We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room & superb view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giltar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Giltar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltar Hotel
The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 hotels in Tenby
1 review
“Beautiful room & superb view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday as me and my partner came away to watch the rugby ( both in our early 20s)
Booked a standard room, once we arrived we decided to up grade to a deluxe room with views over to Caldey island extra £20 & all I can say is wow. Really contempary stunning room and bathroom, really clean to. Bed was massive and really comfortable. Breakfast was great and plenty to chose from. Can also bring pet which is fab! Staff were brill ! We had a wonderful time and we most certainly will be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    81
    36
    16
    10
See reviews for
50
133
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked a deluxe room as it was my husbands 50th birthday and it was fantastic, king size bed and a fab bathroom, they even had little extras like shower gel, bottled water and dressing gowns on the bed. Breakfast was really good as you could choose what you want from the buffet service and then have a cooked breakfast and the staff were brill asking if we wanted any more. This is the first time we have stayed here and will definitely stay there again in the summer ;-) excellent staff and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as it a fabulous sight to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have just got back from another stay at the lovely Giltar hotel which has got,,,what I consider..one of the best views in the UK.
As always the hotel was spotless, staff friendly and breakfast excellent.
They have refurbished some of the rooms and the ones I have stayed in have all been to an good standard for the money paid.
We had a nose at the De-Luxe rooms....WOW...will definately be staying in one of those next time, they are really generous in size, really well fitted out and have breathtaking views of South Beach and Caldey Island from their ample bay windows.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view room to fully appreciate the fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice, both times have been enjoyable, with comfortable rooms, polite service and very nice breakfast. A good all round hotel, very good location just seconds from the walled town, but the real bonus here is that the hotel does have its own car park - not many do in Tenby. More then happy and will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very clean and smart Hotel with good food and efficient service . On a one night stay I found the room nice and dinner was enjoyable . It faces the sea but i had a room at the rear tho have to say you do get some noise from the kitchen , The shower was great and bed comfortable . Friendly service .,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed sat 12th Jan for 'Allo Allo' night. Following the hotels very succesful 'Fawlty Towers' and Father Ted nights. Room on the top floor very comfortable, not a premium room but still pleasant. The theme night was a hoot. Staff brilliant from Pat & Malcolm, Cloudio at the Bar and all the staff. Food top draw, hot and tastey. Breakfast hit the spot as well. Hotels in Tenby are all competing for business, the Giltar is emerging as the cream on top.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have superb views of the beach and Caldy island. We had a room at the back overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This review may be inappropriate as we did not stay at the hotel. Looking for somewhere to have lunch on January 6th we noticed an 'A-board' outside advertising their Sunday lunch menu. In we went and all I can say is the food was delicious, the staff excellent, the view to die for and the price for all that reasonable. Apparently very popular with locals, which says a lot!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tenby
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giltar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.