We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebrations spolit” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation

New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation to your Saves list
New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation
Penally, Tenby SA70 7PS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 Tenby B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday celebrations spolit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My son chose to go here for his 15th birthday meal, we are local and not been for a year or two...... The chef certainly wasn't the same as before !!! Menu was really limited, didn't match web site, no music, stagnant atmosphere, screaming kids sat right behind us, had to ask them to try and keep kids quiet which was rudely received. Bubbly host but waitress staff had no manners, no smiles and were lazy. Will not be returning, food was ok but nothing special, evening spoilt !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a very welcoming hotel run by a lovely family who can't do enough to ensure you have an excellent stay. The rooms are well equipped, very clean and tidy with modern and good sized en suite facilities. We stayed here because we were attending a wedding in Tenby. It was ideally located and away from the traffic and hustle and bustle of the town. It has a well equipped bar which we used while waiting for a taxi. Breakfast the following morning was delicious. The family who run the hotel are very attentive and take a lot of pride in their hotel and like to ensure everything is just right. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lovely family run B&B, We stayed for one night, overall we had a pleasant stay. Rooms were clean and breakfast was good. The staff are really friendly and made us feel really welcome. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived at the Overlander for one nights stay. Very clean, great shower. A little noisy for me as were not used to traffic noise. Excellent breakfast, If I were in the area I would definitely stay there again. Excellent value for money, hosts were very friendly. Only thing I didn't like was the house wine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arrival we were taken back by the beauty of the overlander. They have clearly worked very hard to maintain its glory.

The staff were perfect examples of why I LOVE Wales lovely helpful, and social people they were everything we could have asked for & they treated us like royalty!

The room was spotless, we could have literally gone around with a latex glove and not found anything! It smelt so clean.

The food - on the evening we had some dinner in their beautiful conservatory. Can't knock it was scrumptious, certainly hit the spot!

Tenby & the beach - situated practically on your door step. 10 mins from the beach & a 5 min taxi ride to Tenby town (Well I wasn't going to walk in my heels now)

I can honestly say that the overlander & everything it had to offer was spectacular. I loved every minute of being in Tenby & struggled to leave.

Oh and the person that said 'overlander is a roadside cafe' clearly doesn't know his a*se from his elbow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On holiday in the area recently, decided to book an evening meal, on going from website details.
Don’t be fooled by photos and menus from the website. Photos show what appears to be a fairly upmarket establishment, until you walk in and it feels like you are in roadside café.
The menus on line are all out of date, one dish they stopped years ago, website is all over the place.
As for the food it was quite good, although veg portions were lacking, we had to ask for more. Prices were reasonable.
Beautiful location, you can walk to beach and Penally Railway Station right outside, with free parking.
The establishment needs a makeover, sort the website out, put some sparkle back into the place and you will be onto a winner, you have the location, nice building, just needs some fresh thinking.
The place was empty when we ate; The Cross Inn in the village was full, and what does that tell you?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ate here on two occasions recently; the restaurant is light and airy and very pleasant. However when we came to order there was quite a list of things they had sold out of, including the three fish meals on the specials board. We were told they had to order their fish on a Tuesday and had to guess what to order. Undeterred we ordered two lamb shanks and one beef and ale pie. The lamb shanks were excellent as was the pie, but the meal was let down by the very small amount of new potatoes and vegetables provided. On this occasion it didn't matter so much as there was plenty of meat to compensate. We decided to return a few days later; this time we were all able to order fish from the specials board - very reasonably priced at £10.95. Again we ordered new potatoes and vegetables. This meal was very poor - the fish portions were small (possibly in relation to the price), one portion of salmon being much smaller than the other, and this together with the small amount of potatoes and vegetables left us feeling very dissatisfied with the size of our meal, and needing to order a substantial sweet to fill us up. The service on this occasion was also pretty bad and during the time we were there two lots of people walked out without ordering. Again we heard people being told that items on the menu weren't available, particularly the fish, and again we heard the same excuse of having to guess what to order! (Don't all restaurants have to "guess" to some extent?!). On both occasions the profiteroles were off the menu.

The standard of food was good, but was badly let down by small portions of vegetables and the amount of items not available. Having seen other recent reviews describing "loads of freshly-cooked vegetables" we cannot understand why we didn't receive such quantities, not on one but two occasions.

Proprietors - please note and do something about it!! We didn't come back again as there were plenty of other places to eat; this was a shame and could be easily remedied by you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazliztul, Owner at New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We thank your for taking the time to write a review, all customer comments are important to us and all critical comments are taken very seriously.
We receive fish deliveries on a Tuesday and a Friday and order what we think will be just enough, based on previous weeks, however sometimes we sell out a little quicker. Most other items on the menu are delivered daily (except for Sundays) and again we try to order just enough so that we ensure the food we are cooking is freshly delivered that day. We have 16 main course choices plus the fish on the special board, so feel that if one or two things run low we still have quite a large menu to choose from. However we do understand that if your first choice is unavailable it can be disappointing and will take your comments regarding this on board.
We wish you had asked for more vegetables and potatoes as there are always plenty available and we would have been more than happy to send out extras if asked.
We are very sorry your experience with us wasn't a good one and assure you that your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation

Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7PS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run licenced hotel & restaurant in Penally, Nr. Tenby. Five comfortable en suite bedrooms, all with refreshments tray, freeview lcd t.v., hairdryer & complimentary toiletries. Internet access available free of charge. Large car park. Five minutes walk to beach. 1.5 miles to Tenby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.