We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be visiting again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffe-Norton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffe-Norton Hotel
The Norton | Dyfed, Tenby SA70 8AA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Tenby
Bournemouth, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Will be visiting again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We visited this hotel in November 2012 for a weekend break. We had fantastic time! The staff were lovely and couldn't do more to help you. The hotel was lovely and clean and the rooms were great. The view from our room was amazing. We ate in the hotel for breakfast and evening meal and I couldn't fault it one bit. The food was beautifully presented and was delicious. The entertainment on an evening was also really good, we had a really good time!
Overall this hotel is definitely worth a visit and I would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Try get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
49
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely quiet area with beautiful views of the bay and harbour. The interior of the hotel is a blend of old and new and feels very warm and welcoming as do the owners and all the staff. We gave the food a rating of 10+ and thorougly enjoyed every meal thanks to the very talented chef and our waiter Jose. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends and family and hope that they too will have as lovely a stay, as we did.

Room Tip: Room 35 with sea view was lovely, warm, clean and very comfortable with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent all.food bedroom single .bell ringers ,Santa with present for all could not fault anything . Will return! Mario went with a superb bus co.forest travel nottingham went to st. Davids also haverdwest

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our party went for five nights.The hotel is in a lovely position overlooking Tenby bay and within easy walking distance of all the shops and attractions.We had a nice room with a sea view, a little small but quite adequate for our stay.The food was excellent, a good choice at breakfast and the evening meal was presented in an al a carte type of way which made it look very appealing.Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went with a Group booking (48 of us) (The W.I and husbands strike again!) and without exception not one person thought the cleaniness and food quality was compromised. Everyone thought it was very good value with excellent choices even for Cealiacs (?) Right down to one of the staff going out and buying 'rice crispies' for them - with his OWN money!!! Ok OK, it was probably re-imbursed . It shows that nothing was too much trouble. Rooms very clean and tidy. Superb location as well.
There was also another large party there at the same time and the standard did not drop!

BUT, why oh why hasn't the town council sorted out the Dog mess - everywhere we went!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked this hotel for a short autumn break in an area of the country new to us. It is a very pleasant mid sized establishment in one of the best locations in Tenby - above the North Beach with outstanding views and within five minutes walk of the town centre and harbour. We were given a lovely room with two huge windows overlooking the sea. The hotel comprises several adjacent buildings, the centrepiece of which is a stunning three storey staircase with appropriate paintings and furniture. It offers simple accomodation and service and there is a slightly regimented feeling e.g. you must choose your dinner choices at breakfast and meals are at 8.30 am and 6.30 pm, a bit of a problem if you want a flexible schedule. However, the whole place is spotlessly clean and well-maintained and the food is unfailingly well-prepared and tasty. Staff are keen to please and efficient. There were coach parties staying but this probably helps to explain the very competitive rates which the Cliife Norton offers. We recommend that you book one of the hotel's parking spaces just around the corner as parking in Tenby is difficult. We shall undoubtedly revisit the delightful town of Tenby, the Pembrokeshire coast and the Cliffe Norton.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a sea view - stunning, right across to the Gower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from A 5 day holiday with David Palmer to this excellent hotel and 8 other friends from Leeds. All of our rooms were excellent, well furnished, spotlessly clean bathrooms. Greeted with tea and toasted tea cakes on arrival. The restaurant is first class and the food was the best we have had even in 5 star hotels, lovely choice and presented piping hot, a special thanks to Marcia our waitress, nothing was too much trouble for her. Lovely atmosphere generated by the Proprietors and their lovely staff. Would visit again very soon, trouble is it is over 300 miles away!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliffe-Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffe-Norton Hotel

Address: The Norton | Dyfed, Tenby SA70 8AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Also Known As:
Cliffe-Norton Hotel Tenby, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffe-Norton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cliffe-Norton Hotel to your Saves list