We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Penally, Tenby SA70 7PY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Totnes Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and having read the reviews beforehand, thought it sounded perfect. I don’t like to air any grievances, unless it’s something major, while I’m on holiday as it just makes bad feeling and I’d much rather get on with my holiday and then leave a review afterwards. It’s definitely a lovely old building with lots of features and the garden is also lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I can’t fault the excellent breakfast. The new owners have not been there long and said they have a plan of refurbishments coming up which are definitely needed as the décor and some of the furnishings are looking a bit tired. Although we had a lovely big room with a good sea view, it had a musty smell which was worse every time we opened the large old wardrobe. I put a black shirt on a shelf in the wardrobe and it came out with dust on it. There was a bit too much dust in other places for my liking and I also wasn’t keen on all the little spiders in their webs in the corners of the bathroom ceiling. The shaver point didn’t work and there was only one bulb in the two lights above the bathroom mirror. When I made our booking on booking.com it said the hotel had an indoor swimming pool but we found on arrival that the pool had been closed and it’s now full of rubble which was slightly annoying. I suffer with a bad knee and one of the reasons I booked was so I could do a bit of swimming. (The pool has now been removed from the hotel description but too late for us). Although free wifi is advertised, we only managed to get a connection once during our stay which was also a bit annoying as we like to look up places of interest when we’re staying somewhere. This should really be advertised as “very limited” as wifi is a necessity for some people. Also if I’m going to be really picky, when staying in a peaceful and tranquil hotel like this it would be nice if the staff didn’t start hoovering until breakfast was finished. I’m sure the new owners will make a good job of restoring this hotel but at a whopping £188.00 a night for b&b, even for a large room with a sea view, I expected a little more and I came away feeling rather disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well if I had listened to that negative review down the page ,I would of missed out on the best over night stay we've ever had . Room was stunning , owners and staff so lovely and accommodating , food was loverly , everything was stunning ! , We didn't want to come home ,,, I've started advertising this stay to my friends all over the country ! They are new owners and I wish them every success , I loved Melanie one of the owners such a loverly warm hearted welcoming lady . Thank u xxx

Sara and Neil x

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we had a wonderful warm reception and decided to have pre dinner drinks in the beautiful garden overlooking Caldey Island. The Sunday Lunch was superb, the service exceptional and great value for money. I cant think of a more relaxing and tranquil setting in the whole of Pembrokeshire to either stay or eat, thank you to all the staff for giving us a super day

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very relaxing four day stay. Intelligent new family owners were a pleasure . Staff always available but never intrusive. Our second stay in this lovely rambling Abbey full of nooks and crannies. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked . Dinner is reasonably priced and wonderful . We dined on all four evenings and were always pleasantly surprised. Well done Nathan and his kitchen team. Will visit again .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very elegant building and surroundings, quite easy to find, parking is ok, the room in the coach house park was very nice, amazing super king bed, fantastic sleep, the main house was very elegant and staff very polite, not cheap mind, we did not have dinner there, the menu was as to be expected, good selection but again on the more expensive side.
a little out from Tenby town, a short drive. would stay again. you pay for what you get, on looking for rooms on the bank holiday time, all was booked, being £150 a night this hotel is the last to be booked, breakfast was very nice with views of the sea, breathtaking.

Room Tip: if busy the car park at the rear can be a little tight, an nervous driver might be a little panicked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked three nights with dinner here and paid a premium (£160 b and b) based on some positive reviews on this site. The hotel is in a beautiful building with sea views from the lounge and dining rooms, and despite having to enter the car park through the narrowest entrance ever, first impressions were positive. However our room, number 3, though spacious, was in need of refurbishment, and the bathroom (wonky toilet seat included) even more so. The toiletries were of the cheapest kind, and there was not even a box of tissues or other bathroom items provided. There is a small bar where we were served by someone who didn't seem to know much about the job and gave us drinks with no coasters so they were soon sliding around the table. I asked for a wine list, which they found after a good search, but it was full of predominantly French wines at £30 to £40 plus which seemed expensive for this level of restaurant. The food for dinner was ok, but the crockery, cutlery and glasses were cheap and ordinary and the restaurant lacked the ambience which it ought to have. Service was cheerful if generally unprofessional. Wi-fi was available but only worked within a few yards of reception.
We voiced our concerns to the new owners who seemed to agree with some of them, though to date they have not implemented any changes.The hotel definitely has the potential to be a lovely place but as yet does not justify the high prices charged.

