We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Giltar Hotel to your Saves list
Giltar Hotel
The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We were all arguing where to go for Sunday lunch. So my dad said why don't we go to giltar Tenby and I said "OK". So we went over there as soon as we arrived we were offered bread. Then we even had are own waiter for the day. So I ordered salmon my dad ordered beef & my sister ordered lamb. We had are food with in 5mins and it was top class!!!!! I ordered cheesecake for dessert and it was the second best I'd ever tried!!! Very friendly staff great view reasonable price that's all your looking for!!!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    105
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
73
174
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Porth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Giltar Friday to Sunday on a bed and breakfast basis. The staff are very pleasant and the waiting staff were very attentive. Breakfast was part buffet part waitress service, it was nicely cooked and presented and enough to keep you going late into the day.
The (single) room was of a good size, bed comfortable however, the furniture was mismatched and very much in need of replacing as is the bathroom which was verfy dated. The decor in the room was fine.
The hotel is in the process of updating it's decor/furniture and the rooms that have been completed are very nice.
The location is perfect being right on the south beach opposite Caldy Island, the views of the bay from some of the rooms is stunning. The town is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the end of March 2013 in a non-refurbished room, and we really enjoyed our stay! The room was really clean with a brand new walk-in shower room too. We had a sea view room, and I really don't think we could have had a better view...it was absolutely beautiful! The windows were quite big, so you could the whole way across the beach on both sides of the hotel. The room was really warm, with a very comfy bed, as well as a tv, wardrobe and dressing table. It was quite small, but the views over the beach made up for that. We also loved the breakfast, with everything being cooked to order, so you could choose between a full english, eggs Benedict, and loads of other hot options (including kippers!) The location was amazing too, with free parking for the whole weekend! I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone staying in Tenby!

Room Tip: You really do want to pay extra for the sea view...it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lovely hotel with good sea views and good food. I recommend the Egg Benedict for breakfast! dining room has lovely sea views. the room was very good, clean and well equipped. it would benefit from having the option to fully open windows - I stayed end of March & think the room would be uncomfortably hot in July or August. The hotel is only a short walking distance from Tenby town centre (no hills nice and flat) The staff were very attentive and recommended a very good hairdresser prior to my trip. I did feel a little let down that on all 3 nights the bar was being used for private functions so I couldn't use it and on the final night the dining room was in use for a private function. I would have appreciated being informed when I booked that this was a possibility. overall I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view rather than a partial sea view & check if any private functions are happening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A hotel is just a big building with loads of rooms what makes it good is the quality of it's people. The Giltar would find it hard to be better in this deaprtment.

Went as a coach party were warmly welcomed and "got in" without any fuss. Cases spirited quickly to rooms. Nice newly "done" room. Good food with a decent choice, well presented, is it picky to say the fried bread was underdone? Yes of course it is. Very good selection of drinkies and the entertainment we had every night was very good.

Asked for a Daily Telegraph which they didn't normally have and they whistled it up for me! First class.

Congratulations to the owners and their excellent people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights - I needed somewhere with a walk in shower for my for my aged father. This hotel was a great find, very welcoming and helpful staff, super food at both breakfast and dinner, attentive but not intrusive service, and a wonderful room. We stayed in a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if you can; ours (108) was very spacious and had a bay window with a great sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to have one of the recently refurbished room with a sea view ,what a lovely surprise when we opened the door so well decorated and a view to die for.The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble .We had breakfast which was served by friendly staff. The hotels was situated very close to town and the beach with an added bonus of a car park.We will be back .

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and have a deluxe sea view you will not be dissappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tenby
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giltar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.