We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heywood Mount

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heywood Mount to your Saves list
Heywood Mount
Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Lifton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a delightful four night break here over Spring Bank Holiday. The hotel management and staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. From booking through to departure, we got first class service. All public rooms were immaculate and bedrooms very comfortable and well appointed.

The food at breakfast and dinner was delicious and plentiful. It was great to have breakfast 'cooked to order' rather than having to help ourselves to a buffet. The chef even cooked us curry on a couple of nights because we were due to leave before 'Curry Night' itself! The 'Steak Night' was excellent value and it is a long time since I have tasted such a delicious and well cooked rump steak, at such a good price. It is clearly popular with locals too.

It was lovely that the hotel was full (rare these days) with other families and couples - resulting in a very nice atmosphere. I must say all the children were very well behaved and we enjoyed good company in the dining room and bar every evening. The owners did everything possible to enhance our stay. The hotel is situated in a lovely area, away from the town but close to beaches and all local amenities for children. (Our 11 year old son enjoyed various activities recommended by the hotel, including Heatherton, which we thought good value).

We were particularly appreciated the assistance and extra facilties provided for my elderly disabled mother (though in our opinion, the hotel does need a disabled room with walk in shower on the ground floor). That said, she thoroughly enjoyed her stay, as did we all. We would love to go back again!

Room Tip: Speak directly to the hotel about your specific requirements, especially if disabled. They have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    87
    33
    12
    12
See reviews for
64
183
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff, especially Carol were extremely welcoming and friendly and always happy to give assistance. We stayed in a really lovely ground floor room with outside garden area with table and chairs. The room had good facilities including a fridge, iron & ironing board, safe, CD radio alarm. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable.
We made good use of the pool and jacuzzi and towels were provided free of charge.
The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent and the food and service was better than in some of the restaurants in the town, and keenly priced. Breakfast was also good.
Really good, safe car park and the hotel was in a lovely residential area which felt safe and quiet, even at night. We walked back from Tenby late at night with our ten year old and felt safe.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a garden overlooking indoor pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel we were made to feel at ease as soon as we walked through the reception door. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and we felt as though we were old friends rather than paying guests. The room was more than adequate and very clean. We had a slight problem with the fridge in our room but that was replaced immediately. Our only gripe was that the shower was over the bath rather than in a separate cubicle, but the quality of the shower more than made up for this. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room and there was a good sized safe for any items that needed to be locked away. The restaurant was excellent with a good selection of breakfast items. We had a steak dinner on the Tuesday evening and this was one of the best we have ever had, cooked to our liking. The young lady receptionist (Lindsey) was very helpful and very friendly and although we didn't get to use the leisure facilities they looked very good through the window. We were told that they were going to be refurbished. Upon departure, we wished that we could have stayed for longer and were quite sad to leave. A big thank you must go to all management and staff for making our stay a memorable one for all the right reasons and we look forward to staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views of the local area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Set in a quiet area out from the town in a country lane. Very warm & friendly staff, extremely helpful & obliging. Accommodation is well equipped with flat screen T.V. choice of beverages, seating area, fridge & air con. Found fan in bathroom, air con & fridge rather noisy preventing a good nights sleep. Decor is a bit tired in places and lacking investment such as Spa area only 1 shower with no soap & toilet is outside changing room. Bar food is well presented and decent quality & good choice, nice area to relax but not very practical for eating as tables are too low. Breakfast unusual setup, you choose from a menu, you need to order all in one go as no help yourself, otherwise you have to keep asking. Choice a bit limited compared to other 4 star hotels stayed in. Room rate quite expensive for standard & facilities. Stayed twice now once with a young child, once as a couple, both times very accommodating, great with children.

Room Tip: Rooms behind reception have outside seating areas, nice in warm weather. Larger rooms have extra bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Arrived at the hotel for a long weekend ,staff courteous .and friendly room very nice.
restaurant food very good evening meal and breakfast.
Only problems, possibly not there fault as the previous guest had not told them, bed needed a repair, toilet leaking, fuse box loud buzzing kept us awake in fairness the bed and toilet were sorted asap, but my main gripe was we were not told about a wedding taking over the hotel so we could not use the restaurant or facilities and as with all wedding do's the evening got quite noisy.
In all not bad just wish we had known about the wedding so we could have booked a less noisey period..

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed May Bank Holiday 2013 3 nights. The hotel was just the job for our first time ever trip to Tenby area. Stayed with my Husband, Son and Daughter-In-Law. We arrived on Saturday around 12 noon. Not expecting to be allowed to check in we went to reception to ask if we could just park the car until we could check in. To our surprise the receptionist said the rooms were ready (20 & 21) so we could go straight up. A real bonus for us after a 4 1/2 hour journey and what a good start. We were very greatful..... It meant we could unload and head straight for town and a spot of lunch. Which we did. The rooms were very comfy with king size beds and all the usual facilities. Tea/coffee TV ect. Our room had a shower only but that was fine, it was lovely. My Son and daughter-in-Law had bath/shower. Breakfasts were also very good, in fact too good for my apetite, after the first morning I had to order less for breakfast. There was plenty on offer and I am sure if there wasn't anything that took your fancy, the staff would accommodate your requirements if they could. All the staff were extremely helpful, from checking in to departing. The jacuzzi/pool was most welcome, relaxing and enjoyable after a full day walking too. I cannot comment on the evening meals as we dined out each night, with friends from the area. In all other aspects we throughly enjoyed our stay, it very comfy and hospitable. If there is a down side to this hotel it is the short steep walk back from the town, especially when, like us,you have just been out for the day on a long walk. That particular evening we drove into town to save our legs from completely buckling under us. Otherwise it takes approx 10-15 mins. stroll into Tenby. The hotel is in a quiet area but the road can be busy. The exit from the hotel onto the road is blind, so it could really do with a safety mirror, as it can be quite dangerous trying to get out. We saw one guy get out of his car and stand in the middle of the road to direct the driver onto the road safely. Good idea as it stands at the moment. All in all we had a wonderful time for our first trip to Tenby (weather of course did help) and was in no way dissapointed with either the hotel or the wonderful area. Thank you Heywood for making our experience a good one. We will be back !!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 22 just above the bar area up one flight of stairs but we did not suffer from any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Me & My wife stayed in this lovely hotel on the 5th may for 1 night the staff were very freindly & most welcoming.. The pool and juccuzi were an added bonus & at no extra cost and we informed them it was our anniversery & they upgraded us to the bridal suit free of charge which had a jucczi bath big enough for both of us & a very comfy 4 poster bed. it's safe to say we'll be returning.
Kieran & Kelly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heywood Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Mount

Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#8 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heywood Mount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby, Wales
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heywood Mount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.