We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Ironman Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beachcomber B&B to your Saves list
Beachcomber B&B
12 Deer Park | Greenhill Road, Tenby SA70 7LE, Wales (Formerly Deer Park Guest House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Tenby B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Ironman Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked a single room for 3 nights for the Ironman event and could not have made a better choice: Dave deliberately ensures the accommodation is booked out to athletes over race weekend, is a great enthusiast for the race, and fosters a great 'team spirit'. Nothing was too much trouble, from a drive round the technical aspects of the bike course, through 4.20am porridge on race day and a parting gift of Pembrokeshire flags and home-made banana cake. Plus secure bike storage, car parking, and an ideal location within walking distance of Race HQ/transition, the town centre, and the the beach on race day. Plus a blinding cooked breakfast. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited Tenby to take part in Ironman Wales. The whole of Tenby welcomed us, cheered us and made our weekend special. We definitely picked the best room in Tenby. Two minutes from town and, crucially, race HQ and our hosts went out of their way to ensure our success from taking us on a recce of the bike course, getting up at 4am to make us breakfast, holding a competition for the guest who correctly predicted their finish time and a million other little touches which made our weekend. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dave the owner was very helpful and welcoming,breakfast was excellent and the rooms tidy and big enough.near the beach and towneer centre,reasonable rate for a room,I recommend the Deer park.We were attending a wedding at the Gilter hotel right on the sea front which was very nice but I imagine quit expensive so if u are on a Dave's hotel is perfect if u were spending a week in Tenby,I would also recommend Tenby house pub,had a great night there and across the road at the Life Boat pub.

Room Tip: don't really know,my room faced the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is my eleventh visit to Tenby and the first time staying in a B&B. I Wish i had done is sooner. It was a great stay and the breakfast in the morning was unbeatable; especially the mushrooms! The owner Dave has a clear love and passion for this B&B and Tenby as a whole. And it's because of reasons like this, that i will continue to return to Tenby every year. Great place, great B&B, great locals, great fun!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david s, Owner at Beachcomber B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi John ,Thank you for your review. Glad you and the lads had a good holiday .
Hopefully ,see you again next year. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I took our grandchildren 5 yrs and 3 yrs to Tenby and stayed at the Deer Park. Dave was an excellent host and nothing was too much trouble. He made us all feel very welcome and made the children's favourite breakfasts for them. Our own breakfast was beautifully cooked and set us up for the day. There was also a good selection of fruit, yoghurts and cereals available. The bed linen, towels etc were pristine and the beds extremely comfortable. Dave recommended some excellent places to take the children - Folly Farm proved a big hit with them and was a brilliant day out. He also recommended places to eat which were discounted for guests of the Deer Park. He is in the process of renovating the guest house and when the renovations are completed there will be no better place to stay. Would highly recommend the Deer Park for anyone planning a visit to Tenby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david s, Owner at Beachcomber B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi , Thank you for your review.
Having lived in the immediate area for many years we feel that we are able to give you a good range of `to do` options based on your family makeup. This year, Folly Farm has proven to be an excellent day out for all the family ( not just for kids) and very reasonable to enter.
Our DIY plans are moving on and we are planning some works to ALL rooms, with bathroom refitting a priority. We hope to see you next year to give us your thoughts.
Many thanks .Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a great stay in Tenby , aided significantly by the hosts determination that nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were fantastic , including veggie option for my other half , and set us up for the day ahead. Dave was very helpful with information on local information and even lent me his own map and guidebook for an afternoon out. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david s, Owner at Beachcomber B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Nick , Thank you for the review. Hope to see you again next year.
We are thinking of running some guided coastal tours for next year, Castles and Coast ?? We`ll keep you informed .
Dave and Cath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked last minute (literally on the day) and could not have been more chuffed with our choice! After a very long trip to get there, it was great to find somewhere with parking, just over the way from the hotel, in a town where it was soon apparent that parking is at a real premium.
We were met by smiley Dave the owner, who carried our bags up to the room for us whilst we moved the car. The room was spacious and airy and had plenty of storage, as well as a bath with a shower and loads of HOT water.
After going back downstairs on the hunt for food as it was evening, Dave gave us leaflets and recommended lots of places to try. The guest house is literally a 2 minute easy stroll into the lovely town and there are a plethora of eating places nearby.
