We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baytree

Baytree
Tudor Sq, Tenby, Wales
01834 843516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 86 Restaurants in Tenby
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Baytree restuarant is situated in the heart of Tenby's charming Tudor Square. We are open all year around, serving meals and drinks from 11am to 10.30pm in the summer (please note we operate shorter hours outside of peak season).Our menu incorporates local produce wherever possible including fish caught just off Tenby's coast! Our mackerel and lobster are particular favourites with our regulars. We also cater for vegetarians and have a varied children's menu.At the rear of the restaurant, our sheltered private terrace can seat up to 24 people. During the summer when the town is pedestrianised during the day, we also have tables and chairs out in Tudor Square.We can cater for private parties of up to 100 people and large groups are welcome by prior arrangement.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited during Pembrokeshire fish week at the end of June. We ordered from the 'specials' fish menu which was 3 courses. plus a complimentary glass of wine, for £20 each. The food was delicious, portions were good, and serving times from course-to-course was not long. We love the Baytree, we have visited on many occasions over the last 3 decades! from the late 1980's as a honeymooning couple, in the 1990's with our children, and now 2013 as a holidaying couple, the Baytree has fond memories for us. Long may you continue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    135
    52
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Sea Food Chowder ! WOW it was a 9/10 Chowder.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Decided to stop and treat ourselves to a nice Lunch in Tenby and got sat down in the Hope & Anchor Pub only to be told it would be a 45 minute wait for Food !$*^%* What ?? No way peeps and clearly no hope.

After walking back up to the Town and in a random manner I pointed and said let’s try the Baytree Restaurant , we got in and settled and in short it was excellent, very very good and pleasant staff.

We were two hungry people so over ordered (Pigs, hee-hee) and had Calamari, King Prawns, Sea Food Chowder, Chips and drinks.

Exceptional Chowder !

It was all genuinely very very good and highly recommended by us.

Please also try and give feedback(Hopefully positive) to the Chef as it’s the only way they will know what you think and will hopefully keep them motivated to turn out good Food.

Vanessa and Stuart from down South Portsmouth.
30/07/2013

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent fresh food - good service - really accommodating with younger children. Would definitely recommend as one of the best restaurants in Tenby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not the best visit to The Bay Tree Tenby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went to this restaurant for lunch today - usually very, very good and the reason why we always reserve a table when we visit Tenby. Not sure what was up there today. It was not especially busy today but the owner who is usually very personable seemed very stressed - openly having discussions with errors on other tables with her staff - not good. We chose a meal that we have eaten several times before (calamari) - it was greasy, the coating was falling off, was not served with garlic mayo only mayo, waitress served me the in-correct wine, etc. We did not say anything whilst there (which is very un-like me) but now wish we had). I have been visiting this restaurant every time I am in Tenby for about 25 years - I hope this is not them on a slippery slope. However, after today, not sure we will go back. Left the restaurant feeling disappointed and went to get an ice cream cone which we enjoyed much more. I sincerely hope the owner of the restaurant will read this and offer us some feed-back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saundersfoot
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excelleant restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have had many meals in many places in Tenby ,but if I want a special meal, i allways go the Bay Tree in Tenby , lovely place to sit and eat, fantastic food , lovely drinks,and excellant service,reasonable priced but well worth a visit.Never had cause to complain as everything has allways been to the highest standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baytree also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Baytree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baytree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.