We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pen Mar Guest House

Save Saved
You added Pen Mar Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen Mar Guest House
New Hedges, Tenby SA70 8TL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Tenby B&B and Inns
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to stay, Maria and Nigel were out supporting my wife and all the other athletes who were competing in Ironman Wales till late at night. Fantastic support even prepared breakfast at 4am for those competing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a fabulous 4 nights at the Pen Mar where we were looked after excellently. Fabulous hosts and a great breakfast to see you on your way each morning!. TV in room as well as comfortable lounge. Small bar open in evening!
Rooms very clean and good value!
Will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Simply let the owners know what you are looking for! They have a couple of rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were visiting from the U.S. and arrived in Tenby without reservations or even a clue where to stay. We dropped in at the Pen-Mar Guest House and they had a room available.

Maria and Nigel got us checked in and gave us a lot of information on sites to see in the area. Very friendly people.

Clean, comfortable and quiet, located close to Tenby proper, this is a B&B we would stay at again.

Nigel cooks a great breakfast too!

Room Tip: We had the twin room which was a bit small. For a couple, be sure to make a reservation and get a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Maria and Nigel where fantastic. I would never stay anywhere else in Tenby due to them being such fantastic hosts and the BnB being so clean and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic and accommodated everyone's need. No request was too hard here. For any Ironman participants this is not only a great location for the event but Maria and Nigel go well out their way to help you out with 4am breakfasts, amazing support, and generally helping you out post event with bike storage when all you want to do is sleep. We stayed for 3 nights and will be returning soon. In my previous job I stayed in 5stars all around the world(event management) this place is well placed in my top 3 purely because of the unexpected value the hosts added to my stay. Thank you too you both. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

First impressions of Pen Mar were not dissapointing, we were welcomed by Maria, who made us feel instantly at home. Making the effort to take our first names and remembering them all weekend too, along with the other guests made it a lovely personal stay.

We had two double rooms and both were good size rooms. Very clean and looked after.

As well as great service, the breakfast was lovely and cooked to order for four vegetarian guests. We ate well and went out a full tummy everyday.

The location is great, not a far walk and very quick in the car. Both Maria and Nigel were extremely helpful, offering advice on what attractions to visit and even printing off our tickets for the blue lagoon.

All guests in our party were happy and we will most certainly be returning!

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommeding the Pen Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed two nights over the Bank Holiday with our two grandchildren. The room which was clean and fresh was an en-suite family room consisting of one double bed and bunk beds for the children. There were tea and coffee making facilities, tea, coffee and biscuits left fresh each day...nice touch for when you get up in the morning or get in late at night. Plenty wardrobe and drawer space and TV, hair-dryer and complementary washing/shower items in the room.
Breakfast was very good...lots of choice of cereals, fruit and fruit juices, hot tea and freshly brewed coffee followed by a full cooked English breakfast and an abundance of toast.
The Pen Mar is very close to lots of fun places to visit. Two theme parks are nearby, one for younger children and one for all the family at very reasonable prices. The beach and Tenby centre are less than 10 minutes away by car as is Saundersfoot in the opposite direction.
Well done Maria and Nigel the hosts of the establishment for providing a lovely stay for all your customers. Your knowledge of the area and your friendly approach helped make our few days with you very enjoyable. Really nice B&B will definitely stay again when we are down that way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the family room. First of all can I just say how lovely the hosts were Maria and Nigel. The warmest welcome we have ever received at a guest house. The room was spotless, the breakfast was lovely and the location was fab. Will definitely be returning. My girls loved it there especially the bunk beds. Would recommend highly to anyone! What more can I say we'll done Maria and Nigel keep doing what you do! The jones family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pen Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mar Guest House

Address: New Hedges, Tenby SA70 8TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run guest house, ideally set between Tenby and Saundersfoot in the beautiful Pembrokeshire National Park. Most rooms en-suite, all with colour tv, hospitality tray and hairdryer. We also have a comfortable lounge with TV, DVD and video, a licensed bar, car park and secure storage for bikes and sports equipment. Stunning scenery, fantastic beaches, castles galore and activity parks are all within a few minutes drive. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pen Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mar Guest House Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Mar Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.