie Inn to your Saves list
Normandie Inn
Upper Frog Street, Tenby SA70 7JD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just what we needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

we stayed as a group of 13 made up of adults and children for one night as we attended a christening the following morning. We had tried booking elsewhere but due to the number of us we had difficulties as many places were fully booked. Anyway, we decided despite the reviews of the noise issue we would give it a go and we were glad we did. The rooms were spotless and had been decorated recently, the bath towels were crisp and white and there were tea and coffee making facilities.

The rooms are above a busy bar but this did not bother us. We arrived around 7pm and decided to eat in the bar area with the children- nice choice of food and there was a children's menu. We left the bar area around 11pm as apparently this is when it gets busy which did concern us slightly! However our room was on the top floor and we could not hear a thing! (I did bring ear plugs just incase)

Breakfast was lovely, full english with a selection of juice, coffee and tea (cereals are provided as well) If you did not want a full english, alternatives were available at no extra cost of fuss!

We may stay here again but probably without the children as not really a suitable environment for them to be honest although this did not seem to bother them really!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    15
    8
    18
See reviews for
6
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontarddulais
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

If you are looking for nice accomodation and great food then this is for you. Not reccomended if you are looking for a quiet stay

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Was a little worried about staying here after only managing to read the mixed reviews after we had boooked! What a nice hotel, the rooms were huge and clean....new televisions needed though. The breakfast was nice, and the new refurbishent that the staff said had only been finished in April/May is clean, funky city chic looking. Looks like thay are extending or building a new beer garden too......did hear workmen and cement mixer early mon morn!!

The music was loud two out the three nights that we stayed, but couldnt really complain as the lady did say when I booked. Became abit of a pain on the first night stay but went and joined in on the sat night and didnt even notice!!!!! We did have an evening meal here two out of our three night stay. Fab food, a lovely fish menu which was really nice to see being a veggie. There is a restaurant to the rear of the bar 'Stables Door' I think it was called.... v.good food and wine.

Apart from being abit noisey we really enjoyed our little break to Tenby, we are planning to go back there before winter kicks in and try out their new courtyard. We will stay there again without a doubt.
Dont forget to visit the harbour, beautiful. A boat trip to Calday Island is a must too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My wife and myself stayed at the Normandie for one night, a Sunday. We paid £80 for B&B. After being shown up to the room we were pleased with the size and decor. All very modern and bright. The large bathroom with bath and overhead shower was clean and tidy and our only gripe there was the heating rail was on full blast with no means to turn it off.
We ate in town at the Mews Bistro which was way too expensive for the service and food we received. We returned back to our room at approx. 10-30pm. We didn't have the best nights sleep as we could hear the music from downstairs and then into the wee hours drunk people walking about the streets.
Breakfast was good, served quickly and catered for all.
The only reason we wouldn't return would be because of the street noise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Having just spent a Sunday night (£65 bed and breakfast) at the Normandie Inn and reading the reviews we would like to say the following. According to the staff the hotel has just re-opened after a 6 week "make over" - certainly the bar areas were newly painted and our large bedroom, number 5, was aswell. As for the furniture and fittings we would say they were not new , the bedroom furniture looked "tired" and the t.v could have well have been used on the arc but the shower facilities were excellent, there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room, there was an iron and ironing board and the heating, if anything, was too efficient!! We found the staff very pleasant and helpful , both our evening meal and breakfast were excellant, location ideal BUT it is not the cleanest of establishments and I would suggest investing in a dishwasher!! With a little more work and a little more refinement this hotel has potential to be very good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Having read previous reviews about this hotel I have to say I was a little concerned as to what we would find. Well.... have no fear this hotel is lovely. It has been given a new lease of life. A recent refurb ( I think the paint had only just dried when we got there) has transformed it totally. It has been very well done.
Check out the fish tank !
Very spacious rooms, brilliant location.
Don't stay here if you need an early night on the weekend, get downstairs and join in !
Will return and stay again in the summer to enjoy delightful Tenby .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Well what an amazing evening i had In Tenby last night to meet up with my two lovely daughters before we do our own thing over xmas . Dinner last night was delicious , my room was so lovely and warm spotlessly clean and quiet by the time i went to bed at 1am !! Shower was fantastic after i laid in bed listening to the church bells calling everyone to Sunday service . Very central to this lovely town i parked my car on the sea front for free only 3 minutes away and loved the beautiful views of the sea and only wish i had more time to spend in lovely Tenby today . James the owner is totally charming and made me feel really at home will go back soon hopefully , something for everyone here as long as you are not grumpy or frumpy .................

  • Liked — so warm when the temperature outside was sub zero
  • Disliked — litter and leaves need to be swept up from back entrances to entice people in to eat at Stables .
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normandie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Inn

Address: Upper Frog Street, Tenby SA70 7JD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Normandie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Hotel Tenby
Normandie Inn Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normandie Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.