We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant family run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathmore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Strathmore to your Saves list
The Strathmore
23 Victoria Street, Tenby SA70 7DY , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 47 Tenby B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant family run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed on a two day KGB deal at this well located family run hotel. Our room no 5 was very cosy with a comfortable bed and beautiful views across South Beach. Joe the proprietor was most friendly and helpful. Very nice breakfast using local ingredients. Parking a little difficult but there are a few non-resident parking spaces if you can spot them empty. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
66
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Strathmore booked through KGB deals. The location is good and Joe and family were very welcoming. Breakfast is good.The room and ensuite were rather small and so was the bed which was not condusive to a good nights sleep. Parking on the road was mostly for residents, except for a couple of spaces each end, so we had to park in the car park behind the hotel at a cost of £5 for a night and day - we were out for the whole day so expensive. Luckily the second night we found a space on the road.
I was not happy about the sign concerning check out - by 10am or you are charged £6 per hour. Does not do much for customer relations?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for nights at the Strathmore as part of a spring break. Great location - close to the south beach. Joe and family make great hosts. Breakfast is excellent. We had a nice light room with a comfy bed and a small ensuite

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny South coast of UK!
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Late booking for Good Friday and no real problems at all. Great breakfast, clean and, if it's your thing, the lounge has a GIANT TV. The tiny gripes? The shower couldn't pull the skin off of a rice pudding and the odd language in the room guide "Checkout by 10am or you are charged £6 per hour" Does it really need the threat? Anyway, good stuff and good price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our break - booked through KGB deals. A great value weekend. The location was good - we parked in the car park behind the hotel, which you can see from the back of the hotel. Lovely location - not an over busy street. Close to everything. Breakfast was lovely. The room was okay - very comfy bed and slept so well. Service was good. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and myself stayed on a KGB two night deal and had a really nice break.The owner Joe was very pleasant and helpful and offered us a ground floor bedroom as my wife had knee problems.The room was a good size,very comfortable and heated well,bathroom was adequate,breakfast was good and hot,lounge was available to sit and watch a large screen TV at night.All in all a very nice break and happy to recommend it all.

Room Tip: Tenby house pub great for steak meals,doing any steak and a pint for £10.00,up until Easter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

my hubby and myself just returned home from a night stay at the strathmore hotel, we visit tenby every year for a short stay as we love the place, having stayed in many different hotels-guest houses we thought we try the strathmore hotel, our room was comfortable with a nice size bathroom, one we could move around in compared to others we have stayed in whilst visiting tenby,our room was clean with a nice view of the beach, the dining area was also very clean, the only 2 little dissapointing remarks we have are the rooms are close together which means you can hear other guests talking and closing the doors and the breakfast although very tasty was rather small, not enough fruit juice on offer for guests who do not drink tea or coffee, but overall a nice place to stay with friendly owners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathmore

Address: 23 Victoria Street, Tenby SA70 7DY , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathmore Hotel is a professional, family run hotel in Tenby, Pembrokeshire. Our seven bedroom hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind in Tenby. The hotel has been in the family since 1974, and has since been providing, for all of our guests, the personal touch that larger hotels cannot provide.All of our rooms are en-suite with all of the features you would expect, including free wireless internet access, tea and coffee facilities, safety deposit boxes and 24 hour access to your room. We are situated right next to Tenby's beautiful South Beach, our rear facing rooms overlook the beach with a sea view.A warm, friendly but professional welcome awaits you from Joe, Family & Staff at The Strathmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Strathmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strathmore Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.