We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Hotel Tenby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Park Hotel Tenby to your Saves list
The Park Hotel Tenby
North Cliff, Tenby SA70 8AT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

A weekend in Tenby with our 14 month old daughter. As a (relatively) new family we are only just beginning to appreciate the importance of 'family friendly' and the Park Hotel ticks all the boxes in this respect including cots, highchairs and baby food requests!
Beautiful views and perfect location; close enough for a short walk to town but not stuck in the central busy, small streets.
Can recommend a lovely walk down a zig zag path to the beach going through old deciduous woodland.
Only regret is not bringing our swim wear as we heard that the outside pool was still a manageable temperature despite it being September!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    102
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
62
157
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I booked this hotel for myself and 2 others for one night in August. Unfortunately on the way to the Hotel one of the party was taken ill. I had already paid as I booked through Booking.com so expected to pay all of the bill as it was such a late cancellation I was giving them. However when I telephone the Hotel to cancel I was met with such politeness and understanding I was very pleased. I was informed I would only have to pay the deposit.
After I cancelled online,Booking.com reported that I needed to pay a greater amount. I phoned the Hotel back and spoke to the same pleasant receptionist who said she would ring Booking.com back and sort it out.
What pleasant, efficient service. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again as the adverts, pictures and description looked excellent and and the way my cancellation was dealt with was astonishinlgy kind.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel is a bit pricey but the drinks are reasonable compared to shearings hotels and the breakfast is very good , the evening meal is excellent and very good value for a 5 course meal. We would go back to this hotel, yes our room was a little small but we did get very good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at the park hotel for a couple of days last month during a short break in Tenby and we generally pleased with the hotel and service. Firstly the location of the hotel is ideal – practically beach side but without the traffic or noise of being literally on the seafront. We were close enough that the view from our third flor room saw us overlooking the beach – simply beautiful.
The hotel has ample parking, wtih a small car park out front and a larger overflow car park to the side. We were greeted warmly at reception and checked in with no fuss at all.
The room was spotlessly clean, if somewhat dated, but Tea/Coffee facilities in the room, comfortable bed and that lovely view made it more than acceptable. Our room had a flat-screen TV but none of the channels functioned due to poor signal. I quickly retuned the TV and gained full reception – makes you wonder why this wasn’t already done though! Upon checking in you are given the front door access code in case you want to stay out late and everyone at the hotel is very polite and receptive. Other than breakfast we didn’t eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on the evening meal. Breakfast, however, is a traditional reserved-table, full waiter served affair with cereals/yoghurt/fruit followed by a full English breakfast and tea/coffee/juice.

The park hotel is three star and in this respect the hotel is a little pricey. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel and would stay again, but I’m sure if you shop around you can get a cheaper hotel with arguably better value.

Room Tip: Third floor, overlooking the beach. Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel is spotlessly clean but rooms quite small and cramped. Breakfast was nice but could use better quality sausages! A nice walk into town but a bit of a climb on way back. The staff were all very helpful, the breakfast service went very smoothly with the staff working very hard. Beds are very short my partner who is tall had his feet hanging off the end all night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Myself my partner and our 2 children enjoyed one of the nicest short stays we have had in Tenby and a lot of this is down to the Park hotel, nothing was to much trouble for the very friendly and helpfull staff, even the owner would stop and have a chat and a joke with us, my son particulary liked the pool which was spotless and warm, the decor is stunning and the whole hotel is as clean as can possibly be, the food is exellent and served in a very nice dinning room again with friendly and polite staff, and as for the reception staff the nicest and friendly people i have met in any hotel i have stayed in, all in all if you are thinking of staying at the Park you will not be dissapointed so book and enjoy. The Tiernan family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

the hotel is overprices for what it is - very small room, barely enough room to put our cases in. The decor and furniture is dated 'mfi qaulity' They have made the cardinal sin of carpeting the bathroom, thus making it feel damp and smell musty and not very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Hotel Tenby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Tenby

Address: North Cliff, Tenby SA70 8AT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#10 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of Tenby, the Park offers beautiful cliff top terraces and gardens, an outdoor swimming pool, free WiFi and free private parking. Peacefully located above Tenby's Blue Flag North Beach and with the Pembrokeshire coastal path running adjacent to the grounds, The Park is ideally situated for Walking and exploring the area. On wintery days our warm elegant lounges offer the perfect place to relax and unwind. - The Lively town centre is just a 10 minute walk away. Classically decorated, the rooms at the Park Hotel have private bathrooms, flat screen TV and Tea/Coffee facilities. Many rooms have panoramic coastal or countryside views. Enjoy candlelit dinning and generous breakfasts in our restaurant where tasty traditional homemade food is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Park Hotel Tenby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Tenby Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Hotel Tenby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.