We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend at the Heywood Mount” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heywood Mount

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heywood Mount to your Saves list
Heywood Mount
Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend at the Heywood Mount”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a weekend break and on arrival, found staff to be very friendly and welcoming. There was ample space for parking at the front of the hotel. We were shown round the hotel after checking in and also to our room by the staff.

The room was comfortable with a safe, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and heating/ air con. The room also had a balcony which would be lovely when staying in the summer and overlooked the hotel gardens. The bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful. We found the room to be very clean and although the safe had been locked by a previous guest, the hotel quickly sorted this out for us on our arrival to the room.

The hotel has a pool, sauna and although I couldnt comment on these facilities as we didnt have the time to use them. There was also a reading room and our stay included breakfast which was a menu service- we were unsure if it was possible to have a variety of things from the menu so stuck to cooked breakfasts which we really enjoyed.

The only issue we had was that the hotel was a slight way out from the town centre although this was not too much of an issue. It was about 15 minutes walk although this was downhill and then uphill so felt longer! We paid £4 for a single fare by taxi in the evening which we felt was worth the money between us rather than the trek back to the hotel in the cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    87
    33
    12
    12
See reviews for
64
183
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our daughter bought us a one night stay at Heywood Mount as a Christmas gift through KGB Deals. The deal included a three course evening meal and a room with a four poster bed plus all the trimmings. All staff were very friendly and helpful (reception and restaurant). The food was excellent and the portions were plentiful. The seafood chowder as a starter was described as a cup of chowder, but I received a soup plate instead, which seriously challenged my appetite. I had to leave some to allow room for the sea bass main course, which was two large fillets beautifully cooked. The creme brulee was very good. The room was disappointing (a bit tired), the radiator was not connected, so no heating!! No shower (but a nice jacussi bath), no robes (these were listed in the voucher details). Difficult to view the TV while in the four poster bed. Mix up with the bill, they forgot to charge for wine, but charged for bar drinks we did not have. It was a nice break.

Room Tip: Make the most of the restuarant, the food is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked on a special offer and were amazed at the bargain we had. Breakfast was 1st class, we did not have the evening meal due to the restaurant being fully booked, this was not a problem as we ate in a lovely restaurant in Tenby recommended by the wonderful lady on reception. A taxi to town is incredibly only £3. Nothing was too much trouble.
We walked to town and then onto Saundersfoot but please note this is a hard hilly walk although well worth it, just catch the bus back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at the Heywood mount for three nights with my other half. Firstly I would like to commend all their staff I met for going the extra mile and making us feel welcome. Sadly this didn't ease some of the other issues. The room we were given had some issues which were obvious the second we walked in. The bathroom towel radiator sounded like a whistling kettle and was clearly going to be too noisy even with the bathroom door shut to sleep with. The aged power shower over the bath had some of the poorest water pressure I have ever come across. The toilet obviously hadn't been properly cleaned from the last rather poorly guest. After stating my issues very politely to the gentleman on reception he instantly took offence to me requesting another room and suggested there are no other rooms and I'll have to put up with it until he can get a plumber out to look at it the next day. The bar and resturant although a little dated were clean. I wouldn't class myself or partner as big eaters and the food although well cooked could not be classed as four star and was of such small portions we were left hungry. My partner and I are freelance hotel and venue finders for the corporate word but sadly we won't be adding this hotel to our recommended list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Me and my partner recently stayed for 3 nights on A KGB deal. From the moment we checked in to when we checked out, we were made to feel totally at ease. The room was excellent, the food superb and the service wonderful.

Basically, it cannot be faulted !

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from a stay at this hotel on a KGB deal. For the price we paid it was a good stay and worth doing, however, I certainly would not pay their usual rates. The hotel itself is in desperate need of a refurb. Our room was ok, however, I do not call two hard single beds pushed together a double, it was very uncomfortable. We also had an old box tv which gave a blue tint to the screen, usually not a problem, but because of the bad weather we did wish to take cover in our room and enjoy entertainment on the television. Our bathroom also a disappoinment with a broken toilet seat and a crack along the bathtub making it appear very worn certainly not to a 4* standard. We dined in the restaurant on our first night, the food was good and the waiting staff superb, although a bit of confusion with paying our bill. Again a few cosmetic problems, base table cloths were all different sizes making the restaurant look messy, along with wrongly paired salt and peppers on the tables. These are ofcourse minor issues, however, I believe it makes the restaurant look untidy and unprofessional. We had breakfast in our room both mornings. Food was very average, although a good selection. Orange juice didn't arrive on our second morning but saw no need to phone back up and request it, and I am aware of the low price we paid for our two night bed and breakfast stay. All in all I am afraid we would not return unless there was a refurb or possibly a similar deal to stay in a nicer room and see if it changes our opinions and experience. I would however like to thank the welcoming and helpful staff who made the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as part of a kgb deal, the hotel and staff were faultless, Perfect room, spacious, comfy bed, spotlessly clean, lovely verandah if needed and weather more suitable. We planned on dining out in Tenby, but the meal the first night was excellent, so we dined in the hotel for the full 3 nights. Excellent food and choice. The staff were amazing, friendly and helpful, they always had time for the guests. Would highly recommend. Tenby town centre was a 20minute walk away, but well worth the walk in the day, plenty of places in the surrounding area. We were in an eco bubble, the weather was brilliant, cold but dry, whilst the rest of UK was suffering snow storms and heavy rain. There was a spa nad small swimming pool, we did not use it but others did and said it was excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms were perfect, it is one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heywood Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Mount

Address: Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8DA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#8 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heywood Mount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Mount Tenby, Wales
Heywood Mount Hotel Tenby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heywood Mount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.