We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST GRAVY EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Combe Cottage Restaurant

Combe Cottage Restaurant
63 High Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9QE, England
+44 1271 862605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: At Combe Cottage Restaurant and Cafe the emphasis is on home cooked meals using fresh local ingredients. We are proud to support our local producers and suppliers.Full of character and charm our restaurant is ideally situated on the bustling Ilfracombe High Street. We would like to extend a warm welcome to all.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST GRAVY EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is just the sort of thing I want to find outside of london!!! a lovely intimate place where the food has been thought about. The chef a warm friendly lady with whom I had a great discussion on the importance of good gravy and was given some good tips, clearly has a deep love for flavours and a wide knowladge of food. Everything down to the presentation was spot on and had been carefully prepared with love and skill! The venue is welcoming and intimate and the service was so genuine. Allot of care has been put into insuring that people really enjoy their food here... which I absolutly did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments which really made me smile! I do remember our conversation about gravy. It was lovely to meet you guys and I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable evening. I never get bored of swopping recipes & helpful tips if I get the chance, I only hope they came in useful when you next prepared lamb. Hope we get to meet you again next time you manage to escape from London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    22
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This Restaurant really is a little gem and worthy of its star rating.

Nothing was too much trouble, including opening on a Monday when usually closed to accomadate our family celebration on 23rd December 2013.

The food was excellent and all freshly prepared, a good wine selection, the Proseco is particularly recommended.

The Restuarant is small which provided a warm family feel to the ocassion with attentive but not intrusive service, particularly from the young waiter whoes name I have forgoten, apologies.

My thanks to Kate and Paul, you have a lovely restaurant and we look forward to dining with you again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review it was great to meet both you and your family. We were of course flattered that you chose Combe Cottage for your special evening and didn't mind at all opening on a Monday. Such a lovely bunch of people we look forward to seeing you again should you ever return to Ilfracombe. Ps We passed on your comments to our young waiter Dan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good honest place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Great quality food in a straight forward honest restaurant. Friendly, good value and good sized portions. Good service at a sensible speed, rather than feeling rushed through a meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
'Straight forward, honest restaurant' what a lovely (and I like to think accurate) description of Combe Cottage, thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good quality food, friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were wandering around Ilfracombe looking for somewhere to eat and initially walked past the Cottage, as it seemed to have only one vegetarian choice. As we walked past it again, we noticed the specials board with other options. There was only one other table being used to start but we were early. This changed and it soon filled up and seemed very popular. The food was well presented and of a good quality. Good portions with nicely cooked vegetables. The service was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review. So glad you didn't walk past! Good quality food, well presented, both very important to us and we are really pleased you both enjoyed your meal. Thanks also for highlighting the ever popular specials boards which change each evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish it was nearer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a family meal at Combe Cottage at the end of October. Paul and Kate were very welcoming and it felt like they gave a very personal touch to our evening out.
The food was tasty and plentiful (and we eat like horses) and plenty of time was given to allow us to choose, no pressure. My son recommends the shoulder of lamb!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review 'tasty and plentiful' with a personal touch - sounds like we are doing something right! Hope to see you guys again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Combe Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to Combe Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.