We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach, friendly and helpful service, comfortable clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farnham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Farnham Hotel to your Saves list
Farnham Hotel
South Cliff Street, Tenby SA70 7EA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Close to the beach, friendly and helpful service, comfortable clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights from 19 July. We stayed in 3 different rooms for our stay - 3 nights in room 2, 2 nights in room 4 and 2 nights in room 5. This was because of the way the rooms had been booked but we didn't mind we just had to pack up our stuff and Simon arranged to move our stuff to our new room while we were out. The best room for space was probably room 2 as there are 2 chairs and a small table by the window so you have somewhere to sit but if we stayed there again we would ask for room 5 as the shower was the best and there was plenty of space and it's comfortable enough to sit on the bed. You have all you need in the room - shower, toilet (if you have room 1 or 4 then your toilet is outside your room in a separate 'room' slightly down the stair which you have your own key to enter), hairdryer, kettle, tea, coffee, sink a couple of mirrors, flat screen tv, a small amount of cupboard space and drawers, and depending on what room you have a double, queen size or King size bed. There is even some liquid soap in your room on the sink.
The breakfast is lovely - you can have cereal, fruit, toast and a cooked breakfast. Simon doesn't take an order for your breakfast but when you book your stay he does ask if you have any dietary requirements. I don't eat meat so he bought in some Linda McCartney sausages for me. The cooked breakfast varied slightly each day but we were very happy with it. If you want something specific you can ask and Simon will cook it for you if he has it. You can have plenty of tea, coffee or toast as well.
You can pay by card for your stay.
There isn't a car park dedicated to the hotel but there is a big car park a very short walk from the hotel but you will need cash to pay to park. There aren't any machines you have to pay the attendant before 9am in the morning if you arrive after 8pm. You can get a weekly ticket for parking which costs £20 but there are daily tickets etc.
We were very close to the beach and the centre of Tenby with all the restaurants, pubs, shops, cafes etc.
We were very impressed with the hotel and would stay there again. Simon was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    29
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
101
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

just a quick note to say that we had a weeks holiday here and we enjoyed every minuit of our stay- the room was small but nicely set out clean with everything we needed incliding the bathroom- breakfast was on time and thoughtfully prepared and simon was lovelly - Had the room cleaned daily and constant tea makeing facilitys will definatly be returning as soon as we can would recomend to anyone.

ad, d and kate leic

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

had a lovely overnight stay here with my husband and friends, rooms are small and compact but have everything yo could need; shower, wc, double bed, tea and coffee facilities etc. the room was very clean and tidy, breakfast was served promptly and looked appetizing and tasted lovely. I would definitely go back. and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed only the one night at the Farnham and found the rooms and cleanliness superb. The shower and toilets were a bit small but quirky. Simon the owner was very friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was very nice and we would not hesitate in recommending the Farnham Hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed at the farnham for two nights friday october 1st to sunday october 3rd,having stayed in quite a few hotels over the years in tenby,we found the farnham by far the best value hotel we have stayed in,and felt we had to do a review,very friendly and warm welcome on the friday from simon room ready by just after 11, very clean tidy room,great breakfast, we would recommed anyone going to tenby to give the farnham a try, great stay.

steve and jayne kelleher ( cardiff)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

we checked in and in less than five mins we checked out the welcome was un helpfull not welcoming in anyway the rooms were dirty the sheets were gray the rooms pokie and i cant even begin to mention the toilets and shower it would suite an umper lumper because you would have to be that small to get in them we are not the type of people to to complain but tenby is so lovely that we would not like someone else to experance booking into the farnham and having to move to enjoy tenby as it should be experenced we booked into the taormina and it was lovely like my school report in the 80 must try harder the farnham

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2010
I am grateful to be able to respond to this review. I can rememer the group quite clearly as they are the only people I have asked to leave the hotel in many years. They had obviously had too much to drink on their way down and were very noisy on arrival. I could see where the weekend was going as this was only 2pm. I am not a hotel that accepts stag and hen parties and this seemed to be the sort of place they should have booked. I asked them to leave and gave them a full refund to their credit card of £495.00 which they accepted and went on their way. These people would have totally ruined the weekend for the guests I had staying . It is very wrong of them to write an untrue version of events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We were welcomed by Simon the hotel owner on arrival which was nice,always a good sign.In all fairness he could not have been more helpful and always a smile aswell.We were shown to our room which it seemed was about seven flights of stairs up.By the time we got there we were greeted with an ok room(certainly can't moan for the price and the view) it was dated though and could have been updated but not a major gripe.It was certainly fine for the family and all you could want in it.I had read reviews about the bathroom and it did seem the shower was in a small airing cupboard(very scandanavian with all the wood) but it was ok and what more do you need a toilet and shower to do.The only major gripe was that it was not a DOUBLE BED it was more like a 3/4 bed and if your not thin the it may be a problem.In the mornings the breakfast was fine nothing special but made with gusto by Simon with a smile.The hotel was perfectly situated for the south beach and only 5 mins from town.All in all a good stay with value for money for what it was.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farnham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Hotel

Address: South Cliff Street, Tenby SA70 7EA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tenby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farnham Hotel is ideally situated 80yds from the south beach and 2 minutes walk to the town centre. All rooms are en-suite with luxury king size beds , samsung lcd tv , blu ray player , refridgerator , Hair dryer & in room safe. Most rooms have sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Farnham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.