We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old fashionned hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fourcroft Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fourcroft Hotel to your Saves list
Fourcroft Hotel
North Beach, Tenby SA70 8AP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful old fashionned hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Love our stop over inTenby, the hotel has a beautiful view of the beach, has a proper gate to go down and a garden terrace so cute to chill out. the rooms big enough for a family with 2 daughters, WI FI, tv, lovely swimming pool, nice guy from the hotel in this area to give us advices. staff were very kind, nice and friendly with us. The Welsh breakfast was unique...to recommend!!! no parking but we could found in front of the road a space to park.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view and ask for a parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    55
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
69
70
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A hideous rip-off. We booked online, £130 a night for double room, the outside looked nice, we were expecting the Grand Hotel – it turned out to be only a large B&B. Creaky stairs, narrow corridors with red carpet and green walls, exposed conduit runs and old basic fluorescent lights. The lift started at the half landing up from the ground floor – so you had to walk up a flight of stairs to get to it – and stopped at the half landing between first and second floors, then last stop on the top floor. The doors to the rooms were plain painted old flat-faced doors, with cheap aluminium handles and a Yale lock – the old kind, fixed on the inside of the door, slam the door to lock. The bedroom floor was sloping (hence also the bed); the en suite had been carved out of the room like a domestic DIY shower room; dented hollow-core flat painted door with same aluminium handles, small shower cubicle with a small shower head you wouldn’t even have at home. The sash window had no sash cords! so was not counter-weighted, just fell back down as you opened it, didn’t stay where you left it. Fortunately the top sash was either painted or ill-fitting shut, so did not drop. The lower opening window was only about a foot/300mm off the floor, with no barrier – amazed that it has been allowed by hotel inspectors. 15” TV, no fridge in room. No interior designer has been near the place, it just looks like a domestic conversion. Might have been OK in the 1970s, but things have moved on. Oh, and there's very limited parking - extra charge. Otherwise find a place on the crowded streets.
Good things? Yes, it has The View of Tenby from the front rooms; quiet street; the room and bedding was clean (but who needs a 10.5 tog duvet in July?), there was hot water. It’s OK as a B&B, we would have been happy to pay half what they charged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmrysL, Owner at Fourcroft Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We do ask that guests tell us during their stay if they are displeased with anything. Had you mentioned your dislike of the room at the time of your stay we would have happily showed you some alternatives (an upgrade would in fact have been possible for those dates). As room 28 is not our largest room I am sure you can agree that a TV lager than the 17” (not 15”) flat screen provided would look very much out of place. With regards to the window, the bottom sash is not meant to open (health & safety advice from Pembrokeshire County Council), hence no cord or counterweight. The fixing brackets have not been replaced, so many thanks for raising this point. The top window, however, does open as I have done this personally today. Again had you mentioned this to a member of staff we could have advised you at the time.
Green in the hall way is again authentic and in keeping with a Georgian period house. While this may not have been your choice of colour it was the preferred colour for keeping in tone with the hotel.
Only 4 & 5 star hotels in Pembrokeshire will have a fridge in the room (and only some at that). However, again, had you mentioned to a member of staff that you required something to be refrigerated we would have accommodated your request as we do for so many other guests on a regular basis.
A B&B would not have provided you with highly trained staff, room service if required, lunches by the pool or in our gardens, evening meals, an outdoor heated pool with loungers & a toddlers’ play area, indoor spa & sauna, and games rooms or, indeed, a bar. By definition we are a hotel. As the name suggests, a B&B would have required you to leave after breakfast and not reappear until the evening, unless they were providing dinner.
Our hotel thus provides more than that so I think your nomenclature is wide of the mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

stayed in family room with husband and two granddaughters lovely sea facing room staff were lovely we really enjoyed the hollywood bar and the breakfast was one of the best ive ever had would definitely stay there again spotless room

Room Tip: got room bit cheaper by phoning the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel to break our journey before getting the ferry at Pembroke dock. It is a beautiful old building, well maintained and run efficiently. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and the food was good, the service excellent. They do a lovely french bread pizza for kids which one of ours devoured. The breakfast was excellent also. Across the road there is a private(hotel) terraced garden which goes down a series of stairs to the beach. Again, very well maintained. In short, it is an excellent friendly hotel in a good location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed one night at hotel. Lovely views from room, clean and tidy room. Very friendly and helpful staff made 4yr old very welcome. Spent some time in games room and seen pool didnt use it. Hotel is a little dated but would reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book for the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We very rarely holiday in England but were invited on a family holiday in Tenby and had the pleasure of staying at the Fourcroft Hotel recently. We found the Hotel very charming with fantastic staff all across the board - they couldn't do enough for you. We had a large seafront room which was nicely decorated with a modern bathroom and plenty of white fluffy towels. The view from the window was stunning. The only small criticism was that the balcony was rickety to say the least - but other than that no complaints. The breakfasts were lovely from the hearty full welsh breakfast to the other various combinations available - kippers, smoked salmon, massive ommlettes, etc.... There was a well stocked bar, lovely sandwiches, etc available at lunch times, a small pool and stunning tiered gardens leading to a gorgeous beach - who could ask for more. A short stroll took us into the charming town of Tenby with its winding streets and some lovely shops, restaurants, Cafes and pubs - and all completely 'tack' free. We took a boat trip over to Caldy Island which was beautiful and an interesting day out. All in all I would definately recommend Tenby for a British holiday and certainly the Fourcroft Hotel and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must - stunning & worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic view with own acces to the beach and down the beach is a cafe. The beach is sandy and tidy. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The meals in the restaurant are great (small menu) but expensive like the hotel itself. We can reccommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fourcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourcroft Hotel

Address: North Beach, Tenby SA70 8AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Tenby's Blue Flag North Beach & old fishing harbour, Fourcroft Hotel has spectacular terraced gardens leading down to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fourcroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fourcroft Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fourcroft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.