We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Combe Cottage Restaurant

Combe Cottage Restaurant
63 High Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9QE, England
+44 1271 862605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 95 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Combe Cottage Restaurant and Cafe the emphasis is on home cooked meals using fresh local ingredients. We are proud to support our local producers and suppliers.Full of character and charm our restaurant is ideally situated on the bustling Ilfracombe High Street. We would like to extend a warm welcome to all.
Carmarthen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Always visit this restaurant when I go to Ilfracombe, excellent home cooked food with local produce would not go anywhere else, the food is to die for with a lovely menu difficult to choose as it is all so lovely. Nice atmosphere and very friendly with a really warm welcome. You could ask for nothing else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    24
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skewen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best Steak & Ale Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My girlfriend & I went for lunch in this lovely restaurant and both chose the steak & ale pie. I have to say we were speechless, it was absolutely lush. The herbs & spices just melted in your mouth, the best steak & ale pie I have ever tasted, better than my girlfriends, get a slap for that. The warmth of the staff and the welcome surroundings made it a restaurant we will definitely go back to again on our next visit, cherished memories forever. April & Robert, Skewen, Neath.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went into the Restaurant for lunch. The place is about the only decent place to eat in the High Street. The food was excellent and staff polite and attentive. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon-sur-Allier, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

After some bad experience in the south of Devon we went there when we first arrived by chance for lunch and liked the evening menu and went back for the next evening.

It is a very romantic and historic place for the evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once is not Enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have visited Ilfracombe on multiple occasions and each time made sure I've stopped off at Combe Cottage for a nice lunch or dinner at least twice. Every time the meal has been excellent, the service fast and the staff warm and friendly. No doubt one of the best restaurants I've visited not just in Devon but internationally. If at any time you're planning to visit Ilfracombe this year or even live nearby be sure to check out Combe Cottage and I hope you can share my great experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Combe Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Combe Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Combe Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.