We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffe-Norton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffe-Norton Hotel
Save
You added Cliffe-Norton Hotel to your Saves list
The Norton | Dyfed, Tenby SA70 8AA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned from a four night coach holiday with Ogden's of St Helens to this marvellous hotel run by husband and wife team and a dedicated staff presenting a very clean and accommodating hotel. Other reviewers have commented on the food, but I will go one better and say this is the best ever on any coach tour and would warrant a Michelin star for presentation, quality, flavour and choice for both breakfast and dinner. Service was excellent and Spanish young man Danny was a star-nothing too much trouble.The place is a little quirky and those with mobility problems would find it difficult to negotiate the labyrinth of stairs. I would definite recommend the sea view rooms-worth the little extra we paid. The staff were particularly helpful when one of our guests require hospitalisation at the end of the stay. They handled the situation sensitively and positively with Jill worth of a special mention. The only down side for us (and others in our group) was the entertainment-not worth staying up for! If you)like us) hate being put on the spot to accompany the act, then stay away. All three acts were "miming" to recorded music and pretending to play guitars. I think the owners need to review these acts otherwise it could impact on people's views of their stay in what was excellent.

Room Tip: Room with sea view - 50 to 53 were high enough to maximise the view of the harbour and bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    40
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
62
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have just returned from this hotel and I can say that the food was exceptionally good. The breakfast were always served hot and were always presented beautifully. The evening meals were always something to enjoy. Again the presentation and quality of the meals were always wonderful. The bedrooms were very clean and well equipped. The management were very pleasant. It is not very often that I can say that the gents' toilets were spotless at all times. Keep up the lovely standards. I really enjoyed it. Olive and Mark.

Room Tip: See view rooms at the front of the building.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My first visit, but i will be back. I was sizing up the hotel as I organise trips and had heard so much about it, the main fault I had heard was "Not suitable for Disabled" The gents toilet is 13 steps up, the Ladies--8 steps up. These 8 steps are also the same steps to get to the dining area, however, the width is about a yard wide with handrails on both sides. The lift goes to all floors but not the dining floor. Should you have difficulty with stairs then use the lift to use your room toilet if needed. There was a lady using a walker, I asked how she was managing with the stairs, saying she had been to the hotel before and tho' not ideal she found the positives outweighed the negatives for her to return. The positives, :- Ideal location, Superb food, Cleanliness throughout, Friendly staff, Hair dryer available from reception, Good entertainment. I can only echo those comments. Myself, was well catered for with my eating habits. At breakfast I was able to have cornflakes, followed by porridge, followed by a boiled egg, with toast. Evening meal I was able to find something that satisfied me, and all well presented and cooked. I can't see any reason why I should not encourage my party to stay at the Cliffe Norton Hotel. Many thanks to all involved in making my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day group holiday here. The food was fantastic. We were a little surprised that the first course at breakfast was either fruit juice or cereal, and not both, but the evening meals more than made up for that. We had room 62 at the top of the hotel. Although there was a lift to the third floor, there were another 22 steps to get to the room, but it was worth it - a large room (double and single bed) with plenty of space and views over the bay. Friendly staff. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

just back from five day coach holiday at the Cliffe Norton with Buckleys Coach Tours, the hotel overlooks a wonderful beach and harbour, inside the hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, and all the staff are very polite and helpfull, nothing is too much trouble, the food is to die for it would hold it's own with any five star restaurant it's the best hotel food we have had, we will deffinately be returning,

Room Tip: having spoken to other guests all the rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

just returned from 4 night break. great view from bedroom over looking bay & harbour. room &bathroom really clean.one of our party is on glutton free diet no problem. no worry about going back again. no car park. A few stairs but not to hard to get up and down.

Room Tip: room 32 slight traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed in Tenby for 2 nights with my girlfriend at the Cliffe Norton hotel while waterfall hunting in wales. Very clean and lovely hotel with 1 breakfast and dinner sitting each day. Our room had a lovely sea view window over looking the north beach, seagulls popping in to say high. Room was really nice and spacious with comfortable bed and good facilities, TV, tea/coffee, bath creams and soups etc.. There is a small lift if you don't fancy the really Grand wood stained staircase leading down to the restaurant and reception. The hotel offers a very reasonable priced bar and good value and on a good selection of wines. The location is amazing with a few seconds walk down to the beach with great views of the harbor. Cliffe Norton Hotel is just as close to a great selection of bars and nice restaurants in Tenby and worth a visit. Overall great stay in a great place and they even have there own car park. Staff are friendly and helpful and even the chefs pop there heads out to say hi. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffe-Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffe-Norton Hotel

Address: The Norton | Dyfed, Tenby SA70 8AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Cliffe-Norton Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffe-Norton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.