We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent valu for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Inn Penally

Cross Inn Penally
Penally, Tenby SA70 7PU , Wales
01834 844665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 86 Restaurants in Tenby
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hengoed, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent valu for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

eat here three times all meals were good
and a very friendly atmosphere

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT TAPAS NIGHT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Brilliant family atmosphere. Regular themed weekends that never dissapoint, this weekend had excellent live music by local performer William Scott. Will definatley be back in June when Scott is booked to play again. If visiting Tenby or staying in Penally this quaint little pub is well worth a visit. Amazing view from the beer garden of Caldey Island, and great home cooked food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food .... Good service would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in penally for a long weekend looked for a pub to have a meal decided on The Cross phoned and booked ahead with there being 10 of us which was no problem for them ...... When arrived found staff to be friendly welcoming and helpful and very child friendly food and service was excellent would highly recommend and will be visiting there again ....

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“super service, nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We ate here on two evenings during our stay in Penally ; both times the staff couldn't have been more charming and helpful.... and efficient! The menu is more or less what you'd expect from a sea side pub, and lives up to it's promise. We also popped in for a lunch time drink two or three times, and again found it a lovely place to relax and look at the beautiful scenery.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PUB, WONDERFUL FOOD, GREAT STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were a bit wary about eating here after reading the previous couple of reviews, however we thought we would give it a go and we absolutely loved this pub. We were staying for a week in Penally and had already booked a table before we arrived as we were not sure how busy the place would be on a Satuday evening. We popped in on Saturday afternoon to check the booking and were greated by a lovely friendly member of staff who took the time to have a chat with us and confirmed our booking. We returned in the evening and yet another lovely lady greeted us and took our orders. The food was fantastic. I had a curry which certainly did not disappoint and my husband had the venison pie which he also thoroughly enjoyed. We returned another 3 times during the week and the food was consistently excellent. The staff were always really welcoming and friendly. In fact I don't think we have ever been to such a warm and friendly place. Both the food and drink were very reasonably priced and service was quick and efficient. We even bought some curries to bring home with us as they were so good. Some of the food is home made, however this was not reflected on the menu (a comment which we did make to the land lady - we like to know whether the food is home made as this is not something we get served much where we live) however the food we had certainly tasted home made and we just wanted to check. The menu has lots of choice (I am a "funny eater" and there was plenty of different dishes for me to choose from) and can't wait to return to try more of their selection. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this pub if you are staying in Penally or the surrounding area.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Inn Penally also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Cross Inn Penally? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Inn Penally, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.