We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical day ♥” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giltar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Giltar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltar Hotel
The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 hotels in Tenby
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A magical day ♥”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My sister and brother in law got married here on 02/09/13 and the day was fantastic from start to finish. We were greeted by Malcolm and he made the day run like clockwork. The ceremony was amazing with fantastic sea views behind the happy couple for the guests to appreciate. After the ceremony we were given bucks fizz while we waited to be called to dinner. The dinner was fantastic. There were 36 guests and not one of us had any complaints about it! If you want a beautiful venue and to be well looked after then this is the place for you. Staff are amazing, really couldn't do enough for you. We were made to feel so welcome all day and it was fantastic start to finish.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    81
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
50
133
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Giltar Hotel on Saturday 31st August 2013.
The meal was outstanding. There was a varied menu, which catered for the whole party. The staff were efficient at serving and clearing. I honestly consider this meal to be the best Wedding Reception that I have ever attended - and that really is saying something.
If you are lucky enough to find availability here for your wedding reception - I would certainly recommend it.
Oh.. Did I mention the view? Stunning location on a cliff top overlooking the ocean, Simply beautiful.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely view from hotel bedroom. The place does need a refurb which to be fair they are doing. Its a bit 1970's. 1 rasher of bacon for a full english is a bit mean! Pleasant staff, clean facilities. OK if you have kids or a pensioner - which we are neither!! Overall, not too bad.

Room Tip: ask fr a refurbed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

yet again my daughters and myself had a brilliant week at the Giltar. The only down side we find is the lift. It goes far too slow and takes ages to arrive (we dont expect it to be jet propelled) and also when the coach parties are in the lift is always fully occupied with their luggage on leaving day so everyone else more often than not have to use the stairs which can be a bit of a bind if you are on the top floor. Also if coach parties are leaving on the saturday they can get their breakfast early why cant anybody else do the same (we were not allowed breakfast one year because we wanted to leave before 8 even though a coach group was eating theirs).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped one night in a rear facing room and after reading some of the comments we were a bit concerned at what we would find. The room had a double & single bed and looked out onto the car park, we were warned that this room had not been refurbished yet but to be honest it was very clean and had everything that we needed. The bathroom was small but we hadnt come all the way to Tenby to spend the evening in the bathroom !!
The refurbished bedrooms looked fantastic as did the breakfast room. Breakfast itself was very good with a great selection and the waitress was really friendly.
The hotel has a lift so we had no problem gaining access with a wheelchair, staff were really helpful and it was a bonus having free wifi.
We will definitely return & hopefully be able to stop in one of the sea facing rooms next time.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are sort after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have just been with a group ,the hotel is well placed in the quieter area of Tenby, close to ramped access to the beach. Five minutes walk from the old worldy shops, and only a short stroll from the harbour.To the rear is the local bowls club.The staff were very efficient at all times, pleasant and attentive.The food was of high standard for a three star hotel and well presented and served.Our room was standard & basic in need of upgrade and repair,but other rooms the group had were much better. Everywhere was very clean, the evening entertainment was exceptionally good for a hotel,entertaining and relaxed. I would return as the holiday was friendly and relaxed. But I would ask for a larger room if possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just got home after spending two nights at the Giltar for our 10th Anniversary. Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. The room we had wasnt one that had been refurbished and we knew that when we booked but the view more than made it for it ! We will certainly be staying there again. The breakfast was fresh and hot although my husband could've eaten more ! Shame we had to come home .....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tenby
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giltar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.