We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivering on every count” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penally Abbey Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Penally Abbey Country House Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penally Abbey Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Penally, Tenby SA70 7PY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Tenby
Emsworth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delivering on every count”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ours was an impromptu 3 night stay, occasioned by the last-minute cancellation of another holiday. We felt in need of some pampering and Penally Abbey delivered on every count.

The hotel is run efficiently and with style by the genial husband and wife team. Our room was spacious and clean; the four-poster bed and 'sink into' leather sofas were very comfortable; there was copious hot water for the bath and shower with fluffy towels and toiletries replaced daily but the highlight was the wonderful food, cooked to perfection by Elleen. There was plenty of choice for each of the courses and a special diet presented no problem. A gluten-free dessert was prepared on the 2nd night which was pronounced 'delicious'.

We have stayed at a number of country house hotels and have always enjoyed the ambience and idiosyncracies that go with the territory. You are unlikely to find travertine tiles and walk-in showers but you should expect comfort and service with a smile and this you will find at the Abbey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    44
    21
    11
    1
See reviews for
46
160
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cenarth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Penally Abbey, is situated in a lovely peaceful village over looking the sea. We have been coming to this hotel for over 16 years and the standard has not dropped. As ever the owners welcome was warm and friendly. The rooms are charming and clean with great views over lovely gardens and looking out to the sea. There are great walks through to Tenby along the beach, there is a golf course close by and the station is a walk away. The dinning room feels romantic and elegant at night, and the food is great and plentiful. The lounge is so cosy a log fire burning and a good book with a pot of tea, on a wet day in winter, lovely. This hotel is really special, If ever we feel the need for a short break we always think of this hotel firs

Room Tip: The hotel is quite and peaceful. Rooms 5,6,7,8 all face the sea and garden, and are lovely and brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neyland, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday in February. It was amazing, nice chilled atmosphere- room 5 has spectacular views food was a delight and the owners were great.. Being local we are always on the lookout to find nice hotels when we can sneek away from the family our search is over we found it !!! Thanks for a great stay see you soon xx

Room Tip: Room 5 - stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband, my four year old daughter and myself have just returned from a two night break at this most amazing hotel.
The first glimpse you have of it sets the scene of peace, quiet, beauty and romance. We were greeted by the owners who remembered every detail about us and where we were from. Our little girl, despite being the only child staying this weekend, was made to feel extra special and welcome rather than a nuisance. They cooked anything at all that she requested and to an incredible standard. Apparently, mummy's pancakes will never be as good!
Our room was perfect. A huge bed for our daughter and an even larger one for us. The views were beautiful and the bathroom a clean, well equipped and 'unique' experience. There was a little set of steps taking you through what initially appeared to be just a mirror....
Food that evening caused only one problem. Every dish on the menu was truly inviting. Our choices proved to be above expectation and the size of the servings rather on the large side. The waitress and waiter were adorable. Polite, helpful and efficient only starts to describe them.
Our sleep was probably the quietest we have ever had in a hotel. The breakfast the following morning was yet again full of choice and cooked to a very high standard.
We then decided on a relaxing day starting with playing snooker. Lovely table and not interrupted once. We then decided that a swim would be lovely in their heated indoor pool. Within five minutes of asking if this was possible the owner uncovered the pool, furnished the private shower room with fresh toiletries and towels and left us to enjoy. Nearly two hours later our daughter finally agreed to leave the water. We had the pool to ourselves the whole time!
We relaxed for a few hours in the lounge area playing scrabble in front of a log fire before dining once again.
As we drove away all three of us were a bit disappointed to be heading home. We love this hotel and will definitely be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend arranged this as a Valentines weekend. Wonderful welcome from the owner of the Hotel and he helped with our luggage to the room and showed us around. He was very friendly and helpful. Such a relaxed and clean venue we decided to stay there the night and eat in instead of venturing into Tenby. What an amazing night!! Food (everything home made) and service was incredible and the log fires were very homely and romantic. We had breakfast the next morning which again was perfect. Everything you could wish for and more!! We checked out at 11 and headed into Tenby town for the day. Definitely recommended and we will certainly go back there again. Thank you Penally Abbey for a splendid weekend :)

Hannah and Rory aged 23

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Wife and I stayed at Penally Abbey country hotel, near Tenby on Valentines night 2013. We had originally booked a one night Dinner, bed & breakfast stay in one of the lodge rooms, but on arrival were met by the extremely helpful and friendly Katrina, who informed us that we had been upgraded to a sea view room - lovely surprise.
The hotel is a magnificent old building that has been beautifully restored and decorated, and set in a quiet location 10 minutes walk from the beach (that forms part of the Tenby south beach).
Food at the hotel was cooked superbly and each lady that attended dinner on Valentines night was presented with a red rose. (special mention must be made of the restaurant staff who were excellent, with especially the Barman / waiter Alex).
The enormous bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept on to date, and
Breakfast was huge, beautifully cooked and set us up for the day. All-in-all an excellent stay which we will be repeating very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Penally Abbey Hotel between 13 - 15th Feb for a valentine getaway, and was blown away by how great the stay was. A warm welcome on arrival, the hotel was beautifully decorated, and kept much of its originality. Excellent food service both mornings and the evening meal on the 14th was exceptional, probably one of the best tasting beef joints I've ever tasted. Calming atmosphere, lush gardens and easily accessible to Tenby, 5 minutes by car, or a 20 minute stroll across the beach.
Looking into booking a summer stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penally Abbey Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penally Abbey Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7PY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#3 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penally Abbey is a small Country House Hotel and Restaurant situated in an elevated position, adjacent to the the 12th Century church in the pretty floral village of Penally.Penally, is only 1.5mls from the beautiful medieval walled town of Tenby with its cobbled streets, ancient ramparts, picturesque harbour, and long sandy beaches in the heart of the Pembrokeshire Coastal National Park.The 'Abbey' is pretty rather than grand. The rooms are beautifully proportioned and sympathetically decorated and furnished to compliment the style of the building. Unusual features are the large ogee head doors and windows through which one can see views of Tenby Golf Course, Caldey Island and across the bay toward the Gower peninsular.We serve unpretentious food in beautiful surroundings. Our staff are friendly but not too intrusive. Our rooms are warm, clean and comfortable. We are only 800yds from Tenby's South Beach. But most importantly we offer the warmest welcome in Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Penally Abbey Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penally Abbey Tenby
Hotel Penally Abbey
Penally Abbey Country House Hotel And Restaurant Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penally Abbey Country House Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.