We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great take away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Lower Frog Street, Tenby SA70 7HZ, Wales
01834843557
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 88 Restaurants in Tenby
Cuisines: Chinese, Cantonese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great take away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a really good take away, wasn't busy, very quickly cooked. The scallops were a welcome change to the usual chinese menu and tasted fantastic. A little more expensive than most take aways.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    8
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Take Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Tasty although a little slow to cook so best phone ahead.
You can't park outside so try along the castle walls for a short walk.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a birthday meal while I was visiting tenby and it is the best Chinese food I have had in a Long while the food turned up hot and the service was wonderful, really good value for money and would recommend it to anyone who fancies a Chinese meal while in tenby x

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the wait, probably”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited Chinatown on Easter Saturday evening and just managed to get in without booking.

The menu is reasonably extensive. Our order was taken without too much delay and we chose soups, rice and two main courses. Prawn crackers turned up quickly.

On this evening (Easter Saturday), the restaurant seemed extremely busy with customers at the take away counter, phone orders (hour and a half wait for delivery we heard the staff saying) and in the restaurant. So it seemed a bit chaotic and we did start to get concerned about when our food would arrive, especially as a second bowl of prawn crackers turned up!

Luckily, just before we got too twitchy, the soup arrived and made the wait worthwhile if not excused. The main course arrived without too much delay and was well flavoured, well cooked and generous in size. I'm sad to say that there was so much that we had to leave some of this great food, but I think you can take left-overs away.

The restaurant is pleasantly furnished and separated from the take-away counter by a door. The staff were staying friendly in the midst of what felt like organized-chaos and I admire them for that.

Because of the food, I'll forgive the delays and say that it is a good Chinese restaurant that I'd be happy to go back to (on a quieter night, maybe!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The worst Chinese food we have had!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We chose this Chinese as recommended by our hotelier. What a disappointment! Ribs to start were fatty and tasteless. Main meal was awful even the rice was tasteless and greasy. It has to be the worse meal we have ever had and threw it in the bin. There obviousley cant be much competition in Tenby. To top it off we were severley sick all night. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.