The road was very quiet at night, so it was easy to get a good nights sleep and the bed was comfy with mountains of pillows.
The following morning at breakfast we mentioned that I was vegetarian and this did not pose a problem at all, with the most delicious homemade vegetarian 'sausages' being provided! It was nice to be able to eat the same tasty cooked breakfast with this alternative rather than something completely different just because you are vegetarian.
During breakfast, Dave enquired after our evening and what our plans were for the day. We mentioned that it would be nice to be out and about but didn't really have any plans. Minutes later, Dave came back to us, armed with maps and suggested a picturesque coastal walk from Manorbier back to Tenby. As it was a gorgeous day, this sounded great and he found out the train times for us (the train station is a 2 minute walk away from Deer Park and there is no train noise) and gave us directions from Manorbier station as well as leaflets for nearby castles if we changed our minds or wanted to add to the day.
That evening we went out to another restaurant Dave had recommended but had a series of mortifying mishaps involving our keys to the room (completely our fault!). Dave was out at the time, but we contacted him as he had left his number on the door for situations such as thus. He called us back immediately and we explained our predicament. As we were going out anyway, he sorted our problem when he returned, which was before us. We had a lovely night but on our return to Deer Park, our second misadventure occurred which involved us not being able to get back in at all! Completely hideous scenario, the poor man was in bed and we were about to disturb him again as we were stuck out on the street. Mortifying, but once again, Dave came to our rescue and could not have been nicer, despite the fact the we had disturbed his evening once and now his sleep! He was ever so lovely about it and saw the funny side to our predicament, despite us inconveniencing him greatly. The following morning, when we sheepishly trooped down for breakfast, Dave again found the situation funny and greatly put us at ease. He even helped us plan an easy alternative trip home to enable us to see more of Wales, highlighting places of interest on the way!
Dave has many grand plans for the future of Deer Park, including a name change so look out for that one. We sincerely wish him all the best, as he is such a lovely man, a very welcoming and caring host, who is genuinely interested in people. It is definitely Dave (and his infinite patience) who makes the place and we had a fantastic trip taking up his recommendations. Thank you Dave. I and S.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david s, Owner at Beachcomber B&B, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Both, Thanks for the review.
No need for sheepishness ; They dont make keys like they used to !!
Glad you had a good break, maybe you can do another leg of the coast path walk next year ?
As for eating out in Tenby, we have negotiated discount deals with a few local restaurants so you can be sure of the best of deals when you eat out.
As for the name change, `The Beachcomber B&B ` is imminent ! Just keep a lookout for our new website .
Many thanks . Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber B&B

Address: 12 Deer Park | Greenhill Road, Tenby SA70 7LE, Wales (Formerly Deer Park Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have six rooms, all en-suite,comprising of: two standard double rooms, one small double room(can be let as a single, a newly renovated triple room (can sleep five with use of the sofa-bed ,a family room which can sleep four and a standard single room. All rooms have the latest flat screen lcd televisions with freeview digital channels. Rates include fresh white towels, complementary toiletries on arrival, tea and coffee tray and a full cooked breakfast with cereals, fruit and locally produced yoghurt. Also catering for those with a vegetarian diet we make our own recipe `Glamorgan sausage` a traditional blend of leeks, cheese and herbs. We also have the benefit of free car parking close-by. Over the coming winter period, rooms and en-suites will be undergoing further improvements. ATTRACTIONS: Ideally situated close to the centre of Tenby town, just outside the town walls. We are in a perfect location to base your stay in Pembrokeshire. The county has an enviable choice of natural, historic and tourist attractions. The Pembrokeshire coast path which bounds the county provides 186 miles of superb walking and forms part of the recently completed Welsh coastal walk,the only one of its kind in the world; dozens of spotlessly clean (many Blue Flag) beaches, numerous castles and historic houses. In addition, nearby there are various tourist attractions including Folly Farm (an interactive family attraction) and Heatherton (multi-activity, including paint balling, go-karting and high wire courses). The town is home to two golf courses - Tenby, a stunning links course and the oldest in Wales and Trefloyne, a parkland course with a totally different character. However long your stay, the Tenby area is sure to fill your break with memorable days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beachcomber B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber B&B Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.