We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddock Inn

The Paddock Inn
Penally, Tenby SA70 7NR, Wales
+44 1834 843783
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 86 Restaurants in Tenby
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Total let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Visited the paddock a year ago after a recommendation from a work collegue. Had the sunday carvery which was an outstanding meal with excellent service was made to feel welcome. Finally returned a year later with family to find out had new owners food was horrific nothing home cooked all frozen service was adequate wouldn t recommend eating here totally a waste of time and money

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    7
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highly recommend it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Brilliant food, drink, atmosphere, service, BRILLIANT PRICE!!!
The staff were very friendly steaks are fabulous! All the food is! And it all comes from local butchers and hand made not ping food in the microwave! Found this out when chatting to the owner who is a really nice guy! Would definitely eat there every night if we went back to Tenby!
ONE BAD POINT..... We didn't know about it for the first few days ;) x

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic carvery perfect Sunday lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Visited whilst on a weekend away with friends. Sunday carvery was fantastic, really well cooked and excellent selection of meats and vegetables available. Great value two course option available. Bar staff downstairs very friendly and the guy serving behind the carvery was great at accommodating our picky needs despite being new to the job - thank you! Would definitely recommend to a friend and would visit again if back in the Tenby area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family ate there on several occasions and each time were made welcome by the friendly and helpful staff. The first time we ate there the staff were busy but still had time to make us feel welcome. The Manager came over and introduced himself, which he did with quite a few customers. The food came and was surprised how big the servings were, in fact we couldn't quite eat the whole meal. He mentioned that if we wanted a Sunday Carvery, we should book a table as he could see my father would not have been able to climb the stairs to the main restaurant. A table had been reserved downstairs and Jackie came over and went through the menu etc and brought the meal to our table. The Pork was sliced thick and was very succulent, a good choice of vegetables, potatoes etc. The Roast Beef could have been done a little more as it was too pink in places for my partner. We ate there again later in the week and had the Ribs, again the amount of food on the plate was far too much for us to eat but the Ribs were succulent and covered well in a beautiful sauce. The Steak my partner had was done to his liking and had a great taste. Food is good value for money and we were not disappointed. So for good food, friendly and welcoming staff, next time you visit Tenby try The Paddock Inn Restaurant, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mmmm Maybe once but not again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Didn't have a very good start really as got given change from £30 when in actual fact it should have been £40. Got quite excited by the menu as on 1st glance there seemed so much choice. I went for the "spitroast" chicken which ended up being deep fried, the chips which were advertised as "chunky chips" were nothing more than (or not even as nice as) Aunt Bessies and the creamy peppercorn sauce was so thick and black you stand a knife in it. Another one of the party had onion rings served in batter that was wayyyy under cooked and one of the salad bowls given to us had a chunk taken out of it!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paddock Inn also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Paddock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.