We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay a the giltar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Giltar Hotel to your Saves list
Giltar Hotel
The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“our stay a the giltar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

just got home from a 3 day break at the giltar very comfortable hotel good food very helpful staff
nice bar down stairs we stayed in room 102 what a lovley room with beautiful view of caldy island
plenty of nice places to eat and drink in tenby we got the train from tenby station to carmarthen big town worth a visit no ticket office on tenby station but you can pay on the train

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    92
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
56
146
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
widnes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My friends,relatives and I stayed at the hotel for my daughters wedding breakfast and reception.The whole experience from the moment we arrived,until the moment we left was faultless.A big thank you to Malcolm,Pat,and all the staff for making it such a memorable weekend.The room was excellent,clean and spacious with a fantastic sea view.The chef deserves a special mention,as the wedding breakfast provided us all with food of outstanding quality,the best I have experienced in any British hotel.The waiting staff also played their part,always smiling,always helpful and hard working.I congratulate my daughter and son in law for choosing what must be the best hotel in Tenby.Once again,a most sincere thank you to the management and staff at the Hotel Giltar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

stayed in hotel for a wedding and was told on booking the room that we would be in the back of the hotel which we accepted. however it turned out we were put on the top floor where the window was so high we could not see out.the room was clean but claustrophobic and the furniture was fit for the scrap yard only.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the sea do not accept aroom on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at The Giltar in November 2012 as part of The Tenby Blues Festival. There were 8 of us and the hotel also had a wedding that weekend.
Our room was 105 and had a small balcony and a door opening out onto it. The sun was streaming through the window and the weather on the Sunday was glorious. Coupled with the magnificent view of the bay and Caldey Island, it was fabulous simply to sit or stand and enjoy both.That room is on the first floor so you can walk up or take the lift.It is above the entrance to the hotel so the only problem we experienced was people coming in/out but not oo much of a problem.
In the evening, one could see the lights of the island. Great to enjoy the view in the comfort of the warmth of the hotel.
In our opinion, the best sitting room of all the hotel`s on the sea front and also the best dining room, overlooking the bay.
All clean and most rooms have been refurbished.
I was asked if I would like a fan in the room as I was hot. Next thing...one appeared.
Nice tray of coffee/tea etc. I would have appreciated a pack of biscuits..as we usually have one ..maybe an oversight? Bottled water in our room but I believe only in premium rooms.
Breakfast was good.Full Welsh/English. If you wanted `cockles` etc, then they were extra.Plenty of fruit juices, cereals, melon etc.
Waiters/waitresses aren`t first language English . I wonder if the hotel could consider employing more locals? I teach and know that jobs are scarce.
A thumbs up for our B & B stay.

Room Tip: We were in 105, first floor overlooking the bay. Our friends were in 305, top floor. They had less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very warm welcome, Excellent accommodation. Very comfy room with beautiful sea view.
Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Service very good and nice to be able to have a late drink in the bar. the only downside is the parking situation. Not many places. However we did manage to park on the Esplanade, but this could be a problem during busy summer months.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Giltar hotel last night ( 3rd of November ). Was very pleased with everything. The room was fantastic, the food was fantastic and the staff were very pleasent and helpfull.
It was great value for money and cant wait to return in the new year ! :)

Room Tip: We stayed at a room with no sea view, really wish we had reserved a sea view room, our fault not hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Giltar late October. This hotel made us feel very welcome and is in an ideal location on the esplanade directly across from Tenby's beautiful south beach.

We stayed in the Caldey suite which was a lovely large room, relaxing decor and with the best views out of the huge bay window with three aspects across to Caldey Island and the Atlantic ocean. The room had plenty of storage space and also seating areas with both a table and chairs and a chaise longue.

The bathroom was lovely with separate bath and shower, complimentary local toiletries, and good lighting.

The breakfast was good, we tried the full Welsh and also the eggs Benedict. The restaurant staff updated us with a full weather forecast each day and advised us on when we needed to wrap up.

We look forward to returning next year and will definitely be requesting the same room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giltar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.