We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasn't Changed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Lion Hotel
| North Beach, Tenby SA70 7EX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 25 hotels in Tenby
Wales
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hasn't Changed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Second time staying here. It's adequate, price is the same for most hotels and B & B's in Tenby. The place needs some real competition to force the standards up. There is no investment in the building or fit out which says it all. I guess times are tough. However I was disappointed with the breakfast which after all only takes effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    17
    25
    29
See reviews for
7
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A group of us stayed & were made welcome. Comfortable rooms, almost all with beach/ sea views, if looking a little tired. Catering is good and the bar open late. A close walk to beaches, albeit fairly steep paths, but considered suitable for wheelchairs - just. Plenty of activity inc. bars & shops (mostly gift type) in very close proximity.

Room Tip: Request a room with bay window for most panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

When i booked this hotel last minute i hadn't thought about checking the reviews as with every other hotel i have booked in tenby i haven't bothered and had a fantastic experience. After reading the reviews on here i was put off to say the least and dreading the thought of entering this run down, outdated and tired hotel.
When i arrived at the hotel i tried to turn into the car park of the hotel which is about 20 yards from the hotel and behind the royal playhouse cinema to find it was surround by construction fencing and the car park was not in use as they are building a premier inn hotel next door which was a bit of an inconvience as it was hammering down and blowing a gale at the time.
I sent my partner into the hotel and they said to park in the rail station which was a pound for 24 hours and is under cctv aswell as only being a 5 minute walk to the hotel although getting drenched on the way weren't great but i didn't let it get me down as i was in tenby after all.
We entered the hotel and found the reception clean, colorful and full of character, the only bad thing was rain dripping through the window which is acceptable as they are old windows and it was raining heavily and blowing a gale aswell as the hotel bearing the elements on the seafront for all those years. The receptionist was also the barman of the bar adjoining the hotel which was unusual but it didn't bother me and he was very friendly and informative.
We entered our room and were looking for faults straightaway thanks to all the negative comments and found just the one and it's not even worth mentioning. Everything was clean, fresh towels, hd tv with no disruption and no pubic hair in the bathroom plus hot water and a comfortable bed! Also the doors entering to the room were about 15 foot high and looked amazing. The view from the room was outstanding and we were only on the first floor.
The breakfast wasn't great but we were very hungover at the time and all in all it was a very enjoyable stay. Me and my partner are both in our 20's and we would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Okay , Its right on the seafront ...... But car parking is a walk away ..... The room was clean enough but tired . As far as the food goes .... dont bother ! Breakfast was what you could describe as ample .... just . And The bar menu ? Very poor like the food . I had Lasagne hoping it was home made . No such luck . Wont be booking this one again .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Spent Two nights b&b here breakfast great food was good room 201 brilliant view , tea coffee making facilities room is a bit dated and could do with some Tlc staff friendly . No car park , parking either at the rail station or multi story by sainsburys both do 24 hour parking sainsburys nearest about 5 minutes through old town walls drop bags off first .
Would stay again , but hotel could be so much more with some Tlc

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

brilliant location, a couple of hundred yards from the centre. The views from the rooms are amazing. Food in the bar downstairs is very good. Only problem is it needs redecorating. We found the rooms clean, the staff we all very helpful. We have stayed there several times

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hotel on the sea front possibly one of the best locations in Tenby, hotel itself is a little old fashioned but my room (302) was clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the beach and harbour, the staff at the hotel we fantastic and very helpful, I was part of a group visiting on motorcycles and they had off road parking 25 metres from the hotel next to a derelict cinema, four of us all guys stayed in the bar and had a meal there, food was good and the bar was well stocked. The breakfast in the morning was lovely with thick back bacon and nice sausages, all in all I found my night at the royal lion a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lion Hotel

Address: | North Beach, Tenby SA70 7EX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royal Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Tenby
Royal Lion Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.