We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit - Definately not Last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harcourt Hotel to your Saves list
Harcourt Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX349DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Pelsall
1 review
“First Visit - Definately not Last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

First time in Ilfracombe since childhood (many many years ago), wonderfully accommodating, welcoming and so friendly. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast enormous, views stunning and owners and staff made us feel more like family than mere visitors. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
37
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived in Ilfracombe on Bank holiday Monday, without a reservation. We used trip advisor and picked out this hotel. We booked 2 rooms. Room 1, on the ground floor, was spacious. Room 6 was smaller. Both rooms were spotless and comfortable. Kirsty and her team made us very welcome. Breakfast had to be ordered in advance, and was huge!! Fore Street is the oldest street in Ilfracombe, and certainly worth a visit - housing the oldest pub and The Olive Branch restaurant. We spent a very enjoyable and comfortable stay in Harcourt hotel, despite the weather! Limited parking, but we used the marina carpark. At £3.30 for 24 hours, we didn't feel put out! Would certainly return. Thankyou Kirsty.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet. Room 6 was smaller. Room 1 - good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Another visit to the Harcourt, just as we remember and just as good as the first time. Very friendly family who nothing is to much trouble for. Food is fantastic, they don't know the meaning of small.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and well serviced. My car was safe on there car park. Very much looking forward to going again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Second time I've stayed here now and it has been consistently perfect.
Welcoming, clean, friendly, great service and has everything you need.
With a little games room downstairs with a wonderful balcony and view and a bit of parking it offers more than you'd first think.
Breakfast is as big or as small as you'd like (sorry for not finishing mine!) to set you up for any day.
I would love to congratulate Kirsty and her crew for a lovely experience and would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone!
Xx.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Must recommend the Harcourt, you are made very welcome from the start, and Kirsty and her staff can’t do enough for you. The food is excellent in both quality and quantity. The hotel is kept very clean and it is in a great position for the town. Top marks.

Room Tip: We had room 2 on the 1st floor with a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely time staying here. Service was excellent, breakfast was great, room was spacious and clean. Hotel is located in a great spot, walking distance to everything you need. We took advantage of the free travel cot which was comfortable enough for our baby to sleep easily in, and we also made use of the free baby monitor.
We'll definitely be staying here again the next time we go to Ilfracombe!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianhulme, Owner at Harcourt Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
I'm glad that you had a lovely time. It was a pleasure to Joshua's smiling face each morning !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice B&B with 3 own very valuable parking spaces... Good location close to town, superb breakfasts, downstairs bar area and terrace very useful.... we got a warm welcome from Kirsty and everyone with an instant room upgrade due to Kirsty noticing my wife's disability [top marks for that]... free wifi was an added bonus!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX349DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, recently refurbished, family run, dog friendly licensed hotel. Close to the Harbour, shops and sea front. We pride ourselves on our clean, friendly, home from home environment. All rooms are en-suite with color TVs and beverage facilities. We offer B&B with the option of evening meal, our menu caters for all tastes and dietary requirements. Limited parking spaces. Licensed bar, games rooms and guest TV lounge. Catering for single people up to a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harcourt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.