We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Farnham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Farnham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farnham Hotel
South Cliff Street, Tenby SA70 7EA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 hotels in Tenby
Colorado
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I quote from Booking.com: "A king-size bed and fantastic views of the beach." There is no view of the beach and the water view is a distant one down the road between buildings as you can see from the photo. The bed may be king-size but the room is not. Farnham is an older hotel and the bathroom en suite is an add-on that significantly compromises room size. If you have more than overnight luggage you'll have to step out of the room to change your mind. That being said, Simon is a very accommodating host who gave good guidance as to sightseeing and dinner. The breakfast was good. Note: Car parking was difficult because of an Ironman event, so be aware.

Room Tip: I don't know; I guess you need to talk to Simon direct to get the best room information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel . As your stay was nearly six months ago the king rooms have since been upgraded with large luxury en suites separate to the bedroom giving far more space to the room as you say there was limited floor space before. The photo on my tripadvisor page that is showing the view across the car park to the south beach was taken from the room you stayed in. Only you can decide which camera angle to use with your review. The ironman event which takes place in early September is a wonderful spectacle but for any visitors not involved it can be quite difficult with road closures and limited parking. I hope you will give us another try on your next visit to the UK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    22
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
70
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Blackheath, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is real value for money, the rooms are bright and clean and the breakfast was the best we had anywhere in the UK. Simon, the owner/manager is a terrific host and a good cook, he was very caring and interested in our travels. The Hotel is located a short stroll from the beach in one direction and the shops/market in the other. We were lucky with parking on the street outside but there is also a large public carpark a short way along the street. We would highly recommend this little Hotel to anyone, it really is lovely and we had a wonderful time in Tenby.

Room Tip: Shop around , and then go to the Farnham Hotel in Tenby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a 4 night stay inTenby and this Hotel was just right for us.It was close to the beach ,shops and pubs.
The room was very clean with tea and coffee facilities and the bed was very comfy. Simon the owner was very friendly and welcoming and we especially enjoyed his cooked breakfast.

We parked in a car park in the same street and was only charged £22 for the stay


I would definately recommend The Buccaneer for food and drinks it is on the way down towards the habour and they serve massive meals at a very reasonable price ( around £10 for a main meal) I had a huge lamb shank with all the trimmings and my husband had a huge fish pie. It does get very busy but they have a lovely heated outdoor area with a non smoking section.

We will definately return to this hotel in the futre.

Room Tip: If you need a fridge in your room you need to book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived last Friday and got greeted straight away by Simon the owner who checked us in. We went to our room and were pleased with the room. Within the room, it had a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, Hair dryer, fresh towels. I started panicking wondering where the toilet and shower were and I saw what I thought were wardrobe doors and found the toilet and shower in there!
If you are claustrophobic, then you wouldn't enjoy it but we found it quite amusing having a shower in a cupboard!
The breakfast was lovely and Simon was very accommodating throughout topping up our toast, tea and coffee.
The rooms were cleaned in the morning and it was cleaned very well.
Parking was fine, There was a car park run by the church who had very reasonable prices
I would stop there again as we had a lovely time.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had a great stay here!! The hotel owner/manager was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was great!! (honestly an amazing cooked breakfast) Customer service here is amazing.

The rooms are small (did like the shower) but then for location and the price its a bargain and if your like me and would rather spend your time out of the hotel than in, then it doesn't matter! There is free wifi in all rooms, though it does work better on the bottom floors.

There's not a lot of free parking (we did manage to get a free space on the road) but there is a a car park directly next to the hotel which is like £3.50 for the whole day or even better a short walk away there's a 24 hour multi-story which costs £2 for 24 hours.

Had a great stay and will defo be back!

Room Tip: Try and get room 2 or 3 - the wifi works better on the bottom floors and some rooms do not have en-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Farnham Hotel is a very basic hotel with old-fashioned bedrooms and tiny bathrooms whose price is very adjusted to what you get.
The owner is very helpful, though I did not find him a couple of times I wanted to ask him something; he apparently leaves the building for some time and there is nobody to ask.
The breakfast is very good, and if you are lucky you can park freely in the same street of the hotel, without having to pay any car park.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

spent 2 nights here as a week end getaway on arrival a note and key were left for our room. Abit disappointed with room 5 as quite small and dated shower and toilet very small (pictures on web site are misleading) .We found there could have been a bigger window for breakfast as 8-9 am is early especially as nobody in Tenby opens very early so what do you do had walked all the town by 10 am .Werent asked if we wanted the cooked breakfast so felt we had to eat it .No hair dryer in room as stated so glad id packed mine. Bed really comfortable just a shame nothing matched ie curtains and bed spreads its those little touches that count. Simon the owner very welcoming and chatty and willing to keep your coffee cup full.

Room Tip: room 5 a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farnham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Hotel

Address: South Cliff Street, Tenby SA70 7EA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farnham Hotel is ideally situated 80yds from the south beach and 2 minutes walk to the town centre. All rooms are en-suite with luxury king size beds , samsung lcd tv , blu ray player , refridgerator , Hair dryer & in room safe. Most rooms have sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Farnham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.