We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Day Off :O)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Giltar Hotel to your Saves list
Giltar Hotel
The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Pembroke Dock, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Day Off :O)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hi, I booked this room as a surprise for my Partner Sean and I, I have been in poor health for the past couple of years, we have six children, our three youngest are Autistic, Sean has been my Hairy Poppins and deserved a break, so I booked room 102 for Sean to have a day off :O) From the second we arrived we where treated so well, smiley staff, who couldn't do enough for you, the Sunday Lunch was to die for, we had the Pate, which was scrummy, followed by Roast Beef of Sirloin, which was cooked to perfection, with the best swede I have ever tasted. Sean then went outside to admire the view whilst he thought I was using the Ladies, when he turned round to come back in the hotel I was stood on the Balcony of our Suite, he hadn't a clue I had booked a room, we spent the entire day, laughing, smiling, talking, watching TV, we had a light Dinner served in our room, which we ate looking out at the wonderful Sunset. The room was very modern, spotless clean, the bathroom was just amazing, roll top bath, separate shower, attention to detail was spot on. After the best nights sleep, we woke to the sound of the waves and the Seagulls, we watched the Sunrise behind St Catherine s Island, it was just perfect, Brekkie was served in our room, which was lovely. We had the best time at The Giltar and will definitely be back when we need another day off :O) xxxxx

Room Tip: Room 102 is the only room with Patio Doors leading out to a Balcony, we loved it, we hear the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    105
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
73
173
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel May 2011. We arrive at the hotel and were able to park in the car park at the rear, his was a great bonus, however the public car park is minuited walk away. We had a warm welcome from Malcolm (what a lovely man)
I had requested two room ajecent to each other, as we were travelling with our two daughter aged 16 and 13 and they like their own space (as do we!)
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean and had everything you would expect.
We found the location of this hotel second to none! Right on the sea front what more could you ask for. This allowed us to go down to the beach, and just pop back up had we forgetton something or just wanted to get out of the sun for a few hours.
This hotel is also on a few minuites walk from the town, again a huge bonus!
We never used the bar or lounge, however we did go and have a look and they were very inviting.
Breakfast at the giltar was also a great experience. We were awake before our daughters, so we went down while they slept. We were welcomed by lovely staff who explained where everything was and what cooked options were availble. The breakfast arrived quickly, and it was GORGEOUS!! Our daughters came down about half an hour later and said afterwards they had really enjoyed their breakfast aswell (It must have been good if a teenager says so! haha)
We checked out after breakfast and were really sorry to be leaving the beautiful town of Tenby and the fantastic Giltar hotel. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay :-)
We will be back SOON!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We were guests at our friends wedding at the Giltar, 24/3/12 and a lovely relaxed wedding it was. We stopped for 2 nights in room 309 and had a superior room with a sea view and I can tell you it was worth the little extra. The view was fantastic and the weather to die for. breakfast was plentiful and hot. The bedroom was tidy and nicely done out. The staff are really hepful and nothing was to much trouble. Malcolm and Patrick who run the hotel do it to a very high standard.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book a deluxe room with a seaview, sadly there were not any available because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here last January ( 2011) as a short birthday break.

we stayed in a fantastic room with a huge bed and great bathroom the views where amazing , we are planning to come back soon ! Parking is limited but we got a space around the back of the hotel fine,

short walk to the pubs and centre !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked The Giltar Hotel for our wedding on 14th January 2012....and were not dissapointed. The whole day from start to finish was just amazing....the staff were polite, friendly and very attentive and the attention to detail for the wedding decorations was faultless. The hotel was spotless...and our room was fantastic!! Our wedding breakfast, our evening buffet, breakfast the morning after....and Sunday lunch were all delicious. Whether you are looking for a hotel....a wedding venue....or for Sunday Lunch...or for a any special occasion...I would reccommend the Giltar Hotel every time....great staff, great hotel, and fantastic for making your day perfect!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

On March 10th Ladies Circle hosted a charity lunch at the Giltar Hotel. I cannot thank the staff enough for all of their help, from doing the table plan & place cards and for providing flowers for the tables. The food was superb and the service excellent. A few of the party stayed overnight and had a great stay. I will recommend anyone to hold a function at the Giltar hotel. I personally have been to weddings and evening functions there and never had a bad experience. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hengoed
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

having booked last miniute as a christmas break for me and my partner we were very impressed
with the standard of room.we stayed in a deluxe room with views that did not disapoint.breakfast was hearty,tasty and plenty of choice,all staff was very welcoming and helpful.with only staying 24 hours at this hotel we decided to book our wedding there and then and can honestly say they made our day just perfect,all the effort hard work and little finishing touches they put in place was exceptional,just wish i could relive it again.
we have booked to go back for our anniversary and can not wait!

Room Tip: book a deluxe room and order sunday lunch,it is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giltar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.