We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very freindly owners and staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddock Inn

The Paddock Inn
Penally, Tenby SA70 7NR, Wales
+44 1834 843783
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 88 Restaurants in Tenby
Cuisines: British, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
“very freindly owners and staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

the wednesday frendship group had our monthly lunch day out with Emma, and JohnPaul, it was a loveely afternoon out. Thanks to all Anne.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    7
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Paddock Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A warm welcome from JP and the staff, we could take out dog inside which is a must for us. Would highly recommend the Paddock Inn if you are staying nearby or just passing through.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penally, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fake Thai food out of the freezer- they have a real oriental chef but still got the food wrong!!!! Bad beer, bad atmosphere, bad bad bad. Shame it's our local

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma T, Manager at The Paddock Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the review, a little dated as I understand the Thai chef left with the rest of the staff & old owners back in October 2012....We are new local managers & since May 2013 we have given the place a new decor, exhibiting artwork & freshened it up...traditional pub grub, no microwave thai dishes & a more relaxing atmosphere & open all year round now, so hopefully you might pop in to your local and enjoy our friendly welcome in the NEW Paddock Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The Paddock....A Bit Of A Wet Haddock!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Oh! Dear...another pub which advertises itself, with a plethora of roadside signage, as "open all day" and catering to families etc etc But when we arrived at 2.30pm on a wet September afternoon rather hungry and looking for a cosy welcome and a spot of late lunch, we were greeted by an attractive but empty bar, and a very pleasant manager/owner who informed us that food was not served before 4pm as it was "out of season"...my hunger was very much in season, but alas was not to be satisfied at the Paddock Inn!!...we were not even offered a sandwich or snack,.....instead we had to make do with a very nice Cornish ale, and left hungry, and rather disappointed with the sad state of hospitality which now sadly pervades the "hospitality" industry generally....why is it so difficult for proprietors to offer to make a sandwich for a hungry guest in a pub these days??...I must be "old fashioned", but I think that the simple things to make a guest happy is what hospitality is all about....as well as making a little extra profit for the proprietor.
On a positive note, the manager was very pleasant, the beer was good and they did have wi-fi too, but that doesn't fill an empty belly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maerdy, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Like a scene from Fawlty Towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A party of six of us visited this pub 24th August 2013 for a meal . Nice looking pub , pleasant welcoming staff but when we ordered our meal it went downhill rapidly . A young lad came and took our order and repeated it back to us and we replied that the order was correct . Two meals came after waiting quite a while plus a minted lamb meal which nobody had ordered . We stated that this was not our order , the waitress was very nice about it and said she would sort it out . After a while she returned again with the minted lamb which as said beforehand nobody had ordered . All this time the other two meals had been sitting on the table because we had been told not to touch them in case they were another table,s order . By this time we were all starving and being diabetic I needed some food . Needless to say I asked the waitress to put my meal in the microwave as by now it was just lukewarm . It came back and was still not hot enough so I gave that to a friend who had ordered the same , I would then wait AGAIN for a hot one . We were not at all surprised when once again the minted lamb returned to our table . What were we to do to just get something to eat ! The order had gone in correctly so what happened to it was a mystery . Needless to say we were in there for about a hour and a half , my husband did get his meal eventually and I left without eating at all because we were still one meal short . The only consolation was that we were only charged half the price but that did not compensate for the sheer frustration we endured . That was the first pub/restaurant I have been into for a meal and left with an empty stomach . Added to that I never want to see minted lamb again !!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paddock Inn also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Paddock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.