Room Tip: Our room was large with a comfy bed but had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biff60, Owner at Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Here at Penally Abbey we were all so disappointed to read this review and are so sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. At the time of your visit we had been in residence for just a month so this did come as quite a blow. On the morning of your departure nothing was mentioned about your issues with the hotel and service and your bill was paid without complaint.
We felt it crucially important to honour all existing bookings inherited from the previous owners prior to undertaking any noisy renovations and alterations to the building. Furthermore, it is currently peak season and the hotel is full so it would be inappropriate to do so.
To date we have had many extremely positive comments and encouragement for the future so to receive such a negative one such as yours so early on in our ownership certainly makes us sharply aware that not everyone has the same expectations and for this we can only apologise and endeavour to work harder to bring our services and offerings to an even higher level. We will take all your comments on board as constructive and useful for the future.
Re Wifi- as Penally Abbey is an important and historic listed building with extremely thick walls we do admit that Wifi is at times intermittent. However, we are looking into improving this in the near future.
I do feel that it must be said that despite your being very unhappy you were at times unfortunately rude, dismissive and offhand to our staff which we do find a little upsetting. Our staff work very hard to make our guests as comfortable and relaxed as possible during our stay.
With regard to the toiletries when you mentioned the cheapness of them you were offered a selection of our new Floris samples which you accepted.
However, we really hope that we can welcome you here again and that your stay with us will be a much happier one. With warmest wishes to you both from the team at Penally Abbey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a very relaxing short trip experience. The credit goes to the new owners of the place who managed everything really well despite a few temporary glitches. I will give all the credit to the new owners for their kind hospitality, especially, Saskia, Lucas, Melanie and Megan, Patsy in the dining area and of course the very wonderful chefs for providing one of the best dinners. I must admit that everyone took extra care of our 10 month old daughter and all her needs were well looked after from her bedding (very nice and clean travel cot was provided) to her special mini breakfast prepared every morning.

We also want to thank Saskia for guiding us with invaluable information on what extra could be done around during our stay and her advice definitely helped us explore more than we had envisaged.

The rooms were in good condition and spacious, although we are pretty certain that the upcoming refurbishment will improvise it even further with a more charming uplift to this already wonderful place.. We enjoyed our morning breakfasts which were well prepared and delicious to eat. The hotel is also very central and is a perfect abode to explore Pembrokeshire.

We will definitely come back !!

If anyone is going to explore Pembrokeshire or around I highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

Sid

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biff60, Owner at Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thankyou so much for taking time to write a few words about your stay with us. We are all so pleased you had such a great time. All the staff adored your gorgeous little daughter and we can't wait for you all to return so we can see how she's grown!
It's so encouraging for us to have so many positive reviews so early in our ownership so thankyou for that too.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon here at Penally Abbey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7PY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#10 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penally Abbey is a small Country House Hotel and Restaurant situated in an elevated position, adjacent to the the 12th Century church in the pretty floral village of Penally.Penally, is only 1.5mls from the beautiful medieval walled town of Tenby with its cobbled streets, ancient ramparts, picturesque harbour, and long sandy beaches in the heart of the Pembrokeshire Coastal National Park.The 'Abbey' is pretty rather than grand. The rooms are beautifully proportioned and sympathetically decorated and furnished to compliment the style of the building. Unusual features are the large ogee head doors and windows through which one can see views of Tenby Golf Course, Caldey Island and across the bay toward the Gower peninsular.We serve unpretentious food in beautiful surroundings. Our staff are friendly but not too intrusive. Our rooms are warm, clean and comfortable. We are only 800yds from Tenby's South Beach. But most importantly we offer the warmest welcome in Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penally Abbey Tenby
Hotel Penally Abbey
Penally Abbey Hotel And Restaurant Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.