We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenby Museum and Art Gallery

Tenby Museum and Art Gallery
Castle Hill, Tenby SA70 7BP , Wales
01834 842 809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 things to do in Tenby
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tenby Museum is the oldest independent Museum in Wales.Founded in 1878, Tenby Museum and Art Gallery is situated in part of the medieval castle, overlooking Castle Beach and Caldey Island. Permanent displays include archaeology, geology, the natural, maritime and social history of the town and South Pembrokeshire.The permanent collection included art works by – Augustus John, Nina Hamnett, Edward J. Head, David Jones, John Piper, Kyffin Williams and many others.In the Second Gallery – A programme of frequently changing exhibitions. Please see website for further details.Other attractions include:‘The Story of Tenby Gallery’ tracing the history of Tenby from earliest recorded times, a Victorian Antiquarian’s Study and lots of things for the family to do including activity trails and a CBBC Relic Trail.Facilities Audio ToursCoffee ShopPartial Disabled AccessToilets with baby changing facilities
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“interesting and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

well worth seeing , beautiful views from windows, friendly staff and interesting exhibits. walk round to it from the harbour side passed the bandstand to get the best experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    50
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“art and local history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

small local history museum with some nice pieces and good local paintings
a little jumbled in places, but still worth a look round.RNLI info film interesting.
staff friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“not worth addmission price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This museum seemed in a old fashion time warp. Really tired and nothing that stands out . It is not worth the admission , when one can see Scolten ,for half the price and the wonderfull Welsh museum at st Fagens free, and it takes all day to see everything.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby M, Curator at Tenby Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks to Lottie49 for her review. We are sorry that she found the museum not good value for money and felt that we were stuck in a time warp. All six galleries have enjoyed considerable refurbishment recently, using up to date display techniques and cases as well as 'hands on' items in our archaeology gallery. Our focus is naturally on the history of the town and its people including the social, prehistoric and maritime histories as well as the world renowned art related to the area which includes such artists as Gwen and Augustus John, John Piper, David Jones and John Knapp Fisher to name but a few artists associated with the locality. We are very different in location and function from the more rural Scolton Manor. The National History Museum: St Fagan's is a publicly owned museum whereas Tenby is an independent charity. We would encourage any visitor who is disappointed in any way with the museum to talk to any member of staff about their concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love it... but honestly found it just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It being a small, quirky, independent museum, I really wish I could be more enthusiastic about it.
But I honestly found it just okay. Maybe the exhibitions were a bit eclectic for me. There were a lot of stuff on show, but somehow I can barely remember any... ==''
The gallery had few nice pieces, but I wasn't too keen on most of them. Probably down to personal taste.

This is a great place to spend some time (maybe 1-1.5hr) if it's rainy. Otherwise, I would personally prefer to spend time on some other activity.

I hope my honest personal opinion helps to balance the views a little and maybe manage some prospective visitors' expectations.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our October 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Warm welcome, staff friendly and helpful. History up to recent/modern day - video/film show was very informative and interesting. History of RNLI in Tenby also at the Museum

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenby Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Tenby Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenby Museum and Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.