We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Esplanade to your Saves list
The Esplanade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our third visit to this family-run hotel overlooking Tenby's South Beach and just outside the town walls. A dog-friendly hotel with welcoming owners. Very clean rooms (lots of tea & coffee) and an excellent breakfast - what more could you ask for?

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
70
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Searching the internet for a place to stay with a Springer spaniel in Tenby for one night we found the Esplanade. Moreover, what a find, location is perfect, right by the walled town with a sea view. The room was more than adequate for one night with a price that was very good indeed.
The breakfast was first-rate better than one we had a couple of weeks earlier in a corporate 4 star hotel in Bristol. The decor and quality of furnishings of this 4 Star Guest Accommodation is excellent. Well worth a visit if you have a dog or not.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We only stayed for one night as it was our anniversary. We were upgraded to a very nice room with a four poster bed and lovely see views.
The room was well decorated and comfortable. A beautiful bathroom and lovely fluffy towels.

Very good breakfast in the morning.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I can honestly say you wouldn't find better, the hotel was comfortable, the family room was huge, beautiful view and location. Amazing breakfast, really set us up for the day. Nothing too much, we were made to feel very welcome, wouldn't hesitate to recommend

Room Tip: Sea view room was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here last year and found the couple who owned the hotel very friendly and helpful. We had a sea front bedroom, which is definately worth booking as the view was just beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and they catered for our 3 year old daughter very well! I just wish they had their own car park, but this is only a small problem really as everything else was great and we would definately like to return.

Room Tip: Book a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

we stayed here for the weekend .very cosey. our room was comfortable and bathroom nice. although the deco was a little dated. and walls a little thin! the breakfast was very good, freshely cooked and boiling and plenty of choice. the lady that runs it was very freindly and helpfull. very central to everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just returned from a special birthday weekend at the hotel with a group of my oldest friends. It was a special 60th birthday for 2 of them. The hotel was warm and the lady on reception was welcoming. A lovely family room, spacious with a lovely sea view. Lovely comfy beds and pillows. Room 17. The hotel is a little tired but the owners are putting in new carpets etc. A lovely breakfast nothing too much trouble for them. The location of the hotel is great. Right on the front but adjacent to the town. We will return to see you. Thanks and good luck for your future.

Room Tip: Get a sea view well worth it when you get up in morning and take your first look out......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Address: 1 The Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#9 Family Hotel in Tenby
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.