We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A four day break @ this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarence House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Clarence House Hotel to your Saves list
The Clarence House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Tenby, SA70 7DU, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
bromsgrove
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A four day break @ this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

l was one of six of an advance party of walkers staying at the clarence house hotel for 3 nights
and 4 days. Penny and her staff gave not only a very warm welcome but were helpful in every
way. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff be they reception or dining room. The
food was good and plentiful and there was always a choice. Along with 80 other walkers l am
already looking forward to returning in April to revisit this warm and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: select a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    89
    36
    16
    19
See reviews for
36
70
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Don't look further that the Clarence Hotel if you want to bring a group and enjoy a great time. Very warm welcome, staff couldn't do enough for you, and rooms spotless. Food excellent, beautiful linen, and waitresses both efficient and so happy. This hotel is both organised and everyone wants you to have the best possible stay.Very well run indeed.
Only down side was the dreadful draft from the bitter winds seeping into the bedrooms in the front making them cold, but management provided small heaters on request. When we left the central heating radiators were being installed, so problem will be solved.! Entertainment on Friday was excellent,but on Saturday , Jamie was awful. Not at all suited to older people and very, very loud.. We apologised for the mass exodus from the bar that evening, but took advantage of the beautiful lounge, and it's comfy chairs.
All in all, a lovely hotel, unsurpassed views, very good food, and brilliant staff, and I would have no hesitation on bringing my group back here again.! Well done!!
P.S. Musn't forget Hubert, who is an asset to the hotel, with his somewhat quirky stories, and unique style, but a must to have as a tour guide whilst you are staying there.!!!

Room Tip: Just be aware in the colder seasons , because it is a listed building, the windows cannot be change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludgershall
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we have just spent a week at the Clarence Hotel .A good time was had by all.We all go each year on a holiday in Feb in our party is six.the food was great the staff was brill.We all have had a great time and a good laugh.Also a big thankyou to Hurbert you where a great laugh and made our trips out so interestining.A big happy birthday for Hurbert for next week

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a great Monday untll Friday break we went on the break with Saffords coaches from Great Gransden Bedfordshire our coach was driven by Philip an excellent driver ,At the hotel we had a very warm welcome .Our room was clean comfy and warm ,after putting our things away we went down to the reception area for a glass of wine .and had a look at the itinery. We had gone with eight friends The food was excellent ,the staff were great ,evening entertainment was very good ,we had an excellent view from our room looking at Caldy island ,The weather was lovely and bright although a bit on the cold side ,still after all it was November .On our excursions out we were accompanied by no less than Hubert ! what an amazing character ,he pointed out places of interest and took us to the Welsh spoon makers and also Aunty Vi s teashop ,thank you Hubert ,i m glad you enjoyed the champagne and strawberry cup cake all the best Colin and Pauline Arnold room 112

Room Tip: our first floor room was excellent although over the top of reception it was not noisy .however room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Clarence for turkey and tinsel weekend with friends. The location was excellent and would have been lovely if the weather had been kinder. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and the staff were very polite and efficient. The breakfast and meals were good and very efficiently served - the waitresses were almost running! The room was clean although not luxurious but more than adequate for the price charged. Happy hour and free drinks hour were a nice surprise as well as the entertainment. We would not hesitate to return to the Clarence at a future date and would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed with twelve friends for two nights, and didn't realize it was a turkey and tinsel weekend.The hotel is in a seventies time warp, but can't be faulted for its position on the south
beach side of Tenby. The views across to Caldy Island would be priceless if the weather is good.
The rooms are on the cozy side but, comfortable. I did find the shower room rather on the tight side and in ours only a small wash basin. Our other friends had larger basins, but actually in the bedroom. Tea, coffee in room but no biscuits. It was very good value for its position near the town. The staff were very good ,and friendly. Breakfast was cereals,full cooked,toast etc.
Very nice. Very acceptable for £35 per person per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

What a brilliant weekend!!! Stayed at the Clarence with my wife and friends for the Turkey and Tinsel weekend only sorry we did not book for 3nights. Rooms were very clean and all the staff were brilliant.
On arrival on Friday we were quickly allocated our rooms and seing that we were a large party it was dealt with very professionally.
Friday night was Christmas Eve and party night, good entertainment with a few surprises added on (by our group) I think that everybody enjoyed the night.
Saturday night we were visited by Father Xmas and of course another party night again a little extra surprises (by our group again) hopefully enjoyed by all, maybe not so much by the artist, but it did need livening up.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and look forward to going back again next year.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Tenby, SA70 7DU, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#13 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 star hotel. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. WE ARE CURRENTLY UPGRADING OUR WIFI TO INCLUDE ALL AREAS OF THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarence House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.